Opportunities - Selection Processes

Closed

Chief Science Advisor,

Appointment Opportunity

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada's diversity. Moving forward, the Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Science is to support scientific research and the integration of scientific considerations in our investment and policy choices.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following position:

Chief Science Advisor (full-time position)

The Government of Canada is establishing the position of Chief Science Advisor, which will report to the Prime Minister and the Minister of Science. Transparent communication of science and evidence-based policy-making are among the federal government's top priorities. The new Chief Science Advisor will play a key role in fulfilling that commitment.

The Chief Science Advisor's main function will be to advise the government on how to ensure that government science is fully available to the public, that scientists are able to speak freely about their work, and that scientific analyses are considered when the government makes decisions. The Chief Science Advisor will focus on how scientific information is disseminated and used by the federal government, and how evidence is incorporated into government-wide decision-making. This will include a particular emphasis on federal scientific research and activities. Looking to broader scientific issues, as an adviser and coordinator of advice, the Chief Science Advisor will aim to provide impartial scientific advice on key issues with science or research components of relevance to Canada.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on February 13, 2017, via the Governor in Council Appointments website. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet (Senior Personnel), Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the on-line application.

Salary Range: Under review

Position Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for this position. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous Canadians, persons with disabilities, and visible minorities.

To be considered for this position, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application. Please note that the maximum size of each document uploaded as part of your application is 3 MB. A maximum of five (5) documents may be uploaded in respect of any application, including the cover letter and curriculum vitae.

Education and Experience

  • A doctoral degree in natural sciences, mathematics, engineering sciences, health sciences or social sciences;
  • Significant experience as a scientific research practitioner and peer reviewer, with a strong record of peer-reviewed publications in a relevant field of specialization;
  • Demonstrated leadership and management experience within public or private research organizations;
  • Experience participating in scientific advisory bodies established by government (e.g., expert panels, task forces, committees) would be an asset; and
  • Experience in one or more of the following areas would be an asset:
    • involvement in scientific reviews within legislative or regulatory processes;
    • public scientific communication;
    • promoting transparency and integrity in scientific research; and
    • evaluation of scientific or research programs or projects.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Knowledge of the machinery of the federal government and its decision-making process, as well as knowledge of Canadian federal science and technology policy;
  • Knowledge of scientific and non-scientific issues relevant to the federal government;
  • Knowledge of the challenges and opportunities facing evidence-based policy-making within government;
  • Knowledge of the state of current scientific evidence – including accepted theories, established findings and existing uncertainties – outside the candidate's field of specialization;
  • Ability to provide scientific advice in support of policy decisions in an authoritative and independent manner, combining knowledge and experience and effectively addressing the limits of science, the insufficiency of evidence, and appropriately framing uncertainties;
  • Ability to provide constructive scientific advice on contentious issues where considerations include, but are not limited to, science, and recognizing her or his advisory role in the context of decision-making;
  • Ability to provide sound advice while demonstrating integrity and independence through non-partisanship;
  • Ability to think creatively, with a strategic vision for science that extends to the longer term;
  • Ability to work effectively within a committee or working group framework with various governmental actors; and
  • Superior communication skills, both written and oral, including the ability to develop and maintain effective relationships and networks with officials and stakeholders in the scientific community.

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages would be preferred.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • Strategic and innovative thinker;
  • Superior interpersonal skills;
  • Strong analytical skills;
  • Sound judgment;
  • High ethical standards and integrity; and
  • Tact and diplomacy.

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • You reside in or are willing to relocate to the National Capital Region or to a location within reasonable commuting distance; and
  • You are willing to travel across Canada and internationally.

If you are appointed to this position:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment, as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under "Forms and Reference Material".

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. Public office holders appointed on a full-time basis must submit to the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, within 60 days of appointment, a confidential report in which they disclose all of their assets, liabilities and outside activities. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner's website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for this position. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Fermée

Conseiller scientifique en chef,

Possibilité de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort – et notre gouvernement plus efficace – lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. À l'avenir, le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite, qui s'inscrit dans le droit fil de l'engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Canadiens autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de chercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l'inclusion, l'honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d'esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

L'objectif fondamental de la ministre des Sciences est de soutenir la recherche scientifique ainsi que l'intégration des considérations scientifiques dans nos choix d'investissement et de politique.

En ce moment, le gouvernement du Canada cherche dans tout le pays des Canadiens talentueux, de divers horizons, qui seraient intéressés à occuper le poste suivant :

Conseiller scientifique en chef (poste à temps plein)

Le gouvernement du Canada a établi le poste de conseiller scientifique en chef, dont le titulaire rendra compte au premier ministre et à la ministre des Sciences. Une communication transparente sur les activités scientifiques et une élaboration des politiques axée sur des éléments probants constituent des priorités clés du gouvernement fédéral. Le nouveau conseiller scientifique en chef jouera un rôle essentiel pour respecter cet engagement.

