Opportunities - Selection Processes

Closed

Members, Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council,

Appointment Opportunities

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada's diversity. Moving forward, the Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Science is to support scientific research and the integration of scientific considerations in our investment and policy choices.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following positions:

Members (part-time positions)

Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council

The Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council is the federal research funding agency that promotes and supports post-secondary-based research and research training in the humanities and social sciences. By focusing on developing talent, generating insights and forging connections across campuses and communities, the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council strategically supports world-leading initiatives that reflect a commitment to ensuring a better future for Canada and the world.

The Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council helps support a vibrant, dynamic research community across Canada that comprises more than 24,000 professors; 64,000 graduate students; and many others. The Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council invests over $350 million annually, supporting more than 8,000 graduate students and nearly 14,000 researchers. There are 3,000 ongoing partners from the academic, government, private and not-for-profit sectors, including 138 international partners contributing more than $15 million.

Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council-supported research in the social sciences and humanities enhances our understanding of modern social, cultural, technological, environmental, economic, and wellness issues. It raises profound questions about who we are as human beings, what we need in order to thrive in complex and challenging times, and where we are headed in the new millennium.

The Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council has a governing council consisting of the President and not more than 18 other members. The members are distinguished representatives from the academic, not-for-profit, public, and private sectors, appointed by the Governor in Council on the recommendation of the Minister of Science. The functions of the Council are to promote and assist research and scholarship in the social sciences and humanities; and to advise the Minister in respect of such matters relating to such research as the Minister may refer to the Council for its consideration.

The Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council's governing council offers a broad view of Canada's needs and opportunities and advises the president on strategy, risk management, performance management and stakeholder relations with the goal of ensuring that the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council's priorities and programs support high quality research, training and knowledge mobilization. The Council works to achieve the greatest strategic impact for Canada from the expenditure of public funds, and ensures that public funds are allocated in a manner that maximizes research outcomes to enable a strong, vibrant research community in the social sciences and humanities. Council members represent the Canadian public and rely upon their knowledge of current issues and trends in the social sciences and humanities research community to strengthen the President's ability to lead the organization with the conviction that comes from independent advice and, with the support of Council, to confidently account to the Minister and to Parliament for the decisions made, the resources expended, and the results achieved.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council's website.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on June 5, 2017, via the Governor in Council Appointments website. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet (Senior Personnel), Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the online application.

Remuneration: Nil; however, reasonable travel and other expenses incurred while absent from your ordinary place of residence in the course of your duties will be paid (statutory).

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for these positions. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous Canadians, persons with disabilities, and visible minorities.

To be considered for one of these positions, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • A graduate degree from a recognized university, or an acceptable combination of education, job-related training and/or experience;
  • National or international experience in research or research management within the academic, private, not-for-profit, or public sector;
  • Experience developing, implementing and managing strategic initiatives within the post-secondary sector, or other private, not-for-profit or public sector organizations;
  • Experience serving as a member of a board of directors for an academic, private, not-for-profit, or public sector organization would be considered an asset; and
  • Experience in public policy development with a particular focus on the academic research community would be considered an asset.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Knowledge of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council's mandate, business activities and governing legislation, including the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Act;
  • Knowledge of Canada's academic community, including knowledge of the post-secondary education system, an understanding of funding for post-secondary students and researchers, and challenges and opportunities related to generating knowledge, developing talented leaders, and facilitating knowledge-sharing and collaboration across research disciplines, post-secondary institutions, and all sectors of society;
  • Knowledge of the current challenges and opportunities related to social sciences and humanities research;
  • Knowledge of the Government of Canada's structure and operations, and its relationship with the research funding agencies;
  • Knowledge of corporate governance and risk management;
  • Ability to recognize and address emerging issues;
  • Ability to provide strategic guidance on how to efficiently and appropriately develop and implement activities that support the mission and strategic objectives of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council;
  • Ability to develop and maintain effective working relationships with other council members and stakeholders; and
  • Ability to understand, interpret and evaluate financial statements and budgets would be considered an asset.

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages would be preferred.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • Superior interpersonal skills
  • Sound judgment
  • High ethical standards and integrity
  • Tact and diplomacy
  • Initiative

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Appointment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • You must be willing to participate in Council and committee meetings in Canada, which occur at least twice a year (statutory).

If you are appointed to one of these positions:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment, as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and Reference Material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner's website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for this position. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Possibilité actuelle

Membres, Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines,

Possibilités de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort, et notre gouvernement, plus efficace, lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. À l'avenir, le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s'inscrit dans le droit fil de l'engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et la représentation adéquate des Canadiens autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l'inclusion, l'honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d'esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

L'objectif fondamental de la ministre des Sciences est de soutenir la recherche scientifique ainsi que l'intégration des considérations scientifiques dans nos choix d'investissement et de politique.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour les postes suivants :

Conseillers (postes à temps partiel)

Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines

Le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines est l'organisme subventionnaire fédéral qui encourage et finance la recherche et la formation postsecondaires en sciences humaines. Il met l'accent sur le développement des talents, la production du savoir et l'établissement de liens entre les campus et les communautés. Il attribue un financement stratégique aux initiatives de calibre mondial qui visent à assurer un meilleur avenir au Canada et au monde.

Le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines contribue au soutien d'un milieu de la recherche énergique et dynamique dans l'ensemble du Canada, comprenant plus de 24 000 professeurs, 64 000 étudiants des cycles supérieurs et de nombreux autres intervenants. Chaque année, le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines investit plus de 350 millions de dollars pour soutenir financièrement quelque 8 000 étudiants des cycles supérieurs et près de 14 000 chercheurs. Il compte sur 3 000 partenaires permanents provenant du milieu universitaire, du gouvernement, d'organismes sans but lucratif et du secteur privé, notamment 138 partenaires internationaux qui apportent une contribution supérieure à 15 millions de dollars.

