Opportunities - Selection Processes

Closed

Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime, Office of the Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime,

Appointment opportunity

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada's diversity. Moving forward, the Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada is to ensure our legislation meets the highest standards of equity, fairness and respect for the rule of law.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following position:

Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime (full-time position)

Office of the Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime

The Office of the Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime is an independent resource for victims of crime in Canada. The Office was created in 2007 to ensure that the federal government meets its responsibilities to victims of crime.

The mandate of the Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime relates exclusively to matters of federal jurisdiction. The Ombudsman’s responsibilities include:

  • Facilitating access to existing federal programs and services by providing victims of crime with information and referrals;
  • Enhancing awareness among criminal justice personnel and policy makers of the needs and concerns of victims, including by promoting the Canadian Victims Bill of Rights and the principles set out in the Canadian Statement of Basic Principles of Justice for Victims of Crime;
  • Identifying emerging issues and exploring systemic issues that impact negatively on victims of crime;
  • Proposing solutions that promote the interests of victims of crime, particularly those who are vulnerable or marginalized, that are consistent with the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms; and
  • Addressing complaints of victims about compliance with the Canadian Victims Bill of Rights and provisions of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act that apply to victims of offenders under federal supervision, in accordance with the internal complaints mechanisms of the relevant federal departments and agencies.

The Ombudsman also plays an important public affairs function, which includes communication with stakeholders, the media and the public in a variety of fora, occasionally at the international level.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the Office of the Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime's website.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on April 25, 2017, via the Governor in Council Appointments website. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet (Senior Personnel), Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the online application.

Salary Range: $124,300 - $146,200 (GCQ-4)

Position Location: National Capital Region

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for this position. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous Canadians, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for this position, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • A degree from a recognized university in a relevant discipline such as law, psychology, criminology, victimology, social work, public administration, or sociology, or a combination of equivalent education, job-related training and experience;
  • Significant experience in managing financial and human resources at the senior executive level;
  • Significant experience working in or with the Canadian criminal justice system, including the correctional system or victim advocacy;
  • Experience implementing modern corporate governance principles and best practices;
  • Experience in the management of a complaints function, a review function or an investigative function; and
  • Experience developing and fostering productive partnerships.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Knowledge of the mandate of the Office of the Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime;
  • Knowledge of the Canadian criminal justice system and the respective responsibilities of the federal, provincial and territorial governments;
  • Knowledge of corrections and Parole Board of Canada policies, as well as of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, the Canadian Victims Bill of Rights, the Criminal Code and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms;
  • Knowledge of prosecutions of Criminal Code offences in the Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut and the services provided by Crown Witness Coordinators in these regions;
  • Knowledge of the federal assistance available to Canadian victims of crime;
  • Strong leadership and managerial skills;
  • Strong communications skills, both written and oral, and the ability to manage communications with a variety of stakeholders;
  • Ability to apply analytical, interpretive and evaluative thinking to sensitive and complex situations; and
  • Ability to anticipate the short and long-term consequences of his/her strategies.

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages would be preferred.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • Integrity, discretion and strong professional ethics
  • Excellent judgment
  • Superior interpersonal skills
  • Impartiality and fairness
  • Flexibility and resilience

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • You reside in or are willing to relocate to the National Capital Region or to a location within reasonable commuting distance.

If you are appointed to this position:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment, as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and reference material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. Public office holders appointed on a full–time basis must submit to the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, within 60 days of appointment, a confidential report in which they disclose all of their assets, liabilities and outside activities. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner's website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for this position. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Fermée

Ombudsman fédéral des victimes d'actes criminels, Bureau de l'ombudsman fédéral des victimes d'actes criminels,

Possibilité de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. À l'avenir, le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s'inscrit dans le droit fil de l'engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Canadiens autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l'inclusion, l'honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d'esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

L’objectif primordial de la ministre de la Justice et de procureure générale du Canada consiste à veiller à ce que notre législation respecte les normes les plus élevées en matière d’équité, d’impartialité et de respect de la primauté du droit.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour le poste suivant :

Ombudsman fédéral des victimes d’actes criminels (poste à temps plein)

Bureau de l’ombudsman fédéral des victimes d’actes criminels

Ressource indépendante pour les victimes au Canada, le Bureau de l'ombudsman fédéral des victimes d'actes criminels a été créé en 2007 afin d'assurer que le gouvernement du Canada s'acquitte de ses responsabilités à l'égard des victimes d'actes criminels.

