Opportunities - Selection Processes

Current Opportunity

Chairperson, Export Development Canada,

Appointment Opportunity

We know that our country is stronger – and our government more effective – when decision-makers reflect Canada's diversity. Moving forward, the Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of International Trade is to increase trade and attract job-creating investment to Canada, focusing on implementing the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), expanding trade with large fast-growing markets and deepening our trade links with traditional partners.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the position of:

Chairperson (part-time position)

Export Development Canada

Export Development Canada (EDC) is a financial Crown Corporation whose mandate is to: “support and develop, directly or indirectly, Canada's export trade and Canadian capacity to engage in that trade and to respond to international business opportunities.”

Export Development Canada is financially self-sufficient and works alongside the financial private sector to provide a wide range of financing and risk management services to support Canadian exporters and investors of all sizes. At the core of Export Development Canada's mission is its unique ability to harness its knowledge of international financial services, markets as well as global trade and international buyers to enable it to take on and manage significant levels of capital and risk for Canadian export minded firms. Export Development Canada is viewed as a vibrant organization that maximizes its contribution to Canadian international trade while returning significant financial returns to Canadians year over year.

With respect to its operating principles, Export Development Canada conducts its business in a manner that is respectful of international agreements to which Canada is a party; that is consistent with its commitments to corporate social responsibility; and that ensures the sound financial management of its activities. In 2015, Export Development Canada helped Canadian customers facilitate $104.2 billion of exports and international trade and 81% of these customers were small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). Export Development Canada generated net income of $925 million in 2015 and had total assets of $61.0 billion.

The Chairperson leads a thirteen member Board of Directors comprised of members from the private sector and Export Development Canada's President and oversees the Corporation's activities. Under the direction of the Chairperson, the Board ensures that appropriate systems of governance, leadership and stewardship are in place to enable Export Development Canada's management to lead the organization effectively. The Board plays a pivotal role in setting the strategic direction of Export Development Canada and in ensuring that public policy objectives are met in the most effective manner. The Board and its Committees are responsible for reviewing and approving Export Development Canada's annual Corporate Plan and monitoring the Corporation's performance. The Board also monitors the performance and effectiveness of the CEO and senior management and assesses its own effectiveness in fulfilling its responsibilities. The Board reviews the development and refinement of the various financial services offered to Canadian companies, and approves and authorizes certain loan, guarantee, insurance and equity investment transactions. Oversight of the management and assessment of enterprise risk is a major role of the Board. The Board also oversees the compliance and ethics of Export Development Canada and the implementation of corporate social responsibility initiatives.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the Export and Development Canada's website.

Applicants who have already submitted their application earlier this year need not apply again.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on July 24, 2017, via Governor in Council Appointments website. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet (Senior Personnel), Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the online application.

Per Diem: $410 - $485

Annual Retainer: $10,500 - $12,400

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency, parity and diversity in assessing candidates for this position. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language, as well as your status in relationship to one or more of the following groups: Indigenous Canadians, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for this position, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • A degree from a recognized university in a relevant field of study or an acceptable combination of education, job-related training, and/or experience;
  • Experience serving on a Board of Directors of a public, private or not-for-profit organization, preferably as Chairperson;
  • Experience in governance principles and best practices in a culture of accountability and transparency;
  • Experience dealing with different levels of government, preferably with senior officials;
  • Experience in the areas of international trade/export sector;
  • Experience in managing financial and human resources;
  • Experience in a financial institution would be considered an asset; and
  • A professional financial designation would be considered an asset.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Knowledge of the mandate and activities of Export Development Canada and strategic corporate planning, monitoring and the evaluation of corporate performance;
  • Knowledge of the roles and responsibilities of the Chairperson, the Board of Directors, the Chief Executive Officer and corporate governance principles and best practices including fundamental accountabilities to the Government of Canada as Shareholder;
  • Knowledge of banking and/or insurance industry;
  • Knowledge of government and public policy;
  • Knowledge of international affairs, the international trade environment and a general understanding of the legislative environment in which it operates and the global economy;
  • Knowledge related to development finance;
  • Knowledge of Export Development Canada's products and business or a commitment to acquiring this within a short time of joining the Board;
  • Knowledge of sound financial and risk management of an enterprise and corporate social responsibility;
  • Knowledge of different sizes of enterprises ranging from large national and trans-national corporations to small and medium sized businesses and of Canada's diverse industry sectors;
  • Knowledge of best practices with regard to accountability and reporting for Crown held corporations would be an asset;
  • Financial acumen and literacy (ability to read and assess financial statements);
  • Ability to set priorities and support the corporate vision needed to fulfil Export Development Canada's mandate and attain its objectives; and
  • Ability to foster debate and discussion amongst Board Members in an open and trusting environment to facilitate consensus and manage conflicts, should they arise. Be sensitive to the differing needs and agenda of multiple stakeholders.

