Opportunities - Selection Processes

Current Opportunity

Governor, International Development Research Centre,

Appointment Opportunity

We know that Canada is stronger – and our government more effective – when decision-makers reflect Canada’s diversity. Moving forward, the Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups, amongst others, are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for individuals who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of International Development and La Francophonie is to foster sustainable international development and poverty reduction in developing countries.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented individuals, Canadian and international, who are interested in the position of:

Governor (part-time position)

International Development Research Centre

The International Development Research Centre is one of the world’s leading institutions in the generation and application of new knowledge to meet the challenges facing developing countries. The International Development Research Centre funds applied research by researchers from developing countries on the problems they identify as crucial to their communities. The International Development Research Centre’s core mission supports Canada’s policy goals and strengthens Canadian research and development support for international development. It also provides technical support to those researchers.

The International Development Research Centre is a Crown corporation, governed by a Board of Governors composed of up to 14 members, including the Chairperson and President and governors who are both Canadians and non-Canadians. The Centre is accountable to the Parliament of Canada, reporting through the Minister of International Development and La Francophonie.

The International Development Research Centre is headquartered in Ottawa, Canada and maintains four regional offices internationally, covering programming in Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean, the Middle East and North Africa, and Sub-Saharan Africa.

A governor on the International Development Research Centre Board of Governors assists in establishing the strategic direction of the International Development Research Centre, reviews and approves budgets, annual reports, business plans and financial statements, and tracks corporate performance against strategic and business plans. A governor ensures that systems are in place to provide guidance on risks associated with International Development Research Centre business and ensures the integrity of the International Development Research Centre internal controls and management information systems. He or she also monitors the performance of the President and Chief Executive Officer as well as assessing the Board of Governor’s own performance in fulfilling its responsibilities.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the International Development Research Centre's website.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on December 15, 2017, via the Governor in Council Appointments website. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet (Senior Personnel), Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the on-line application.

Per Diem: $360 - $420

Annual Retainer: $4,600 - $5,400 for the Governors, other than the President and the Chairperson, serving as Chairperson of the Finance and Audit Committee or as Chairperson of the Human Resources Committee.

Canada's Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for this position. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand English and French. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous Canadians, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for this position, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • A graduate degree from a recognized university in a relevant field of study or an acceptable combination of education, job-related training, and/or experience;
  • A professional financial designation would be considered an asset;
  • Experience in the field of international development, or experience or training in the natural or social sciences or technology;
  • Experience serving as a member of a board of governors or a board of directors;
  • Experience in public policy and/or research and innovation related to global development challenges;
  • Experience living and working in a developing country, including the maintenance of a network of work and community contacts would be considered an asset;
  • Experience in research and innovation for development would be considered an asset; and
  • Experience in working with or for the private sector in the context of delivering innovative solutions at scale on development challenges.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Knowledge of international development and sustainable development issues broadly and/or development issues specifically related to climate change, water, migration, and/or information technologies, and innovation;
  • Knowledge of the mandate and activities of the International Development Research Centre;
  • Knowledge of the roles and responsibilities of the Board of Governors;
  • Knowledge of corporate governance best practices;
  • Knowledge of international development and foreign and development policy and/or policy formulation.
  • Financial literacy would be considered an asset;
  • Ability to set strategic direction and priorities and to evaluate progress towards objectives;
  • Ability to develop and maintain effective working relationships with other governors, senior management, International Development Research Centre's partners, and stakeholders, and actively participate in debate and discussions amongst board governors;
  • Ability to recognize and address emerging issues, to seize opportunities, and to advance innovative ideas; and
  • Superior communication skills.

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages would be preferred

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • Leadership and sound judgment
  • High ethical standards and integrity
  • Tact and diplomacy
  • Initiative

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • The successful candidate may be a Canadian citizen or may be a citizen of another country who has the right to travel to Canada.
  • The successful candidate must be willing to participate in Board and committee meetings in Canada, which occur at least three times per year.
  • You are willing and able to travel to and within Canada and internationally, as required.

If you are appointed to this position:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment, as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and reference material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner’s website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for this position. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Apply Online

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Possibilité actuelle

Gouverneur, Centre de recherches pour le développement international,

Possibilité de nomination

Nous savons que le pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement est plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. À l’avenir, le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s’inscrit dans le droit fil de l’engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Canadiens autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de chercher des personnes qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l’inclusion, l’honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d’esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

L’objectif général de la ministre du Développement international et de la Francophonie est de favoriser un développement international durable et la réduction de la pauvreté dans les pays en développement.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures de la part de divers candidats talentueux, canadiens et étrangers, qui manifestent un intérêt pour le poste suivant :

Gouverneur (poste à temps partiel)

Centre de recherches pour le développement international

Le Centre de recherches pour le développement international est l’un des chefs de file à l’échelle mondiale voués à la production et à l’application de nouvelles connaissances pour relever les défis auxquels font face les pays en développement. Le Centre de recherches pour le développement international finance la réalisation de recherches appliquées par des chercheurs de pays en développement axées sur des enjeux qu’ils considèrent comme cruciaux pour leurs collectivités. Dans le cadre de sa mission, le Centre de recherches pour le développement international appuie les objectifs stratégiques du Canada et renforce le soutien du pays consacré à la recherche et au développement au service du développement international. Le Centre de recherches pour le développement international leur apporte en outre le soutien technique nécessaire.