La fonction principale du conseiller scientifique en chef sera de conseiller le gouvernement sur la façon de faire en sorte que les travaux scientifiques menés au sein du gouvernement soient accessibles à la population, à ce que les scientifiques soient en mesure de parler librement de leurs travaux et à ce que les analyses scientifiques soient prises en compte dans le processus décisionnel du gouvernement. Le conseiller scientifique en chef mettra l'accent sur la façon dont l'information scientifique est diffusée et utilisée par le gouvernement fédéral et dont les éléments probants sont intégrés à la prise des décisions à l'échelle du gouvernement. Cela comprendra un accent particulier sur la recherche et les activités scientifiques fédérales. Sur le plan des questions scientifiques générales, le conseiller scientifique en chef, à titre de conseiller et de coordonnateur des conseils, visera à donner des conseils scientifiques impartiaux sur les questions importantes contenant un volet en matière de science et de recherche pertinent pour le Canada.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d’ici 23 h 59 heure de l'Est le 13 février 2017 sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d’accompagnement devrait être adressée au Secrétaire adjoint du Cabinet (Personnel supérieur), Bureau du conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l’entremise de l’application en ligne seulement.

Échelle de traitement : en révision

Lieu de travail : Ottawa, Ontario

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au moment de les évaluer pour ce poste. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l'un des groupes suivants : femmes, Canadiens autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour ce poste, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants. Veuillez noter que la taille maximale de chaque document téléchargé dans le cadre de votre application est de 3 Mo. Un maximum de cinq (5) documents peuvent être téléchargés à l'égard de toute demande, y compris la lettre d'accompagnement et le curriculum vitae.

Études et expérience

  • Un doctorat en sciences naturelles, en mathématiques, en génie, en sciences de la santé ou en sciences sociales ;
  • Expérience notable de praticien de la recherche scientifique et de pair examinateur, avec une liste convaincante de publications revues par des pairs dans un champ de spécialisation pertinent ;
  • Expérience confirmée de leadership et de gestion dans des organismes de recherche publics ou privés ;
  • De l'expérience de la participation à des organes consultatifs scientifiques établis par le gouvernement (p. ex. groupes d'experts, groupes de travail, comités) constituerait un atout ; et
  • De l'expérience dans un ou plusieurs des domaines suivants constituerait aussi un atout :
    • participation à des examens scientifiques dans le cadre de processus législatifs ou réglementaires ;
    • communication scientifique publique ;
    • promotion de la transparence et de l'intégrité dans la recherche scientifique ; et
    • évaluation de programmes ou de projets en matière de science ou de recherche.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d'une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Connaissance des rouages et des processus décisionnels du gouvernement fédéral, et connaissance de la politique fédérale canadienne sur les sciences et la technologie ;
  • Connaissance des questions scientifiques et non scientifiques pertinentes quant au gouvernement fédéral ;
  • Connaissance des difficultés et des possibilités relatives à la prise des décisions à partir d'éléments probants au sein du gouvernement ;
  • Connaissance de l'état des données scientifiques probantes actuelles, y compris les théories acceptées, les constatations établies et les incertitudes courantes, hors du champ de spécialisation du candidat ;
  • Capacité de donner des conseils scientifiques à l'appui des décisions stratégiques de manière autonome et faisant autorité, en combinant le savoir et l'expérience, et en tenant compte des limites de la science et de l'insuffisance des éléments probants, et en définissant adéquatement les incertitudes ;
  • Capacité de dispenser des conseils constructifs sur des questions controversées où la science, entre autres, doit être prise en compte, et en étant conscient de son rôle en matière de consultation dans le cadre de la prise des décisions ;
  • Capacité de donner des conseils éclairés tout en faisant preuve d'intégrité et d'indépendance par son impartialité ;
  • Capacité de réfléchir de manière créative, selon une vision stratégique, à la science à long terme ;
  • Capacité de travailler efficacement au sein d'un comité avec divers acteurs gouvernementaux ; et
  • Excellentes compétences en matière de communication, à l'oral et à l'écrit, et la capacité d'établir et de maintenir des rapports et des réseaux efficaces avec des représentants et des intervenants de la collectivité scientifique.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l'étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l'expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Capacité de réflexion stratégique et innovatrice,
  • Habiletés interpersonnelles supérieures,
  • Solides compétences en matière d'analyse,
  • Jugement sûr,
  • Normes d'éthique élevées et intégrité, et
  • Tact et diplomatie.

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • Vous demeurez dans la Région de la capitale nationale ou à un endroit à distance raisonnable du lieu de travail, ou vous êtes prêt(e) à vous y installer, et,
  • Vous êtes prêt(e) à voyager partout au Canada et à l'étranger.

Si vous êtes nommé(e) au poste :

Vous devrez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d'éthique et d'activités politiques à l'intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d'emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Les titulaires de charge publique nommés à temps plein doivent soumettre au Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique, dans les 60 jours qui suivent la date de leur nomination, un rapport confidentiel dans lequel ils déclarent leurs biens et exigibilités ainsi que leurs activités extérieures. Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique.

Un lien à cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ce poste. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.