Opportunities - Selection Processes

Current Opportunity

Chairperson, Defence Construction (1951) Limited,

Appointment Opportunity

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada's diversity. Moving forward, the Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Public Services and Procurement is to ensure that the services provided by her portfolio are delivered efficiently, and in a way that makes citizens feel respected and valued.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following position:

Chairperson (part-time position)

Defence Construction Canada

Defence Construction Canada (Defence Construction (1951) Limited) is a federal Crown corporation that carries out a wide range of procurement, construction, operational, maintenance, environmental and full lifecycle support activities required for the defence of Canada. Defence Construction Canada's Client-Partners include the Department of National Defence, the Canadian Armed Forces, and the Communications Security Establishment of Canada.

Defence Construction Canada's board of directors is responsible for the management of the business, activities and other affairs of the corporation, by directing the corporation's overall strategy, evaluating its performance, ensuring that proper leadership, internal control, and accountability systems are in place, and reporting to the Crown on the corporation's activities and performance. The Chairperson's main responsibility is to lead the board of directors, ensuring that the board functions properly and that it acts in the long-term best interests of the corporation. The Chairperson is also the primary liaison with the Minister of Public Services and Procurement.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the Defense Construction Canada website.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on March 31, 2017, via the Governor in Council Appointments website.Your cover letter should be addressed to the Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet (Senior Personnel), Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the on-line application.

Per diem: $200 - $300

Annual Retainer: $6,400 - $7,500

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for this position. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous Canadians, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for this position, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • A degree from a recognized university, preferably in engineering, or applied science or a related area, business, management, or law, or a combination of equivalent education, training, and/or experience;
  • Experience serving as a member of a board of directors of a government organization, non-profit organization, and/or a private sector organization, preferably as chairperson;
  • Significant management experience at the senior executive level, including managing human and financial resources and working with a board of directors;
  • Experience in strategic management, performance management, organizational change, and implementing modern corporate governance principles and related best practices; and
  • Significant experience dealing with stakeholders and different levels of government, preferably with senior officials, would be considered an asset.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Knowledge of the mandate of Defence Construction Canada, its business activities and public policy issues, as well as its governing legislation, including the Defence Production Act and the Financial Administration Act;
  • Knowledge of financial planning and reporting processes;
  • Knowledge of the federal government's policies and priorities and how they relate to Defence Construction Canada;
  • Knowledge of principles and best practices in: corporate governance; public policy development; financial and risk management; human resources; corporate planning and reporting; and performance management;
  • Knowledge of the roles and responsibilities of the Chairperson, the board of directors, and the President and Chief Executive Officer, including the corporation's fundamental accountabilities to the shareholder and taxpayers, would also be considered an asset;
  • Ability to manage, provide corporate vision, leadership, and the strategic direction needed for Defence Construction Canada to fulfill its mandate and attain its objectives effectively and efficiently;
  • Ability to develop effective relationships with a board of directors, President and Chief Executive Officer, federal government representatives and Defence Construction Canada's Client-Partners;
  • Ability to recognize and address emerging issues, to seize opportunities, and to advance ideas;
  • Ability to foster debate and discussion among board members, facilitate consensus, and manage conflicts, should they arise;
  • Superior communication skills, both written and oral; and
  • Ability to analyze complex issues and think strategically, and balance the business needs of the organization with the public interest.

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages would be preferred.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • Superior interpersonal skills
  • Sound judgment
  • Integrity
  • High ethical standards
  • Initiative
  • Tact and diplomacy

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • You are willing to travel across Canada to participate in Board meetings.

If you are appointed to this position:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment, as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and Reference Material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner's website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for this position. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Apply Online

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Possibilité actuelle

Président du conseil, Construction de défense (1951) Limitée,

Possibilité de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. À l'avenir, le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s'inscrit dans le droit fil de l'engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Canadiens autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l'inclusion, l'honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d'esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

L'objectif principal de la ministre des Services publics et de l'Approvisionnement est de veiller à ce que son portefeuille fournisse efficacement des services et de façon à ce que les citoyens se sentent respectés et valorisés.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour le poste suivant :

Président du conseil (poste à temps partiel)

Construction de Défense Canada

Construction de Défense Canada « Construction de Défense (1951) Limitée » est une société d'État fédérale qui réalise un large éventail d'activités d'acquisition, de construction, d'exploitation, d'entretien, d'environnement et de soutien tout au long du cycle de vie requises à l'appui de la défense du Canada. Les clients-partenaires de Construction de Défense Canada sont le ministère de la Défense nationale, les Forces armées canadiennes et le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications du Canada.