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages would be preferred.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • Informed judgment
  • Integrity and accountability
  • Impact and influence
  • Sound management
  • Trust and commitment

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • The successful candidate must be willing to participate in Board and Committee meetings with four meetings held in Ottawa, and two meetings held in various other Canadian cities. Additional Board meetings may be held as may be necessary from time to time.
  • The successful candidate must be willing to serve on an average of three committees.

If you are appointed to this position:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment, as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and reference material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. For more information please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner's website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for this position. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Apply Online

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Fermée

Président du conseil, Exportation et développement Canada,

Possibilité de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s'inscrit dans le droit fil de l'engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Canadiens autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l'inclusion, l'honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d'esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

Le objectif général du ministre du Commerce international est d'accroître les activités commerciales et d'attirer des investissements créateurs d'emplois au Canada, en mettant en œuvre l'Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l'Union européenne, en accroissant les échanges commerciaux avec les grands marchés en croissance rapide, et en approfondissant nos liens commerciaux avec les partenaires traditionnels.

Le gouvernement du Canada est actuellement à la recherche dans tout le pays de candidatures de Canadiens et Canadiennes talentueux et diversifiés, qui seraient intéressés par le poste suivant :

Président du conseil (poste à temps partiel)

Exportation et développement Canada

Exportation et développement Canada (EDC) est une société d'État financière dont le mandat est de « soutenir et développer, directement ou indirectement, le commerce extérieur du Canada ainsi que la capacité du pays d'y participer et de profiter des débouchés offerts sur le marché international ».

Financièrement autonome, Exportation et développement Canada travaille en collaboration avec le secteur financier privé pour offrir une vaste gamme de services de financement et de gestion des risques aux exportateurs et aux investisseurs canadiens de toutes tailles. Au cœur de sa mission, sa capacité unique d'exploiter ses connaissances des services financiers internationaux et des divers marchés, ainsi que du commerce mondial et des acheteurs internationaux, lui permet d'assumer et de gérer des capitaux et des risques élevés pour les entreprises canadiennes désireuses d'exporter. La Société est perçue comme une organisation dynamique, qui maximise sa contribution au commerce international du Canada tout en obtenant des rendements financiers considérables pour les Canadiens, année après année.

En ce qui concerne ses principes directeurs, Exportation et développement Canada mène ses activités en respectant les accords internationaux ratifiés par le Canada, en conformité avec ses engagements à l'égard de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises, et en s'appuyant sur des pratiques de gestion financière saine. En 2015, elle a aidé des clients canadiens, dont 81 % étaient des PME, à faciliter des transactions de 104,2 milliards de dollars en exportations et échanges internationaux. Cette même année, elle a affiché un bénéfice net de 925 millions de dollars, et des actifs totaux de 61,0 milliards de dollars.

Le président du Conseil d'administration (le « Conseil »), entouré d'un Conseil de douze membres composé d'administrateurs du secteur privé et du président et chef de la direction d'Exportation et développement Canada, supervise les activités de la Société. Sous sa direction, le Conseil veille à ce que les systèmes appropriés de gouvernance, de leadership et de gérance soient en place pour permettre à la direction de la Société de gérer efficacement l'organisation. Le Conseil joue un rôle essentiel pour établir la stratégie d'Exportation et développement Canada et veiller à ce qu'elle suive les objectifs de politique publique le plus efficacement possible. Le Conseil et ses comités sont chargés d'examiner et d'approuver le Rapport annuel d'Exportation et développement Canada et de surveiller la performance de la Société. Le Conseil doit également surveiller le rendement et l'efficacité du chef de la direction et des cadres dirigeants, et évaluer sa propre efficacité dans l'exercice de ses responsabilités. Ses membres examinent le développement et le perfectionnement des divers services financiers offerts aux compagnies canadiennes, et ils autorisent certaines transactions de prêts, de garanties, d'assurances et d'investissement en capital-actions. Un des principaux rôles du Conseil est de surveiller la gestion du risque d'entreprise et de l'évaluer, et il doit aussi surveiller la conformité et l'éthique d'Exportation et développement Canada ainsi que la mise en place des initiatives de responsabilité sociale des entreprises.

