Opportunities - Selection Processes

Current Opportunity

Deputy Director, Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions,

Appointment Opportunity

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada’s diversity. The Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous peoples and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada is to ensure our legislation meets the highest standards of equity, fairness and respect for the rule of law.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following position:

Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions (full-time position)

Public Prosecution Service of Canada

The Public Prosecution Service of Canada (legal name: Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions) is an independent organization, reporting to Parliament through the Attorney General of Canada. The Public Prosecution Service of Canada acts on behalf of the Attorney General of Canada in the discharge of her criminal law mandate by prosecuting offences under more than 40 federal statutes, and by providing prosecution-related legal advice to law enforcement agencies. In the provinces, the Public Prosecution Service of Canada prosecutes non-Criminal Code federal offences (including drug-related offences), a limited number of Criminal Code offences (including those related to terrorism, criminal organizations, money laundering, proceeds of crime, and fraud), and a large number of federal regulatory offences. In the territories, the Public Prosecution Service of Canada prosecutes all federal offences, including Criminal Code offences.

The Deputy Director oversees the prosecution of these offences and provides prosecution-related legal advice and litigation support to all law enforcement agencies. Under the supervision of the Director of Public Prosecutions, the Deputy Director may exercise any of the powers and perform any of the duties or functions referred to in subsection 3(3) of the Director of Public Prosecutions Act and, for that purpose, is a lawful deputy of the Attorney General. The Deputy Director holds office during good behavior for a term of seven years. A Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions is eligible to be reappointed for a further term of office.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the Public Prosecution Service of Canada's website.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on January 29, 2018, via the Governor in Council Appointments website. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Deputy Director of Selection Processes, Senior Personnel Secretariat, Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the online application.

Salary Range: $163,900 - $199,700

Position Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for this position. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for this position, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • Bachelor of Laws from a recognized university;
  • Must be a member of at least 10 years' standing at the bar of any province;
  • Senior executive level management experience in a private or public sector organization, including the management of human and financial resources;
  • Decision-making experience with respect to sensitive issues;
  • Significant experience in criminal law as a defence counsel or a prosecutor and in dealing with the law enforcement community; and
  • Experience developing, maintaining and managing successful stakeholder relationships and complex partnerships.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Knowledge of the mandate of the Public Prosecution Service of Canada and of the role of the prosecutor in the criminal justice system;
  • Knowledge of the criminal justice system and of the respective responsibilities and operations of the federal, provincial, and territorial governments;
  • Strong leadership, managerial, and motivational skills;
  • Ability to exercise independent judgment, while working horizontally with key partners in the federal government;
  • Ability to interpret relevant statutes, regulations, and policies and analyze complex situations in order to make equitable decisions and recommendations while anticipating their short- and long-term consequences; and
  • Superior communication skills (written and oral).

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages would be preferred.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • Excellent judgment
  • High ethical standards and integrity
  • Tact and discretion
  • Excellent interpersonal skills

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • You must be a member of at least 10 years standing at the bar of any province (statutory).
  • You must reside in or be willing to relocate to the National Capital Region, or to a location within a reasonable commuting distance.
  • You must be willing to travel across Canada and internationally.

If you are appointed to this position:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and reference material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. Public office holders appointed on a full-time basis must submit to the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, within 60 days of appointment, a confidential report in which they disclose all of their assets, liabilities and outside activities. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner's website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for this position. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Apply Online

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Possibilité actuelle

Adjoint au directeur, Bureau du directeur des poursuites pénales,

Possibilité de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s’inscrit dans le droit fil de l’engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères: l’inclusion, l’honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d’esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

L'objectif primordial de la ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada consiste à veiller à ce que notre législation respecte les normes les plus élevées en matière d'équité, d'impartialité et de respect de la primauté du droit.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour le poste suivant :

Directeur adjoint des poursuites pénales (poste à temps plein)