La recherche en sciences humaines que finance le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines permet de mieux comprendre les nouveaux enjeux d'ordre social, culturel, technologique, environnemental et économique, ainsi que ceux liés au bien-être. Elle suscite une réflexion profonde sur la nature de l'être humain, sur ce dont il a besoin pour progresser en ces temps complexes et difficiles, et sur ce vers quoi il tend pour le nouveau millénaire.

Le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines dispose d'un conseil d'administration formé du président et d'au plus 18 autres membres. Les membres sont d'éminents représentants du secteur privé, du milieu universitaire, d'organismes sans but lucratif et du secteur public nommés par le gouverneur en conseil sur la recommandation de la ministre des Sciences. Le rôle du conseil consiste à promouvoir et à soutenir la recherche et l'érudition dans le domaine des sciences humaines, et à conseiller la ministre, en matière de recherche, sur les questions que celle-ci a soumises à son examen.

Le conseil d'administration du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines offre une perspective globale des occasions et des besoins du Canada et présente des conseils au président sur les stratégies, la gestion des risques, la gestion du rendement et les relations avec les intervenants dans le but de s'assurer que les priorités et les programmes du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines favorisent la mobilisation des connaissances et l'exécution de programmes de formation et de travaux de recherche de grande qualité. Il veille à ce que les retombées stratégiques découlant les fonds publics dépensés soient les plus importantes possible pour le Canada et s'assure que les fonds publics sont attribués de manière à maximiser les résultats de la recherche afin d'habiliter un milieu de la recherche solide et énergique dans le domaine des sciences sociales et humaines. Les membres du conseil représentent le public canadien et mettent à profit leur connaissance des tendances et des enjeux actuels dans le milieu de la recherche en sciences sociales et humaines pour renforcer la capacité du président de diriger l'organisation avec une conviction reposant sur des avis indépendants et, avec l'appui du conseil, pour rendre compte en toute confiance au ministre et au Parlement des décisions prises, des ressources engagées et des résultats obtenus.

Vous pourrez trouver d'autres renseignements sur l'organisme et ses activités sur le site Web du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d'ici 11 h 59 heure de l'Est le 5 juin 2017 sur le site Web des nominations pas le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d'accompagnement devrait être adressée au Secrétaire adjoint du Cabinet (Personnel supérieur), Bureau du conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l'entremise de l'application en ligne seulement.

Rémunération : Aucune; néanmoins, vous avez droit aux frais de déplacement et autres entraînés par l'accomplissement, hors du lieu de votre résidence habituelle, des fonctions qui vous sont conférées (prévu par la loi).

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au moment de les évaluer pour ces postes. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l'un des groupes suivants : femmes, Canadiens autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour un de ces postes, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Diplôme d'une université reconnue ou combinaison acceptable d'études, de formation liée à l'emploi et/ou d'expérience ;
  • Expérience nationale ou internationale de la recherche ou de la gestion de la recherche dans le milieu universitaire, dans le secteur public ou privé ou dans des organismes sans but lucratif ;
  • Expérience de l'élaboration, de la mise en œuvre et de la gestion d'initiatives stratégiques dans le secteur des études postsecondaires ou dans d'autres organismes sans but lucratif ou du secteur public ou privé ;
  • Expérience à titre de membre d'un conseil d'administration pour un organisme sans but lucratif ou dans le milieu universitaire ou le secteur public ou privé serait considérée un atout ; et
  • Expérience de l'élaboration de politiques publiques axées particulièrement sur le milieu de la recherche universitaire serait considérée un atout.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d'une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Connaissance du mandat du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines, de ses activités opérationnelles et des lois qui les régissent, y compris la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines ;
  • Connaissance du milieu universitaire canadien, ce qui comprend connaissance du système d'éducation postsecondaire, compréhension du financement destiné aux chercheurs et aux étudiants postsecondaires, et connaissance des occasions et des défis relatifs à la création de connaissances pour pouvoir développer des dirigeants de talent et faciliter la collaboration et l'échange de connaissances entre les disciplines de recherche, les établissements postsecondaires et tous les secteurs de la société ;
  • Connaissance des occasions et défis actuels concernant la recherche en sciences humaines, et capacité de comprendre les tendances émergentes et mondiales ;
  • Connaissance de la structure et des activités du gouvernement du Canada, ainsi que de ses relations avec les organismes chargés de financer la recherche ;
  • Connaissance de la gestion des risques et de la gouvernance d'entreprise ;
  • Capacité de reconnaître et régler les problèmes qui surgissent ;
  • Capacité de fournir des conseils stratégiques sur la façon d'élaborer et de mettre en œuvre de manière efficace et appropriée des activités qui soutiennent la mission et les objectifs stratégiques du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines ;
  • Capacité de nouer et d'entretenir des relations de travail efficaces avec les autres membres du conseil et les intervenants ; et
  • Capacité de comprendre, d'interpréter et d'évaluer des états financiers et des budgets serait considérée un atout.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l'étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l'expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Compétences supérieures en relations interpersonnelles
  • Jugement sûr
  • Normes d'éthiques élevées et intégrité
  • Diplomatie et tact
  • Esprit d'initiative

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • Vous devez consentir à participer à des réunions de comité et du conseil au Canada, lesquelles ont lieu au moins deux fois par année (prévu par la loi).

Si vous êtes nommé(e) au un de ces postes :

Vous devrez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d'éthique et d'activités politiques à l'intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d'emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des Nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique.

Un lien à cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canadaafin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ces postes. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.

Faire une demande d'emploi en ligne