Opportunities - Selection Processes

Current Opportunity

Commissioner, Royal Canadian Mounted Police,

Appointment Opportunity

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada’s diversity. The Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous peoples and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching responsibility of the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness is to lead the government's work in ensuring that we are keeping Canadians safe, and safeguarding Canadians' rights and freedoms in an open, inclusive, and democratic society.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following position:

Commissioner (full-time position)

Royal Canadian Mounted Police

The mandate of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police includes preventing and investigating crime; maintaining peace and order; enforcing laws; contributing to national security; ensuring the safety of state officials, visiting dignitaries and foreign missions; and providing vital operational support services to other police and law enforcement agencies within Canada and abroad. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is the Canadian national police service and an agency of Public Safety Canada.

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is organized under the authority of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act. In accordance with the Act, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police is headed by the Commissioner, who, under the direction of the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, has the control and management of the Force and all matters connected therewith.

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police enforces throughout Canada laws made by, or under, the authority of the Canadian Parliament. Administration of justice within the provinces and territories, including enforcement of the Criminal Code, is part of the power and duty delegated to the provincial governments. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police provides police services under the terms of policing agreements to all provinces (except Ontario and Quebec), Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut, and under separate municipal policing agreements to 180 municipalities.

The Commissioner, under the direction of the Minister, maintains responsibility for the control and management of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. It is the responsibility of the Commissioner to ensure that Royal Canadian Mounted Police policies and procedures conform to ministerial directions.

The Commissioner will need to advance the Government’s critical priority of a nation-to-nation reconciliation process with Indigenous Canadians, and its commitment to gender equity, supporting Members suffering from mental health-related illness, addressing harassment in the workplace, and protecting Canadians’ civil liberties.

The importance of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police in our communities cannot be overstated. It is a vital component of both our public safety and our national security. Moreover, it is an institution that embodies the best of what Canada and Canadians aspire to be – upstanding, loyal, and committed to the pursuit of justice.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the Royal Canadian Mounted Police's website.

Review of applications will begin on October 23, 2017. Candidates must apply online via the Governor in Council Appointments website. Candidates are strongly encouraged to submit their applications by this date. After this date, your application will be retained and may be considered up until an appointment to the position is made. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Deputy Director of Selection Processes, Senior Personnel Secretariat, Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the online application.

Salary Range: Fixed by the Governor in Council

Position Location: Ottawa, Ontario (statutory)

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for this position. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for this position, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • A degree from a recognized university in a relevant field of study, or an acceptable combination of education, job-related training and/or experience;
  • A degree in law would be considered an asset;
  • Demonstrated experience in change management, managing risk and promoting cultural change in order to support good governance and organizational wellness;
  • Demonstrated management experience at the senior executive level in a public or private sector organization, including managing financial and human resources in circumstances where constraints in these areas are important factors;
  • Demonstrated experience in the development of policy or performance standards and operational procedures;
  • Demonstrated leadership and experience working with and engaging diverse communities in a way that respects human rights while preventing crime, ensuring public safety, and/or building public trust;
  • Experience in promoting the importance of a healthy workplace, free from harassment and sexual violence and in implementing mental health programs to support employees;
  • Experience developing and implementing a framework for talent management that focuses on leadership, recruitment, succession planning and knowledge transfer;
  • Experience in implementing modern corporate governance principles and best practices;
  • Experience in building and maintaining productive and effective multipartite relationships with partner organizations and diverse stakeholders, including Indigenous communities;
  • Experience as a leader in a complex, decentralized organization would be considered an asset; and
  • Recent and significant experience in law enforcement would be considered an asset.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Knowledge of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police’s mandate, challenges, accountabilities and operating context;
  • Knowledge of best practices to foster a leadership culture that promotes management skills and leadership development programs;
  • Understanding of Canada’s social fabric, Indigenous culture and a sensitivity to the issues relevant to the diversity of the Canadian population;
  • Understanding of criminal law, the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, and the legal and institutional context of police work would be considered an asset;
  • Ability to develop and implement a corporate vision, and to provide the leadership and strategic direction required for the organization to fulfill its mandate, while respecting the heritage and tradition of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police;
  • Ability to focus the energies and talents of employees and motivate them to achieve corporate objectives while upholding the values and the Code of Conduct of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police;
  • Superior communication skills, both written and oral, and ability to represent the Royal Canadian Mounted Police with members, the public, governments, and other organizations, including law enforcement bodies in Canada and internationally; and
  • Ability to lead change in a complex accountability environment.

