Opportunities - Selection Processes

Current Opportunity

Chairperson, Military Grievances External Review Committee,

Appointment Opportunity

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada’s diversity. The Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous peoples and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of National Defence is to ensure that the Canadian Armed Forces are equipped and prepared, if called upon, to protect Canadian sovereignty, defend North America, provide disaster relief, conduct search and rescue, support United Nations peace operations, and contribute to the security of our allies and to allied and coalition operations abroad.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following position:

Chairperson (full-time position)

Military Grievances External Review Committee

The Military Grievances External Review Committee provides an independent and external review of military grievances. Section 29 of the National Defence Act provides a statutory right for an officer or a non-commissioned member who has been aggrieved, to grieve a decision, an act or an omission in the administration of the affairs of the Canadian Armed Forces.

The Military Grievances External Review Committee is an independent administrative tribunal reporting to Parliament through the Minister of National Defence. It reviews all military grievances referred to it by the Chief of the Defence Staff, as stipulated in the National Defence Act, and article 7.12 in Volume I of the Queen’s Regulations and Orders. Following its review, the Military Grievances External Review Committee submits its findings and recommendations to the Chief of the Defence Staff and the officer or non-commissioned member who submitted the grievance.

The types of grievances that must be referred to the Board are those involving administrative actions resulting in deductions from pay and allowances, reversion to a lower rank or release from the Canadian Armed Forces; application or interpretation of certain Canadian Armed Forces policies, including those relating to conflict of interest, harassment or racist conduct; pay, allowances and other financial benefits; and entitlement to medical care or dental treatment.

The full-time Chairperson provides executive support in the management of a small national organization. Other responsibilities include overseeing and managing the Committee’s grievance portfolio and ensuring the consistency, quality, and timeliness of the recommendations made by Committee members.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the Military Grievances External Review Committee's website.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on December 15, 2017, via the Governor in Council Appointments website. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Deputy Director of Selection Processes, Senior Personnel Secretariat, Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the online application.

Full-time salary range: $142,800 – $168,000 (GCQ-5)

Position Location: National Capital Region

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for this position. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for this position, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • Degree from a recognized university with acceptable specialization in business administration, public administration, administrative law, human resources management, or in another acceptable field of study relevant to the position, or an acceptable combination of education, job-related training and/or experience;
  • Significant* and recent** management experience in a private or public sector organization, including managing human and financial resources;
  • Significant* and recent** professional experience in at least one of the following fields:
    • As a Chairperson or Vice-Chairperson, legal counsel, or decision-maker in an adjudicative or quasi-judicial tribunal, agency or an equivalent, and/or
    • In making findings and recommendations in a non-adjudicative organization, and/or
    • In the interpretation and application of legislation, regulations, policies or directives;
  • Experience working with the Canadian Armed Forces would be considered an asset.

*Significant experience is defined as the depth and breadth of experience normally acquired with having performed a broad range of various, complex related activities acquired over a period of at least three (3) years.

**Recent experience is defined as being within the last three (3) years.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Knowledge of the operations of government, including those related to sound management principles, accountability and transparency;
  • Knowledge of the role, mandate and responsibilities of the Military Grievances External Review Committee;
  • Knowledge of the principles of procedural fairness;
  • Knowledge of the Section 29 of the National Defence Act and Volume I, Chapter 7 of the Queen’s Regulations and Orders;
  • Knowledge of the Canadian Armed Forces’ organization and structure;
  • Ability to interpret relevant statutes, regulations, and policies, and to analyse complex situations in order to make equitable and timely findings and recommendations;
  • Ability to exercise independent and sound judgment while working alone or as part of a panel or team; and
  • Ability to communicate effectively orally and in writing.

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages would be preferred.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • High ethical standards and integrity
  • Sound judgment
  • Strategic thinking
  • Engagement
  • Management excellence

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • The Chairperson must be willing to relocate to the National Capital Region, or to a location within a reasonable commuting distance.

If you are appointed to this position:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and reference material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. Public office holders appointed on a full–time basis must submit to the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, within 60 days of appointment, a confidential report in which they disclose all of their assets, liabilities and outside activities. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner’s website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for this position. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Apply Online

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Possibilité actuelle

Président, Comité externe d'examen des griefs militaires,

Possibilité de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s’inscrit dans le droit fil de l’engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l’inclusion, l’honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d’esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

La priorité absolue du ministre de la Défense nationale est de veiller à ce que les Forces armées canadiennes soient dûment préparées et dotées du matériel nécessaire pour protéger la souveraineté du Canada, défendre l’Amérique du Nord, fournir une aide en cas de désastre, mener des missions de recherche et sauvetage, appuyer les opérations de paix des Nations Unies et contribuer à la sécurité de nos alliés, y compris dans le cadre des opérations des forces alliées et coalisées à l’étranger, lorsqu’elles sont appelées à le faire.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour le poste suivant :

Président (poste à temps plein)

Comité externe d’examen des griefs militaires

Le Comité externe d’examen des griefs militaires assure l’examen indépendant et externe des griefs militaires. L’article 29 de la Loi sur la défense nationale stipule qu’un officier ou un militaire du rang qui s’estime lésé par une décision, un acte ou une omission dans les affaires des Forces armées canadiennes a le droit de déposer un grief.