Vous pourrez trouver d'autres renseignements sur l'organisme et ses activités sur le site Web d'Exportation et développement Canada.

Les candidats qui ont déjà soumis leur demande plus tôt cette année n'ont pas besoin de postuler à nouveau.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d'ici 23 h 59 heure de l'Est le 7 août 2017 sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d'accompagnement devrait être adressée au Secrétaire adjoint du Cabinet (Personnel supérieur), Bureau du Conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l'entremise de l'application en ligne seulement. Si vous avez postulé entre le 21 avril et le 23 mai, ou le 16 juin et le 24 juillet 2017, vous n'avez pas besoin de présenter une nouvelle demande de candidature pour être considéré pour ce poste.

Taux journalier : 410 $ - 485 $

Honoraire annuel : 10 500 $ - 12 400 $

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité au moment d’évaluer les candidats pour ce poste. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l'un des groupes suivants : femmes, Canadiens autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour ce poste, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Diplôme d'une université reconnue dans un domaine d'études pertinent, ou combinaison acceptable d'études, de formation liée au poste et/ou d'expérience ;
  • Expérience à titre de membre d'un conseil d'administration d'une organisation du secteur public, privé ou à but non lucratif, de préférence en tant que président du conseil ;
  • Expérience en application des principes de gouvernance et des pratiques exemplaires dans une culture de responsabilisation et de transparence ;
  • Expérience en gestion des relations à différents paliers de gouvernement, préférablement avec des hauts fonctionnaires;
  • Expérience en matière de commerce international ou d'exportation ;
  • Expérience en gestion des ressources humaines et financières ;
  • Expérience dans une institution financière serait considérée comme un atout ; et
  • Un titre professionnel dans le domaine financier serait considéré comme un atout.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d'une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Connaissance du mandat et des activités d'Exportation et développement Canada ainsi que de la planification stratégique d'entreprise, de la surveillance générale et de l'évaluation de la performance d'une entreprise ;
  • Connaissance des rôles et des responsabilités du président d'un Conseil d'administration, du Conseil lui-même, du chef de la direction, ainsi que des principes et pratiques exemplaires en matière de gouvernance d'entreprise, notamment les responsabilités fondamentales à l'égard du gouvernement du Canada en sa qualité d'actionnaire ;
  • Connaissance du secteur financier ou du secteur d'assurances ;
  • Connaissance des politiques gouvernementales et publiques ;
  • Connaissance des affaires internationales, du climat entourant le commerce international et compréhension générale de la législation dans lequel la Société évolue, et de l'économie mondiale ;
  • Connaissance relié au financement du développement ;
  • Connaissance des produits et des activités d'Exportation et développement Canada, ou engagement à acquérir ce savoir rapidement après la nomination au Conseil ;
  • Connaissance de gestion financière éclairée et en gestion du risque d'entreprise, ainsi qu'en responsabilité sociale des entreprises ;
  • Connaissance des entreprises d'envergure diverse, allant des grandes sociétés nationales et multinationales aux PME, et des divers secteurs industriels du Canada ;
  • Connaissance des pratiques exemplaires relativement aux responsabilités et à l'établissement de rapports pour les sociétés d'État serait considérée comme un atout ;
  • Sens des finances et capacité à lire et à évaluer des états financiers ;
  • Capacité à établir des priorités et à promouvoir la vision d'entreprise afin de réaliser le mandat et les objectifs d'Exportation et développement Canada ; et
  • Capacité d'encourager le débat et la discussion parmi les membres du Conseil, dans un climat d'ouverture et de confiance, afin de faciliter le consensus et de gérer les conflits, le cas échéant. Sensibilisation aux différents besoins et programmes de nombreuses parties intéressées.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l'étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l'expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Jugement éclairé
  • Intégrité et responsabilité
  • Impact et influence
  • Saine gestion
  • Confiance et engagement

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Il est important que, dans votre demande, vous confirmiez que vous répondez aux exigences suivantes.

  • Le candidat retenu doit être disposé à participer à des réunions du Conseil et des comités du Conseil, dont quatre à Ottawa, et deux dans diverses villes du pays. D'autres réunions peuvent être tenues à des fins de planification stratégique ou dans des circonstances spéciales, au besoin.
  • Le candidat retenu doit être disposé à siéger en moyenne à trois comités.

Si vous êtes nommé(e) à ce poste :

Vous devrez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d'éthique et d'activités politiques à l'intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d'emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Pour plus d'information à ce sujet, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique.

Un lien vers cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ce poste. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés peut être établi et utilisé pour d'autres possibilités de nomination semblables.