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages would be preferred.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • Sound judgment and impartiality
  • Strategic and innovative leader and team builder
  • High ethical standards, resilience and integrity
  • Superior tact and interpersonal and communication skills
  • Motivated by challenge and change

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • Must reside in or be willing and able to relocate to the National Capital Region, or to a location within a reasonable commuting distance (statutory).
  • Must be a Canadian citizen.
  • Must be prepared to travel throughout Canada and occasionally abroad.

If you are appointed to this position:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment, as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and reference material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. Public office holders appointed on a full–time basis must submit to the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, within 60 days of appointment, a confidential report in which they disclose all of their assets, liabilities and outside activities. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner's website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for this position. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Apply Online

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Possibilité actuelle

Commissaire, Gendarmerie royale du Canada,

Possibilité de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s’inscrit dans le droit fil de l’engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l’inclusion, l’honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d’esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

La responsabilité principale du ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile est de diriger le travail du gouvernement pour que les Canadiens et Canadiennes demeurent en sécurité et que leurs droits et libertés au sein d’une société démocratique ouverte et accueillante soient protégés.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens et Canadiennes talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour le poste suivant :

Commissaire (poste à temps plein)

Gendarmerie royale du Canada

Le mandat de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada consiste à la prévention du crime et les enquêtes criminelles, le maintien de l'ordre et de la paix, l’exécution des lois, la contribution à la sécurité nationale, la protection des représentants de l'État, des dignitaires en visite et des missions à l'étranger, et la prestation de services de soutien opérationnel cruciaux à des services de police et organismes d'application de la loi au Canada et à l'étranger. La Gendarmerie royale du Canada est le service de police national et un organisme qui relève de Sécurité publique Canada.

La Gendarmerie royale du Canada est constituée sous le régime de la Loi sur la Gendarmerie royale du Canada. En vertu de cette loi, l’administration et la direction de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada sont confiées au commissaire, qui, sous la direction du ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, a pleine autorité sur la Gendarmerie et tout ce qui s’y rapporte.

La Gendarmerie royale du Canada applique partout au pays les lois élaborées et adoptées par le Parlement. L’administration de la justice dans les provinces et les territoires, y compris l’application du Code criminel, fait partie des pouvoirs et des responsabilités délégués aux gouvernements provinciaux. La Gendarmerie royale du Canada fournit à forfait des services de police dans toutes les provinces (sauf le Québec et l’Ontario), au Yukon, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut, et, en vertu d’ententes distinctes, dans 180 municipalités.

Le commissaire de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, qui relève du ministre, est responsable de l’administration et de la direction de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada. Il lui incombe de veiller à ce que les politiques et les procédures de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada soient conformes aux directives ministérielles.

Le commissaire devra faire avancer la priorité critique du gouvernement visant la réconciliation avec les Canadiens autochtones, ainsi que son engagement envers l’équité des sexes, de soutenir les membres qui souffrent de problèmes de sante mentale, de résoudre le harcèlement en milieu de travail et de protéger les libertés civiles des canadiens.

L’importance de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada dans nos collectivités ne peut pas être surestimée. C'est une composante fondamentale de notre sécurité publique et notre sécurité nationale. De surcroît, c’est une institution qui incarne le meilleur de ce que le Canada et les Canadiens aspirent à être – honnêtes, loyaux et engagés dans la quête de justice.

Vous pourrez trouver d’autres renseignements sur l’organisme et ses activités sur le site Web de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.

L'examen des demandes débutera le 23 octobre 2017. Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Nous encourageons fortement les candidats à présenter leur demande au plus tard à cette date. Les demandes soumises par la suite seront conservées et pourraient être examinées jusqu’à ce qu’il y ait nomination au poste. Votre lettre d’accompagnement doit être adressée à la Directrice adjointe des processus de sélection, Secrétariat du personnel supérieur, Bureau du Conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l’entremise de l’application en ligne seulement.

