Opportunities - Selection Processes

Current Opportunity

Executive Director, Telefilm Canada,

Appointment Opportunity

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada’s diversity. The Government of Canada will use an appointments process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous peoples and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Canadian Heritage is to implement the government’s plan to strengthen our cultural and creative industries.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following position:

Executive Director (full-time position)

Telefilm Canada

Telefilm Canada is a Crown corporation, the mandate of which is to foster and promote the development of the audiovisual industry in Canada. The Corporation acts as one of the Canadian government's principal instruments for providing strategic leverage to the private sector, supplying the film, television and digital media industries with financial and strategic support. Dedicated to the cultural, commercial and industrial success of Canada’s audiovisual industry, Telefilm Canada, through its various funding and promotion programs, supports dynamic companies and creative talent here at home and around the world. Its role is to foster the production of films, television programs and cultural products that reflect Canadian society, with its linguistic duality, cultural diversity, and diverse Indigenous communities, to encourage their dissemination at home and abroad.

Management’s role is to manage the Corporation’s day-to-day operations so that it evolves in line with the directions determined by the Board. The Board is also responsible to evaluate the performance of the Chief Executive Officer on an annual basis.

The Executive Director is the Chief Executive Officer of the Corporation, and reports to Telefilm’s Board of Directors. In this capacity, the Executive Director is responsible for leading and controlling the management of the Corporation.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the Telefilm Canada's website.

Review of applications will begin on January 22, 2018, via the Governor in Council Appointments website. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet (Senior Personnel), Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the on-line application.

Salary Range: $214,900 - $252,800

Position Location: Montréal, Quebec

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for this position. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for this position, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • A degree from a recognized university in a relevant field of study or an acceptable combination of equivalent education, job-related training and/or experience;
  • A degree in finance, accounting, business or an MBA would be considered an asset;
  • Significant senior executive leadership experience in complex organizations, including the management of human and financial resources, and ideally with some international business focus;
  • Experience working with a board of directors and senior government officials, and experience in managing complex partnerships and stakeholder relationships, including donors;
  • Experience in strategic management, organizational change and implementing modern corporate governance principles and best practices;
  • Experience leading a variety of consultative and collaborative efforts among diverse groups of stakeholders, including all levels of government, professionals and professional organizations, non-governmental organizations, the business community and the public; and
  • Experience working with the arts and cultural sectors, preferably in the audiovisual industry, as well as sponsoring Canadian talent promotion activities, would be considered an asset.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Knowledge and understanding of Telefilm Canada’s mandate, business activities and public policy concerns, as well as its governing legislation, including the Telefilm Canada Act, and the Financial Administration Act;
  • Knowledge of the current challenges and opportunities for the Canadian film, television and digital media industries, domestically and abroad;
  • Financial literacy and knowledge of the principles and practices of sound management, risk management and corporate governance;
  • Knowledge of strategic corporate planning, monitoring and evaluation of corporate performance;
  • Knowledge of Telefilm Canada’s partners and leaders, as well as emerging and global trends and new technologies;
  • Knowledge of the transformation to digital culture would be considered an asset;
  • Ability to provide corporate vision, leadership and strategic direction needed to ensure that Telefilm Canada is able to carry out its mandate and achieve its objectives;
  • Ability to identify, analyze and define priorities and strategies;
  • Ability to provide national and international leadership in supporting the Canadian audiovisual industry and promoting Canadian content;
  • Ability to develop effective relationships with Telefilm Canada’s Board of Directors and its senior management, with the Minister of Canadian Heritage and her Office, the Deputy Minister of Heritage, and with stakeholders and partners domestically and abroad;
  • Superior communication skills, both written and oral; and
  • Ability to act as the spokesperson in representing Telefilm Canada with stakeholders, media, public institutions, governments and other organizations.

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages is preferred.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • Familiar with the audiovisual field, among others, feature films, television and digital media
  • Strategic and innovative leader
  • High ethical standards and integrity
  • Tact and diplomacy
  • Sound judgment
  • Superior interpersonal skills
  • Collegiality

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirement:

  • No person who has, directly or indirectly and individually or as a shareholder, partner or otherwise, any pecuniary interest in the audio-visual industry is eligible to be appointed or to hold office as a member of the Corporation (statutory);
  • The successful candidate must reside in or be willing to relocate to Montréal, or to a location within reasonable commuting distance; and
  • The successful candidate must be willing to travel across Canada and internationallly, as required.

If you are appointed to this position:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and reference material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. Public office holders appointed on a full time basis must submit to the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, within 60 days of appointment, a confidential report in which they disclose all of their assets, liabilities and outside activities. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner’s website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for this position. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Apply Online

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Possibilité actuelle

Directeur général, Téléfilm Canada,

Possibilité de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s’inscrit dans le droit fil de l’engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l’inclusion, l’honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d’esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

L’objectif primordial de la ministre du Patrimoine canadien est d’exécuter le plan du gouvernement de renforcer nos industries de la culture et de la création.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour le poste suivant :

Directeur général (poste à temps plein)

Téléfilm Canada

Téléfilm Canada est une société d’État qui a pour mission de favoriser et d’encourager le développement de l’industrie audiovisuelle au Canada. Elle s’avère l’un des instruments privilégiés du gouvernement canadien comme levier du secteur privé et apporte un soutien financier stratégique aux industries du cinéma, de la télévision et des médias numériques. Vouée à la réussite culturelle et commerciale de l’industrie audiovisuelle canadienne, Téléfilm Canada, par le truchement de ses divers programmes de financement et de promotion, soutient des compagnies dynamiques et des talents créatifs au pays et à travers le monde. Elle s’applique à stimuler la création d’œuvres et de produits culturels reflétant la société canadienne avec sa dualité linguistique, sa diversité culturelle, et ses diverse communautés autochtones, à favoriser leur rayonnement au pays comme à l’étranger.