Le Comité externe d’examen des griefs militaires est un tribunal administratif indépendant qui relève du Parlement par l’entremise du ministre de la Défense nationale. Il examine tous les griefs militaires qui lui sont référés par le chef d’état-major de la Défense, selon les stipulations de la Loi sur la défense nationale et de l’article 7.12 du Volume I des Ordonnances et règlements royaux applicables aux Forces canadiennes. À la suite de son examen, le Comité externe d’examen des griefs militaires présente ses conclusions et recommandations au chef d’état-major de la Défense et à l’officier ou au militaire du rang qui a déposé le grief.

Les types de griefs qui doivent être acheminés au Comité sont ceux qui ont trait aux mesures administratives qui entraînent la suppression ou des déductions de solde et d’indemnités, le retour à un grade inférieur ou la libération des Forces armées canadiennes; à l’application et à l’interprétation des politiques des Forces armées canadiennes qui concernent, y compris celles relatives au conflits d’intérêts, d’harcèlement ou de comportement raciste; de solde et d’indemnités et autres prestations financiers; et le droit aux soins médicaux et dentaires.

Le président à temps plein fournit des services de soutien exécutif pour la gestion d’une petite organisation nationale. Entre autres responsabilités, il doit superviser et gérer le portefeuille des griefs du Comité et d’assurer l’uniformité, la qualité et le caractère opportun des recommandations formulées par les membres du Comité.

Vous pourrez trouver d’autres renseignements sur l’organisme et ses activités sur le site Web du Comité externe d’examen des griefs militaires.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d’ici 23 h 59 heure de l'Est le 15 décembre 2017 sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d'accompagnement devrait être adressée à la Directrice adjointe des processus de sélection, Secrétariat du personnel supérieur, Bureau du Conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l'entremise de l'application en ligne seulement.

Échelle salariale : 142 800 $ à 168 000 $ (GCQ-5)

Lieu de travail : Région de la capitale nationale

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au moment de les évaluer pour ce poste. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l’un des groupes suivants : femmes, Autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour ce poste, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Diplôme d’une université reconnue avec spécialisation acceptable en administration des affaires, administration publique, en droit administratif, en gestion des ressources humaines ou dans un autre un domaine d’études acceptable lié aux fonctions du poste, ou une combinaison acceptable d’études, de formation et/ou d’expérience liée à l’emploi ;
  • Expérience appréciable* et récente** de la gestion au sein d’une organisation du secteur privé ou public, notamment de la gestion des ressources humaines et financières ;
  • Expérience professionnelle appréciable* et récente** dans au moins un des domaines suivants :
    • Président ou vice-président, conseiller juridique ou décideur au sein d’un tribunal décisionnel ou quasi judiciaire, un organisme ou l’équivalent, et/ou
    • Formulation de constatations et de recommandations au sein d’une organisation non juridictionnelle, et/ou
    • Interprétation et application de lois, de règlements, de politiques et de directives ;
  • Expérience de travail avec les Forces armées canadiennes serait considérée comme un atout.

* Par « expérience appréciable », on entend une expérience dont l’étendue et la richesse sont normalement associées à l’exécution d’une grande gamme d’activités complexes et pertinentes sur une période d’au moins trois (3) ans.

** Par « expérience récente », on entend une expérience acquise au cours des trois (3) dernières années.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d’une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Connaissance des activités du gouvernement, notamment de celles qui se rapportent aux principes de saine gestion, à la reddition de comptes et à la transparence ;
  • Connaissance du rôle, du mandat et des responsabilités du Comité externe d’examen des griefs militaires ;
  • Connaissance des principes de l’équité procédurale ;
  • Connaissance de l’article 29 de la Loi sur la défense nationale et du chapitre 7 du Volume I des Ordonnances et règlements royaux applicables aux Forces canadiennes ;
  • Connaissance de l’organisation et de la structure des Forces armée canadiennes ;
  • Capacité d’interpréter des lois, des politiques et des règlements pertinents, et d’analyser des situations complexes afin de présenter des constatations et des recommandations équitables dans les délais prescrits ;
  • Capacité d’exercer un jugement sûr et impartial tout en travaillant de manière autonome ou au sein d’une commission ou d’une équipe ; et
  • Capacité de bien s’exprimer à l’oral et à l’écrit.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l’étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l’expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Sens de l'éthique et intégrité personnelle supérieurs
  • Jugement sûr
  • Réflexion stratégique
  • Engagement
  • Excellence en gestion

Facteurs d’admissibilité et conditions d’emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • Le/la président(e) doit résider ou être disposé(e) à déménager dans la région de la capitale nationale ou dans un endroit situé à une distance raisonnable de celle-ci.

Si vous êtes nommé(e) au poste :

Vous devrez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d’éthique et d’activités politiques à l’intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d’emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Les titulaires de charge publique nommés à temps plein doivent soumettre au Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique, dans les 60 jours qui suivent la date de leur nomination, un rapport confidentiel dans lequel ils déclarent leurs biens et exigibilités ainsi que leurs activités extérieures. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique.

Un lien à cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ce poste. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.

Faire une demande d'emploi en ligne