Le conseil d'administration de Construction de Défense Canada est responsable de la gestion des affaires, des activités et d'autres transactions de la société : il dirige la stratégie globale de la société, évalue son rendement, s'assure qu'une équipe de direction et des systèmes de contrôle interne et de reddition de compte appropriés sont en place et fait rapport à l'État sur les activités et le rendement de la société. La principale responsabilité du président consiste à diriger le conseil d'administration ainsi qu'à veiller à son bon fonctionnement et aux meilleurs intérêts à long terme de la société. Le président est aussi le point de contact principal avec la ministre des Services publics et de l'Approvisionnement.

Vous pourrez trouver d'autres renseignements sur l'organisme et ses activités sur son site Web à Construction de défense Canada.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d'ici 23 h 59 heure de l'Est le 31 mars 2017 sur le site Web des Nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d'accompagnement devrait être adressée au Secrétaire adjoint du Cabinet (Personnel supérieur), Bureau du conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l'entremise de l'application en ligne seulement.

Taux journalier : 200 $ - 300 $

Honoraire annuel : 6 400 $ - 7 500

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au moment de les évaluer pour ce poste. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l'un des groupes suivants : femmes, Canadiens autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour ce poste, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Un diplôme d'une université reconnue, préférablement en ingénierie ou en sciences appliquées, ou dans un domaine connexe, en affaires, en gestion ou en droit, ou une combinaison équivalente d'études, de formation et/ou d'expérience ;
  • Expérience à titre de membre d'un conseil d'administration d'une organisation gouvernementale, d'un organisme sans but lucratif et/ou d'une organisation du secteur privé, de préférence à titre de président ou présidente ;
  • Vaste expérience de la gestion au niveau de la haute direction, notamment de la gestion de ressources financières et humaines ainsi que de la collaboration avec un conseil d'administration ;
  • Expérience de la gestion stratégique, de la gestion du rendement, du changement organisationnel et de la mise en œuvre des principes modernes et des pratiques exemplaires applicables à la gouvernance d'une organisation ; et
  • Une expérience appréciable des relations avec des intervenants et divers ordres de gouvernement, préférablement avec de hauts fonctionnaires, serait considérée comme un atout.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d'une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Connaissance du mandat de Construction de Défense Canada, de ses activités, des questions de politique publique et de la loi qui la régit, notamment la Loi sur la production de défense et la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques ;
  • Connaissance des processus de planification financière et d'établissement de rapports ;
  • Connaissance des politiques et des priorités du gouvernement fédéral et de la façon dont elles sont liées à Construction de Défense Canada ;
  • Connaissance des principes et des pratiques exemplaires en matière de gouvernance d'une société, d'élaboration de politique publique, de gestion des finances et des risques, de ressources humaines, de planification et d'établissement de rapports organisationnels ainsi que de gestion du rendement ;
  • La connaissance des rôles et des responsabilités du président, du conseil d'administration ainsi que du président et premier dirigeant, notamment des responsabilités essentielles de la société à l'égard des actionnaires et des contribuables serait aussi considérée comme un atout ;
  • Capacité d'assurer la gestion, d'établir la vision de la société, d'exercer un leadership et de donner l'orientation stratégique nécessaire permettant à Construction de Défense Canada de réaliser son mandat et ses objectifs de manière efficace et efficiente ;
  • Capacité de créer des relations efficaces avec un conseil d'administration, un président et premier dirigeant, les représentants du gouvernement fédéral ainsi que les partenaires de Construction de Défense Canada ;
  • Capacité de reconnaître et de gérer les nouveaux enjeux, de saisir les possibilités et d'exprimer des idées ;
  • Capacité d'animer des débats et des discussions entre les membres d'un conseil d'administration, de faciliter l'atteinte de consensus et de gérer des conflits, le cas échéant ;
  • Excellente aptitude à communiquer, par écrit et de vive voix ; et
  • Capacité d'analyser des questions complexes, de penser de façon stratégique et d'équilibrer les besoins opérationnels de l'organisation selon l'intérêt public.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l'étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l'expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Beaucoup d'entregent
  • Jugement
  • Intégrité
  • Grand sens de l'éthique
  • Esprit d'initiative
  • Tact et diplomatie

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • Vous êtes disposé(e) à voyager partout au Canada pour participer aux réunions du conseil d'administration.

Si vous êtes nommé(e) à ce poste :

Vous devrez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d'éthique et d'activités politiques à l'intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d'emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des Nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique.

Un lien à cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ce poste. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.

Faire une demande d'emploi en ligne