Service des poursuites pénales du Canada

Le Service des poursuites pénales du Canada (appellation légale : Bureau du directeur des poursuites pénales) est un organisme indépendant, qui rend compte au Parlement par l’intermédiaire du procureur général du Canada. Le Service des poursuites pénales du Canada agit pour le compte du procureur général du Canada dans l’exécution de son mandat dans le domaine du droit pénal, en intentant des poursuites à l’égard d’infractions prévues dans plus de 40 lois fédérales, et en conseillant les organismes chargés de l’application de la loi à l’égard des poursuites. Dans les provinces, le Service des poursuites pénales du Canada s’occupe des poursuites non prévues dans le Code criminel (y compris les infractions en matière de drogues), d’un nombre limité d’infractions prévues dans le Code criminel (y compris celles liées au terrorisme, aux organisations criminelles, au blanchiment d’argent, aux produits de la criminalité et à la fraude) et d’un grand nombre d’infractions réglementaires fédérales. Dans les territoires, le Service des poursuites pénales du Canada s’occupe de toutes poursuites liées aux infractions fédérales, y compris celles prévues dans le Code criminel.

Le directeur adjoint supervise les poursuites liées à ces infractions et apporte des conseils en matière de poursuites et un soutien au contentieux à tous les organismes d’application de la loi. Le directeur adjoint des poursuites pénales peut exercer, sous la supervision du directeur des poursuites pénales, les attributions visées au paragraphe 3(3) de la Loi sur le directeur des poursuites pénales dans l’exercice desquelles il est un substitut légitime du procureur général. Le directeur adjoint est nommé à titre inamovible pour un mandat de sept ans. Son mandat peut être renouvelé.

Vous pourrez trouver d'autres renseignements sur l'organisme et ses activités sur le site Web du Service des poursuites pénales du Canada.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d’ici 23 h 59 heure de l'Est le 29 janvier 2018 sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d’accompagnement devrait être adressée à la Directrice adjointe des processus de sélection, Secrétariat du personnel supérieur, Bureau du Conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l'entremise de l'application en ligne seulement.

Échelle salariale: 163 900 $ – 199 700 $

Lieu de travail : Ottawa (Ontario)

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au moment de les évaluer pour ce poste. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l'un des groupes suivants : femmes, Autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour ce poste, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Baccalauréat en droit décerné par une université reconnue ;
  • Membre depuis au moins 10 ans du barreau de l’une des provinces du Canada ;
  • Expérience de la gestion au niveau de la haute direction dans un organisme public ou privé, notamment de la gestion des ressources humaines et financières ;
  • Expérience de la prise de décisions concernant des questions de nature délicate ;
  • Expérience appréciable de la pratique du droit pénal en tant qu’avocat de la défense ou procureur et avec les organismes d’application de la loi ; et
  • Expérience de l’établissement, du maintien et de la gestion de bonnes relations professionnelles avec les intervenants et de partenariats complexes.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d'une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Connaissance du mandat du Service des poursuites pénales du Canada et du rôle du procureur au sein du système de justice pénale ;
  • Connaissance du système de justice pénale de même que des activités et des responsabilités respectives des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ;
  • Solides compétences en leadership, en gestion et en motivation ;
  • Capacité d’exercer un jugement indépendant tout en travaillant de façon horizontale avec des partenaires clés du gouvernement fédéral ;
  • Capacité d’interpréter les lois, les politiques et les règlements pertinents et d’analyser des situations complexes afin de prendre des décisions équitables et de formuler des recommandations justes tout en prévoyant les conséquences à court et à long terme ; et
  • Excellentes aptitudes pour la communication orale et écrite.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l'étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l'expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Excellent jugement
  • Normes d’éthique élevées et grande intégrité
  • Tact et discrétion
  • Entregent

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • Vous êtes membre du barreau d’une province depuis au moins 10 ans (prévu par la loi).
  • Vous devez résider ou être disposé(e) à déménager à la Région de la capitale nationale ou dans un endroit situé à une distance raisonnable du lieu de travail.
  • Vous devez être disposé(e) à voyager partout au Canada et à l’étranger.

Si vous êtes nommé(e) au poste :

Vous devrez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d'éthique et d'activités politiques à l'intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d'emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Les titulaires de charge publique nommés à temps plein doivent soumettre au Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique, dans les 60 jours qui suivent la date de leur nomination, un rapport confidentiel dans lequel ils déclarent leurs biens et exigibilités ainsi que leurs activités extérieures. Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique.

Un lien à cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ce poste. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.

Faire une demande d'emploi en ligne