Le mandat de l'ombudsman fédéral des victimes d'actes criminels porte exclusivement sur des questions qui relèvent de la responsabilité fédérale. Les responsabilités de l’ombudsman incluent :

  • Faciliter aux victimes d'actes criminels l'accès aux programmes et aux services en leur fournissant des renseignements et des services d'orientation ;
  • Sensibiliser davantage les responsables du système de justice et les responsables de l'élaboration des politiques aux besoins et aux préoccupations des victimes, ainsi qu'aux lois applicables à l'égard des victimes, y compris la promotion de la Charte canadienne des droits des victimes et les principes énoncés dans la Déclaration canadienne des principes fondamentaux de justice relatifs aux victimes de la criminalité ;
  • Cerner les nouvelles questions et explorer les problèmes systémiques qui ont une incidence négative sur les victimes d'actes criminels ;
  • Proposer des solutions qui favorisent les intérêts des victimes d'actes criminels, en particulier ceux qui sont vulnérables ou marginalisés, qui sont compatibles avec la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés ; et
  • Traiter les plaintes des victimes concernant le respect de la Charte canadienne des droits des victimes et des dispositions de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition qui s'appliquent aux victimes de délinquants sous surveillance fédérale, conformément aux mécanismes internes de traitement des plaintes des ministères et organismes fédéraux concernés.

L'ombudsman joue également un rôle important dans les affaires publiques, notamment la communication avec les parties prenantes, les médias et le public dans diverses instances, parfois à l'échelle internationale.

Vous pourrez trouver d'autres renseignements sur l'organisme et ses activités sur le site Web du Bureau de l’ombudsman fédéral des victimes d’actes criminels.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d'ici 23 h 59 heure de l'Est le 25 avril 2017 sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d'accompagnement devrait être adressée au Secrétaire adjoint du Cabinet (Personnel supérieur), Bureau du conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l'entremise de l'application en ligne seulement.

Échelle salariale : 124 300 $ - 146 200 $ (GCQ-4)

Lieu de travail : Région de la capitale nationale

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité au moment d’évaluer les candidats pour ce poste. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l'un des groupes suivants : femmes, Canadiens autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour ce poste veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Un diplôme d'une université reconnue dans une discipline pertinente notamment en droit, en psychologie, en criminologie, en victimologie, en travail social, en administration publique ou en sociologie, ou une combinaison d'éducation équivalente et d'expérience liées à l'emploi ;
  • Expérience significative dans la gestion des ressources financières et humaines au niveau de la haute direction ;
  • Expérience significative au sein du système de justice pénale du Canada, y compris le système correctionnel ou la défense des droits des victimes ;
  • Expérience dans la mise en œuvre des principes modernes de gouvernance d'entreprise et des meilleures pratiques ;
  • Expérience dans la gestion d'une fonction de plaintes, d'une fonction d'examen ou d'une fonction d'enquête ; et
  • Expérience démontrée dans le développement et la promotion de partenariats productifs.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d’une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Connaissance du mandat du bureau de l’ombudsman fédérale des victimes d’actes criminels ;
  • Connaissance du système de justice pénale canadien et des responsabilités respectives des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ;
  • Connaissance de la politique des services correctionnels et de la Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada, ainsi que celle de la Charte canadienne des droits des victimes, du Code criminel et de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés ;
  • Connaissance des poursuites relatives aux infractions au Code criminel au Yukon, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut et aux services fournis par les coordonnateurs des témoins de la Couronne dans ces régions ;
  • Connaissance de l'aide offerte au niveau fédéral aux Canadiens victimes d’actes criminels ;
  • Solides compétences en leadership et en gestion ;
  • Excellente compétences en matière de communication, à l'oral et à l'écrit, et la capacité de gérer les communications avec divers intervenants ;
  • Capacité d'appliquer la pensée analytique, interprétative et évaluative aux situations sensible et complexe ; et
  • Capacité d'anticiper les conséquences à court et à long terme de ses stratégies.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l'étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l'expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Intégrité, discrétion et éthique professionnelle
  • Excellent jugement
  • Compétences interpersonnelles supérieures
  • Impartialité et équité
  • Flexibilité et résilience

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • Vous devez résider ou être disposé(e) à déménager à la Région de la capitale nationale ou dans un endroit situé à une distance raisonnable du lieu de travail.

Si vous êtes nommé(e) au poste :

Vous devrez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d’éthique et d’activités politiques à l’intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d’emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Les titulaires de charge publique nommés à temps plein doivent soumettre au Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique, dans les 60 jours qui suivent la date de leur nomination, un rapport confidentiel dans lequel ils déclarent leurs biens et exigibilités ainsi que leurs activités extérieures. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique.

Un lien à cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ce poste. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.