Opportunities - Selection Processes

Closed

President, Canadian Institutes of Health Research,

Appointment Opportunity

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada's diversity. The Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous peoples and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Health is to strengthen our publicly-funded universal health care system and ensure that it adapts to new challenges.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following position:

President (full-time position)

Canadian Institutes of Health Research

The Canadian Institutes of Health Research was created under the Canadian Institutes of Health Research Act, which came into force on June 7, 2000. The Canadian Institutes of Health Research is Canada’s federal funding agency for health research. Composed of 13 Institutes, it collaborates with partners and researchers, and its mission is to create new scientific knowledge and to enable its translation into improved health, more effective health services and products, and a strengthened Canadian health care system. The Canadian Institutes of Health Research is managed by the President and a Governing Council consisting of 18 members, including the President and the Deputy Minister of Health, appointed by the Governor in Council to represent the highest standards of scientific excellence and a range of relevant backgrounds and disciplines. The President and the Governing Council are also assisted by various Standing and Advisory Committees.

The President is the Chairperson of the Governing Council, and as the Chair of Governing Council and its Executive Committee, is responsible for developing a vision and framework of support and encouragement for outstanding health research consistent with a national research agenda; engaging the public, partners, provincial institutions, federal departments, the health industry and volunteer health organizations to support outstanding research, researchers, innovative partnerships and transfer of knowledge to practical use for the benefit of Canadians; and developing the overall objectives and priorities for the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. The President is also accountable for providing strategic guidance for and oversight of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. Finally, the President represents the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and promotes its vision and mandate as appropriate at meetings across Canada and internationally.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the Canadian Institutes of Health Research's website.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on September 13, 2017, via the Governor in Council Appointments website. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Deputy Director of Selection Processes, Senior Personnel Secretariat, Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the online application.

Salary Range: $259,900 - $305,700 (GC-10)

Position Location: National Capital Region

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for this position. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for this position, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • A doctoral degree in a health research discipline, or a medical degree with post-graduate training in health research from a recognized university;
  • International stature as health researcher with extensive cutting-edge research experience;
  • Executive-level management experience ideally acquired within a university, teaching hospital, health research institute, or other similar public or private sector research organization with a health research mandate and which provided national and international exposure;
  • Experience in building, fostering, integrating and maintaining strategic partnerships and collaborative arrangements amongst a diverse health research community and governments through a dynamic framework for research investment and knowledge translation, and in ensuring strong productive and supportive alliances with a rich array of stakeholders in and outside of Canada; and
  • Experience in working with a Board of Directors or equivalent.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Knowledge and understanding of the Government of Canada, its institutions and processes, especially as they relate to the development of health research, and science and technology policies;
  • Knowledge of the academic community, the key public, private and voluntary sector organizations, as well as international agencies and their relation to the Canadian Institutes of Health Research’s objectives and strategies;
  • Knowledge of the full spectrum of the Canadian health research community from biomedical to clinical, health services and population and public health research, the future direction of health research and the challenges of translating knowledge to clinicians and decision-makers;
  • Knowledge of the scope of health research issues, from both a national and international perspective;
  • Knowledge and understanding of workplace wellness issues, including mental health, and of risk identification and management;
  • Superior communication skills, both written and oral, and ability to manage communications with a variety of stakeholders, including the media, ministers, parliamentary committees, other government representatives, the public, the research community, and the private sector;
  • Ability to represent the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, and promote its vision and mandate as appropriate, at high-level meetings across Canada and internationally;
  • Ability to provide the corporate vision and leadership needed to achieve the Canadian Institutes of Health Research’s mandate, realize its strategic directions and identify, analyze and define long-range priorities and strategies to ensure Canada remains a world leader in health research;
  • Ability to develop and negotiate multi-partner agreements, build bridges, fruitful collaborations and alliances with stakeholders (including university, hospital, voluntary health sector, international, government, private sector and other health research partners), and establish effective networks;
  • Ability to work effectively within the context of the Government of Canada’s requirements for accountability and transparency, and within the Canadian Institutes of Health Research’s budget; and
  • Ability to integrate the varied and complex requirements and expectations which originate from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research’s partners, the scientific community, clients, government and the private sector.

