Opportunities - Selection Processes

Closed

Correctional Investigator, Office of the Correctional Investigator of Canada,

Appointment Opportunity

We know that our country is stronger and our government more effective when decision-makers reflect Canada’s diversity. Moving forward, the Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching responsibility of the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness is to lead the government's work in ensuring that we are keeping Canadians safe, and safeguarding Canadians' rights and freedoms in an open, inclusive, and democratic society.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following position:

Correctional Investigator of Canada (full-time position)

Office of the Correctional Investigator of Canada

The Correctional Investigator of Canada is mandated by Part III of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act as an Ombudsman for federal offenders. The primary function of the Office of the Correctional Investigator of Canada is to investigate and bring resolution to individual offender complaints. The Office also has a responsibility to review and make recommendations on the Correctional Service of Canada's policies and procedures associated with individual complaints to ensure that systemic areas of concern are identified and appropriately addressed.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the Office of the Correctional Investigator of Canada’s website.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on June 6, 2017, via the Governor in Council Appointments website. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet (Senior Personnel), Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the online application.

Salary Range: $142,800 to $168,800(GCQ-5)

Position Location: National Capital Region

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for this position. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous Canadians, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for this position, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • A degree from a recognized university in a relevant field of study, or an acceptable combination of education, job-related training and/or experience;
  • Management experience, preferably at the senior executive level, in a public or private sector organization, including the management of financial and human resources;
  • Decision-making experience with respect to sensitive issues;
  • Experience in carrying out comprehensive impartial investigations and in mediating complaints; and
  • Experience in mediation and dispute resolution.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Understanding the role, responsibilities and policies of the Office of the Correctional Investigator of Canada, and its relationship with the Correctional Service of Canada and Public Safety Canada;
  • Knowledge of the criminal justice system, the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, and the principles of natural justice and procedural fairness;
  • Broad understanding of investigative practices and processes;
  • Knowledge of the principles, practices and techniques related to mediation and dispute resolution;
  • Financial literacy;
  • Ability to render fair, equitable and timely decisions, while anticipating their short- and long-term consequences;
  • Ability to apply analytical, interpretive and evaluative thinking to situations;
  • Ability to develop comprehensive communication strategies, including outreach and networking activities;
  • Ability to develop and maintain effective and constructive working relationships with offenders, senior government officials and stakeholders; and
  • Superior communication skills, both written and oral, and ability to manage communications with a variety of stakeholders, including stakeholders within the criminal justice system.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • Objective, impartial and fair
  • Sound judgment
  • Strong professional ethics and integrity
  • Superior interpersonal skills
  • Innovative, flexible and resilient
  • Tact and discretion

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • You must be a Canadian citizen ordinarily resident in Canada, or a permanent resident within the meaning of subsection 2(1) of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act who is ordinarily resident in Canada (statutory).
  • You must engage exclusively in the function and duties of the Office of the Correctional Investigator of Canada, and shall not hold any other office under Her Majesty in right of Canada or a province for reward, or engage in any other employment for reward (statutory).
  • You must reside in or be willing to relocate to the National Capital Region, or to a location within a reasonable commuting distance.
  • You must be willing to travel across Canada and internationally.

If you are appointed to this position:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and reference material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. Public office holders appointed on a full-time basis must submit to the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, within 60 days of appointment, a confidential report in which they disclose all of their assets, liabilities and outside activities. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner’s website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for this position. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Possibilité actuelle

Enquêteur correctionnel, Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel du Canada,

Possibilité de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. À l’avenir, le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s’inscrit dans le droit fil de l’engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Canadiens autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l’inclusion, l’honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d’esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

Le principal objectif du ministre des Transports est de veiller à ce que le réseau de transport du Canada contribue à la réalisation de notre ambitieux programme de création d’emplois et de croissance économique.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour le poste suivant :

L’Enquêteur Correctionnel du Canada (poste à temps plein)

Bureau de l’Enquêteur correctionnel du Canada

En vertu de la Partie III de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, l’Enquêteur correctionnel du Canada est chargé d’agir comme ombudsman pour les délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale. La principale fonction du Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel du Canada consiste à faire enquête sur les plaintes des délinquants et à s’assurer qu’on y donne suite. Le Bureau est également responsable d’examiner les politiques et pratiques du Service correctionnel du Canada ainsi que de faire des recommandations en ce qui a trait aux plaintes afin de cerner les carences systémiques et de les adresser de façon adéquate.