Le rôle de la direction consiste à gérer les activités quotidiennes de la Société de manière à ce qu’elle évolue selon les orientations tracées par les membres. Le conseil est également chargé de l'évaluation du rendement du premier dirigeant sur une base annuelle.

Le directeur général est le premier dirigeant de la Société et rend compte au conseil d'administration de Téléfilm. Le directeur général est responsable de la direction et du contrôle de la gestion de la Société.

Vous pourrez trouver d'autres renseignements sur l'organisme et ses activités sur le site Web de Téléfilm Canada.

L'examen des demandes débutera le 22 janvier 2018 sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d’accompagnement devrait être adressée au Secrétaire adjoint du Cabinet (Personnel supérieur), Bureau du conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l’entremise de l’application en ligne seulement.

Échelle salariale : 214,900 $ - 252,800 $

Lieu de travail : Montréal, Québec

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au moment de les évaluer pour ce poste. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l’un des groupes suivants : femmes, Autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour ce poste, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites les critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Un diplôme d’une université reconnue dans un domaine pertinent ou une combinaison acceptable d’études équivalente, de formation professionnelle et/ou d’expérience ;
  • Un diplôme en finances, comptabilité, commerce ou un maîtrise en administration des affaires (MBA) serait considéré un atout ;
  • Expérience appréciable de leadership à titre de cadre supérieur dans des organismes complexes, y compris dans la gestion des ressources humaines et financières, et idéalement avec une certaine orientation vers le commerce international ;
  • L’expérience des activités de collaboration avec un conseil d’administration et des hauts fonctionnaires du gouvernement et dans la gestion de partenariats complexes et des liens avec les intervenants, notamment les donateurs ;
  • Expérience de la gestion stratégique, des changements organisationnels et de la mise en œuvre de principes et de pratiques exemplaires modernes en matière de gouvernance d’entreprise ;
  • Expérience de direction d’activités de consultation et de collaboration variées auprès de différents intervenants, notamment tous les ordres de gouvernement, des professionnels, des organismes professionnels et non gouvernementaux, le milieu des affaires et le public ; et
  • Expérience de travail dans le secteur culturel et des arts, de préférence dans l’industrie audiovisuelle, et dans les activités de promotion du talent canadien, serait considérée un atout.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d’une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Connaissance du mandat de Téléfilm Canada, des activités commerciales et des questions de politique publique, ainsi que de ses règles de gouvernance, y compris la Loi sur Téléfilm Canada, et la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques ;
  • Connaissance des défis et des possibilités actuels pour les industries canadiennes du cinéma, de la télévision et des médias numériques, à l'échelle nationale et à l'étranger ;
  • Connaissance du domaine financier et des principes et des pratiques de saine gestion, de gestion du risque et de bonne gouvernance d’entreprise ;
  • Connaissance de la planification d’entreprise stratégique, de la surveillance et de l’évaluation du rendement d’entreprise ;
  • Connaissance des partenaires et dirigeants de Téléfilm Canada, ainsi que les tendances mondiales et émergentes et des nouvelles technologies ;
  • Connaissance de la transition à la culture numérique serait considérée un atout ;
  • Capacité d’établir la vision de l’entreprise, le leadership organisationnel, et de donner l’orientation stratégique pour permettre de réaliser le mandat et les objectifs de Téléfilm Canada ;
  • Capacité de cerner, d’analyser et de définir les priorités et les stratégies ;
  • Capacité d’endosser un rôle de meneur national et international dans le soutien à l’industrie audiovisuelle canadienne ainsi que la promotion de contenus canadiens ;
  • Capacité d'établir des relations de travail efficaces avec le conseil d’administration de Téléfilm Canada, la direction, la ministre du Patrimoine canadien, son cabinet, le sous-ministre du Patrimoine canadien de même qu’avec les intervenants et les partenaires au pays et à l'étranger ;
  • Excellentes habiletés de communication écrite et orale ; et
  • Capacité d’agir comme porte-parole pour Téléfilm Canada auprès des intervenants, des médias, des institutions publiques, des gouvernements et d’autres organisations.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l’étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l’expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Connaître le domaine de l’audiovisuel, notamment le long métrage, la télévision et les médias numériques
  • Leader stratégique et innovateur
  • Normes d’éthiques et intégrité personnelle supérieurs
  • Tact et diplomatie
  • Jugement sûr
  • Compétences supérieures en relations interpersonnelles
  • Collégialité

Facteurs d’admissibilité et conditions d’emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous satisfaites les exigences suivantes:

  • La charge de membre de la Société est incompatible avec le fait de détenir, directement ou indirectement, individuellement ou en qualité d’actionnaire ou d’associé ou à quelque autre titre, un intérêt pécuniaire dans l’industrie audiovisuelle (prévu par la loi) ;
  • La personne choisie doit demeurer ou être disposée à déménager à Montréal, ou à proximité du lieu de travail ; et
  • La personne choisie doit être prête à voyager partout au Canada et à l’étranger, au besoin.

Si vous êtes nommé(e) au poste :

Vous devez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d’éthique et d’activités politiques à l’intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d’emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Les titulaires de charge publique nommés à temps plein doivent soumettre au Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique, dans les 60 jours qui suivent la date de leur nomination, un rapport confidentiel dans lequel ils déclarent leurs biens et exigibilité ainsi que leurs activités extérieures. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique.

Un lien à cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ce poste. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des postes semblables.

Faire une demande d'emploi en ligne