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages is preferred.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • Exemplary and inspiring leadership skills
  • High ethical standards, integrity and clear sense of accountability
  • Strategic thinker and high-level advisor
  • Visionary mind and innovator
  • Strong and effective people management, interpersonal and negotiating skills
  • Tact and diplomacy
  • Calm under pressure, emotional intelligence
  • Sound judgment

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • You must be able to contribute to the achievement of the objective of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research in the overall interests of Canadians (statutory).
  • You must reflect the highest standards of scientific excellence (statutory).
  • You must be prepared to travel extensively across Canada and abroad.
  • You must be willing to relocate to the National Capital Region, or to a location within a reasonable commuting distance (if required).

If you are appointed to this position:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment, as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and reference material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. Public office holders appointed on a full–time basis must submit to the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, within 60 days of appointment, a confidential report in which they disclose all of their assets, liabilities and outside activities. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner's website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for this position. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Fermée

Président(e), Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada,

Possibilité de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s'inscrit dans le droit fil de l'engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l'inclusion, l'honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d'esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

L’objectif global de la ministre de la Santé consiste à renforcer le système de santé universel financé par l’État et à veiller à ce qu’il s’adapte aux nouveaux défis.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement la candidature de divers Canadiens talentueux de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour le poste suivant :

Président(e) (poste à temps plein)

Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada

Les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada ont été créés en vertu de la Loi sur les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, qui est entrée en vigueur le 7 juin 2000. Les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada sont l’organisme du gouvernement du Canada chargé d’investir dans la recherche en santé. Composés de 13 instituts, ils collaborent avec des partenaires et des chercheurs, et leur mission est de créer de nouvelles connaissances scientifiques et d’en favoriser l’application en vue d’améliorer la santé, d’offrir de meilleurs produits et services de santé, et de renforcer le système de soins de santé pour les Canadiens. Les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada sont administrés par un président et un conseil d’administration composé de 18 membres, dont le président et le sous-ministre de la Santé, nommés par le gouverneur en conseil et veillant à répondre aux normes les plus élevées de l'excellence scientifique et à représenter les divers milieux et disciplines visés. Le président et le conseil d’administration sont secondés par divers comités permanents et consultatifs.

En tant que président du conseil d’administration et du comité de direction, le président des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada a la responsabilité de définir une vision et un cadre général pour soutenir et favoriser une recherche en santé exceptionnelle conformément au programme de recherche national. Il fait en sorte que le public, les partenaires, les établissements provinciaux, les ministères fédéraux, l’industrie et les organismes bénévoles dans le domaine de la santé appuient la recherche et des chercheurs exceptionnels, des partenariats innovateurs et le transfert des connaissances pour qu’elles soient mises en pratique au profit des Canadiens. Le président établit par ailleurs les priorités et les objectifs généraux des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada. Il doit aussi fournir des conseils stratégiques pour la bonne marche des IRSC et assurer un suivi à cet égard. Enfin, le président représente les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et, à ce titre, il doit faire la promotion de la vision et du mandat de l’organisation lors de rencontres au pays et sur la scène internationale.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’organisation et ses activités, consultez lesite Web des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d'ici 23 h 59 heure de l'Est le 13 septembre 2017 sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d'accompagnement devrait être adressée à la Directrice adjointe des processus de sélection, Secrétariat du personnel supérieur, Bureau du Conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l'entremise de l'application en ligne seulement.

Échelle salariale : 259 900 $ - 305 700 $ (GC-10)