Vous pourrez trouver d’autres renseignements sur l’organisme et ses activités sur le site Web du Bureau de l’Enquêteur correctionnel du Canada.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d’ici 23 h 59 heure de l'Est le 6 juin 2017, sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d’accompagnement devrait être adressée au Secrétaire adjoint du Cabinet (Personnel supérieur), Bureau du conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l’entremise de l’application en ligne seulement.

Échelle salariale: $142,800 to $168,800(GCQ-5)

Lieu de travail : Région de la capitale nationale

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au moment de les évaluer pour ce poste. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l’un des groupes suivants : femmes, Canadiens autochtones, personnes ayant une déficience et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour ce poste, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Diplôme d’une université reconnue dans un domaine d’études pertinent ou une combinaison acceptable d’études, de formation liée au poste et/ou d’expérience ;
  • Expérience de la gestion, de préférence au niveau de la haute gestion, dans un organisme public ou privé, y compris la gestion des ressources humaines et financières ;
  • Expérience de la prise de décisions concernant des questions de nature délicate ;
  • Expérience de l’exécution d’enquêtes impartiales complètes et de la médiation de plaintes ; et
  • Expérience de la médiation et dans le règlement des différends.

Si votre candidature est retenue pour une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Connaissance du rôle, des responsabilités et des politiques du Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel du Canada, et de sa relation avec le Service correctionnel du Canada et la Sécurité publique Canada ;
  • Connaissance du système de justice pénale, de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, et des principes de la justice naturelle et d’équité procédural ;
  • Compréhension globale des pratiques et processus d'enquête ;
  • Connaissance des principes, des pratiques et des techniques de la médiation et du règlement des différends ;
  • Compétences financières ;
  • Capacité de rendre des décisions justes, équitables et en temps opportun, tout en prévoyant leurs conséquences à court et à long termes ;
  • Capacité d’appliquer un raisonnement analytique, interprétatif et évaluatif aux situations ;
  • Capacité à élaborer des stratégies de communications globales, y compris des activités de sensibilisation et de réseautage ;
  • Capacité d’établir et de maintenir des relations de travail efficaces avec les contrevenants, les hauts fonctionnaires et les intervenants ; et
  • Capacité supérieure en matière de communication, à l’oral et à l’écrit, et capacité de gérer les communications avec divers intervenants, y compris des intervenants du système de justice pénale.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l’étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l’expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Objectif, impartial et sens de l’équité
  • Jugement sûr
  • Grand sens de l’éthique professionnelle et intégrité
  • Entregent supérieur
  • Novateur, flexible et résilient
  • Tact et discrétion

Facteurs d’admissibilité et conditions d’emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • Vous devez être citoyen canadien, ou un résident permanent au sens du paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés, résidant habituellement au Canada (prévu par la loi).
  • Vous devez vous consacrer aux fonctions du Bureau de l’Enquêteur correctionnel du Canada, à l’exclusion de toute autre charge rétribuée au service de Sa Majesté du chef du Canada ou d’une province ou de toute autre activité rétribuée (prévu par la loi).
  • Vous devez demeurer ou être disposé(e) à déménager dans la région de la capitale nationale ou à proximité de celle-ci.
  • Vous devez être disposé(e) à voyager partout au Canada et à l’étranger.

Si vous êtes nommé(e) à ce poste :

Vous devez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d’éthique et d’activités politiques à l’intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d’emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Les titulaires de charge publique nommés à temps plein doivent soumettre au Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique, dans les 60 jours qui suivent la date de leur nomination, un rapport confidentiel dans lequel ils déclarent leurs biens et exigibilités ainsi que leurs activités extérieures. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique.

Un lien à cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ce poste. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.

Faire une demande d'emploi en ligne