Échelle salariale : Fixé par le gouverneur en conseil

Lieu de travail : Ottawa (Ontario) (prévu par la loi)

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité au moment d’évaluer les candidats pour ce poste. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l’un des groupes suivants : femmes, Autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour ce poste, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Diplôme d’une université reconnue dans un domaine d’études pertinent ou une combinaison acceptable d’études, de formation liée au poste et/ou d’expérience ;
  • Un diplôme en droit serait considéré comme un atout ;
  • Expérience démontrée de la gestion du changement, de la gestion du risque et de la promotion d’une transformation durable de la culture afin de favoriser une saine gouvernance et le bien-être organisationnel ;
  • Expérience démontrée de la gestion au niveau de la direction dans une organisation du secteur public ou privé, notamment de la gestion des ressources humaines et financières dans des circonstances où les contraintes en matière de celles-ci sont des facteurs importants ;
  • Expérience démontrée dans l’élaboration de politiques ou de normes de rendement et de procédures opérationnelles ;
  • Leadership manifeste et expérience démontrée du travail avec diverses collectivités et de la mobilisation de celles-ci d’une manière qui respecte les droits de la personne en vue de prévenir la criminalité, d’assurer la sécurité publique, et/ou accroître la confiance du public ;
  • Expérience de la promotion de l’importance d’un lieu de travail sain, exempt de harcèlement et de violence sexuelle, ainsi que de la mise en œuvre de programmes de santé mentale pour soutenir les employés ;
  • Expérience de l’élaboration et de la mise en œuvre d’un cadre de gestion des talents qui met l’accent sur le leadership, le recrutement, la planification de la relève et la transmission des connaissances ;
  • Expérience de la mise en œuvre des principes modernes et des pratiques exemplaires applicables à la gouvernance d’une organisation ;
  • Expérience de l’établissement et de l’entretien de relations multipartites productives et efficaces avec des organismes partenaires ainsi qu’avec divers intervenants, incluant les communautés autochtones ;
  • Expérience en tant que dirigeant d’une organisation complexe et décentralisée serait considérée comme un atout ; et
  • Expérience récente et appréciable en application de la loi serait considérée comme un atout.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d’une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Connaissance du mandat, des défis, des responsabilités et du contexte opérationnel de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada ;
  • Connaissance des pratiques exemplaires favorisant une culture de leadership qui encourage les compétences en gestion et les programmes de perfectionnement en leadership ;
  • Compréhension du tissu social du Canada et de la culture autochtone, et sensibilisation aux questions relatives à la diversité de la population canadienne ;
  • Compréhension du droit pénal et de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, ainsi que du contexte juridique et institutionnel du travail policier serait considérée comme un atout ;
  • Capacité d’élaborer et de mettre en œuvre une vision organisationnelle ainsi que d’assurer la direction et l’orientation stratégique nécessaires à l’organisme pour qu’il puisse réaliser son mandat tout en respectant le patrimoine et les traditions de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada ;
  • Capacité de concentrer les énergies et les talents des employés ainsi qu’à motiver ces derniers pour qu’ils puissent atteindre les objectifs organisationnels tout en adhérant aux valeurs et au Code de déontologie de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada ;
  • Excellentes aptitudes à communiquer oralement et par écrit et capacité de représenter la Gendarmerie royale du Canada auprès des membres, du public, des gouvernements et d’autres organisations, y compris les organismes d’application de la loi au Canada et à l’étranger ; et
  • Aptitude à mener un changement dans un contexte de responsabilisation complexe.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l’étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l’expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Jugement sûr et impartialité
  • Aptitude en leadership stratégique et innovateur ainsi qu’en renforcement d’équipe
  • Normes éthiques élevées, résilience et intégrité
  • Tact, compétences relationnelles et capacités de communication très élevées
  • Motivation face aux défis et au changement

Facteurs d’admissibilité et conditions d’emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • Vous devez résider dans la région de la capitale nationale ou dans un endroit situé à une distance raisonnable du lieu de travail, ou consentir à y déménager (prévu par la loi).
  • Vous devez être un citoyen canadien.
  • Vous devez être prêt(e) à vous déplacer partout au Canada et, occasionnellement, à l’étranger.

Si vous êtes nommé(e) au poste :

Vous devrez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d’éthique et d’activités politiques à l’intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d’emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Les titulaires de charge publique nommés à temps plein doivent soumettre au Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique, dans les 60 jours qui suivent la date de leur nomination, un rapport confidentiel dans lequel ils déclarent leurs biens et exigibilités ainsi que leurs activités extérieures. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique.

Un lien à cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ce poste. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.

Faire une demande d'emploi en ligne