Lieu de travail : Région de la capitale nationale

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au moment de les évaluer pour ce poste. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l’un des groupes suivants : femmes, Autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour ce poste, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent clairement que vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Doctorat dans une discipline de recherche en santé ou diplôme de médecine avec formation supérieure en recherche en santé d’une université reconnue ;
  • Stature internationale de chercheur en santé ayant une vaste expérience en recherche de pointe ;
  • Expérience de gestion au niveau de la haute direction, idéalement acquise au sein d’une université, d’un hôpital universitaire, d’un établissement de recherche en santé ou d’une organisation de recherche en santé connexe du secteur public ou privé ayant un mandat en recherche en santé et un rayonnement national et international ;
  • Expérience de l’établissement, de la promotion, de l’intégration et du maintien d’ententes de collaboration et de partenariats stratégiques entre divers membres de la communauté de recherche en santé et instances gouvernementales par le truchement d’un cadre dynamique d’investissement en recherche et d’application des connaissances; expérience de la conclusion d’alliances solides et fructueuses avec un large éventail d’intervenants au Canada et à l’étranger ; et
  • Expérience du travail avec un conseil d’administration ou l’équivalent.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d’une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Connaissance et compréhension des rouages du gouvernement du Canada, de ses institutions et processus, notamment en ce qui a trait à l’élaboration des politiques en matière de recherche en santé, de sciences et de technologie ;
  • Connaissance du travail du milieu universitaire, des principales organisations des secteurs public, privé et bénévole ainsi que des organismes internationaux en relation avec les objectifs et stratégies des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada ;
  • Connaissance de l’ensemble du milieu de la recherche en santé canadienne – de la recherche biomédicale et clinique à la recherche sur les services de santé et à la recherche sur la santé publique et des populations – et de l’orientation future de la recherche en santé et des défis de l’application des connaissances au profit des cliniciens et des décideurs ;
  • Compréhension de l’étendue des questions de recherche en santé, d’un point de vue national et international ;
  • Connaissance et compréhension de la question du bien-être au travail, y compris de la santé mentale, ainsi que de l’identification et de la gestion des risques ;
  • Excellentes aptitudes à communiquer oralement et par écrit avec un large éventail d’intervenants, notamment les médias, les ministres, les comités parlementaires, les autres représentants gouvernementaux, le public, le milieu de la recherche et le secteur privé ;
  • Capacité de représenter les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et de promouvoir la vision et le mandat de l’organisation comme il se doit lors de rencontres à haut niveau au Canada et sur la scène internationale ;
  • Capacité à préciser la vision de l’organisation et à assurer le leadership nécessaire pour réaliser son mandat, suivre son orientation stratégique ainsi qu’analyser les priorités et définir les stratégies à long terme qui permettront au Canada de demeurer un chef de file mondial en recherche dans le domaine de la santé ;
  • Capacité d’élaborer et de négocier des ententes multipartites, de jeter des ponts, d’établir des alliances et des collaborations fructueuses avec les intervenants (p. ex. universités, hôpitaux, secteur bénévole de la santé, instances internationales, gouvernements, secteur privé et autres partenaires de la recherche en santé), et de créer des réseaux efficaces ;
  • Capacité de travailler efficacement dans le contexte des exigences du gouvernement du Canada en matière de responsabilisation et de transparence, tout en respectant le budget des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada ;
  • Capacité d’intégrer les exigences et les attentes diversifiées et complexes des partenaires des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, du milieu scientifique, des clients, du gouvernement et du secteur privé.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l'étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l'expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Meneur exemplaire et inspirant
  • Normes éthiques élevées, intégrité et sens indéniable des responsabilités
  • Penseur stratégique et conseiller de haut niveau
  • Esprit visionnaire et innovateur
  • Aptitude à gérer efficacement les personnes, habiletés en négociation et entregent
  • Tact et diplomatie
  • Capacité à demeurer calme malgré la pression et à faire preuve d’intelligence émotionnelle
  • Jugement sûr

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • Vous devez être en mesure de contribuer à la réalisation des objectifs des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada dans l’intérêt de tous les Canadiens (prévu par la loi).
  • Vous devez répondre aux normes les plus élevées d’excellence scientifique (prévu par la loi).
  • Vous devez être prêt à voyager souvent au Canada et à l’étranger.
  • Vous devez être prêt à déménager dans la région de la capitale nationale ou à une distance raisonnable de celle-ci.

Si vous êtes nommé à ce poste :

Vous devrez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d’éthique et d’activités politiques à l’intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d’emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Les titulaires de charge publique nommés à temps plein doivent soumettre au Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique, dans les 60 jours qui suivent la date de leur nomination, un rapport confidentiel dans lequel ils déclarent leurs biens et exigibilités ainsi que leurs activités extérieures. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique.

Un lien à cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ce poste. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.