Le Centre de recherches pour le développement international est une société d’État dirigée par un Conseil des gouverneurs composé d’un maximum de 14 membres, dont le président et les gouverneurs qui sont tant des Canadiens que des non-Canadiens. Le Centre de recherches pour le développement international est tenu de rendre compte au Parlement par l’intermédiaire du ministre du Développement international et de la Francophonie.

Le Centre de recherches pour le développement international comprend un siège social situé à Ottawa, au Canada, ainsi que quatre bureaux régionaux à l’échelle internationale couvrant les recherches faites en Asie, en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes, au Moyen-Orient et en Afrique du Nord, ainsi qu’en Afrique subsaharienne.

Un gouverneur du Conseil des gouverneurs du Centre de recherches pour le développement international participe à l’établissement de l’orientation stratégique du Centre de recherches pour le développement international, vérifie et approuve les budgets, les rapports annuels, les plans d’activités et les états financiers, et exerce un suivi du rendement organisationnel en fonction des plans stratégiques et d’activités. Un gouverneur s’assure que les systèmes sont en place pour offrir une orientation relative aux risques associés aux activités du Centre de recherches pour le développement international et veille à l’intégrité des mécanismes de contrôle interne et des systèmes d’information de gestion du Centre de recherches pour le développement international. Un gouverneur doit aussi faire le suivi du rendement du président et premier dirigeant tout en évaluant le rendement du Conseil des gouverneurs par rapport à ses responsabilités.

Vous pourrez trouver d’autres renseignements sur l’organisme et ses activités sur le site Web du Centre de recherche pour le développement international.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande d’ici 23h59 heure de l’Est le 20 décembre 2017 sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d’accompagnement doit être adressée au Secrétaire adjoint du Cabinet (personnel supérieur), Bureau du Conseil privé, et doit être envoyée par l’entremise de l’application en ligne seulement.

Taux journalier : 360 $ - 420 $

Honoraire annuel : 4 600 $ - 5 400 $ pour les gouverneurs, autres que le président et le président du Conseil, qui sont nommés à titre de président du comité des finances et de la vérification ou président du comité des ressources humaines.

Langues officielles et diversité du Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au moment de les évaluer pour ce poste. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension du français et de l'anglais et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans ces langues. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l’un des groupes suivants : femmes, Canadiens autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour ce poste, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent clairement en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Diplôme d’études supérieures d’une université reconnue dans un domaine pertinent ou combinaison acceptable d’études, de formation ou d’expérience;
  • Désignation professionnelle en finances serait considérée comme un atout ;
  • Expérience dans le domaine du développement international, ou expérience ou formation en sciences naturelles, en sciences sociales ou en technologie ;
  • Expérience à titre de membre d’un conseil des gouverneurs ou d’un conseil d’administration ;
  • Expérience en politique publique ou en recherche et innovation se rapportant aux enjeux liés au développement international ;
  • Expérience de vie et de travail dans un pays en développement, y compris le maintien d’un réseau de contacts professionnels et communautaires serait considérée comme un atout ;
  • Expérience en recherche et innovation au service du développement serait considérée comme un atout ; et
  • Expérience de travail avec le secteur privé dans un contexte d’offre de solutions novatrices à grande échelle liées aux enjeux en matière de développement serait considérée comme un atout.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d’une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Connaissance des enjeux en matière de développement international et de développement durable en général ou des enjeux en matière de développement en lien avec les changements climatiques, l’eau, la migration, les technologies de l’information et l’innovation ;
  • Connaissance du mandat et des activités du Centre de recherches pour le développement international ;
  • Connaissance des rôles et responsabilités du Conseil des gouverneurs ;
  • Connaissance des pratiques exemplaires de gouvernance organisationnelle ;
  • Connaissance du développement international, de la politique étrangère et de la politique en matière de développement ou de l’élaboration de politiques ;
  • Connaissance de base des questions financières serait considérée comme un atout ;
  • Capacité à établir une orientation et des priorités stratégiques ainsi qu’à évaluer les progrès en fonction des objectifs ;
  • Capacité à établir et à maintenir des relations de travail efficaces avec les autres gouverneurs, la haute direction, les partenaires du Centre de recherches pour le développement international et les intervenants, ainsi qu’à participer activement aux débats et discussions avec les gouverneurs ;
  • Capacité à reconnaître et à régler les problèmes émergents, à saisir les occasions et à suggérer des idées novatrices ; et
  • Aptitudes supérieures à la communication.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l’étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l’expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnellles suivantes :

  • Leadership et justesse de jugement
  • Sens de l’éthique et intégrité personnelle supérieurs
  • Diplomatie et tact
  • Esprit d'initiative

Facteurs d’admissibilité et conditions d’emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • Le titulaire du poste peut être un citoyen canadien ou un citoyen d’un autre pays ayant le droit de voyager au Canada.
  • Le titulaire du poste doit être disposé à participer à des réunions du Conseil et de comités au Canada au moins trois fois par année.
  • Le titulaire doit aussi être disposé et apte à voyager au Canada et à l’étranger, au besoin.

Si vous êtes nommé(e) au poste :

Vous devrez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d’éthique et d’activités politiques à l’intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d’emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique.

Un lien à cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ce poste. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.

Faire une demande d'emploi en ligne