Opportunities - Selection Processes

Current Opportunity

Members, National Research Council Canada,

Appointment Opportunities

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada's diversity. Moving forward, the Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development is to help businesses grow, innovate and export so that they can create good quality jobs and wealth for Canadians.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following positions:

Members (part-time positions)

National Research Council Canada

The National Research Council Canada (National Research Council of Canada) plays a unique role in Canada's science, technology and innovation system, undertaking large-scale, outcome-oriented and collaborative research programs that address science and innovation needs and opportunities for the country. The National Research Council Canada is a significant asset for Canada, providing a national network of expert staff and a national system of well-developed research facilities and associated equipment that deliver world-class applied research and commercialization capacity in diverse areas of research and technology development. The National Research Council Canada’s Industrial Research Assistance Program is an internationally-known program that supports thousands of small and medium-sized enterprises a year with innovation advice and financial assistance for commercialization. The National Research Council Canada has a rich 100-year history that includes the work of many Nobel Laureates and countless great technology success stories.

The Governing Council (comprising the Chair, the President, and up to 10 other members) provides strategic advice to the National Research Council Canada President and senior management. While being mindful of the national interest and drawing upon their expert knowledge and diverse perspectives, members help shape and influence the important work of the National Research Council Canada. Specifically, Council advises on strategic directions, annual budgets, financial statements, the appointment of senior officers and stakeholder engagement as appropriate.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the National Research Council Canada's website.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on June 5, 2017, via the Governor in Council Appointments website. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet (Senior Personnel), Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the online application.

Remuneration: Nil; however, reasonable travel and other expenses incurred while absent from your ordinary place of residence in the course of your duties will be paid (statutory).

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for these positions. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous Canadians, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for one of these positions, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • A degree from a recognized university in a relevant field of study, or an acceptable combination of education, job-related training and/or experience;
  • An advanced degree in science or engineering would be considered an asset;
  • Experience in contributing to strategic planning initiatives for an organization to achieve its identified priorities, and significant experience in one or more of the following areas:
    • Conducting and publishing peer-reviewed research;
    • Conducting commercial research and development activities;
    • Leading and managing within a public or private research organization;
    • Leading and managing within organizations operating in key industrial sectors of the Canadian economy with which National Research Council Canada is engaged (e.g. agriculture, biotechnology, health, ICT, manufacturing and natural resources);
    • Leading an entrepreneurial enterprise or leading a financial management function in an innovative business; or
    • Developing and coordinating science and innovation policy advice.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Knowledge of the mandate and activities of the National Research Council Canada;
  • Knowledge of the federal government and public policy environments;
  • Knowledge of the industrial sectors with which National Research Council Canada is engaged (e.g. agriculture, biotechnology, health, ICT, manufacturing and natural resources);
  • Knowledge of corporate governance principles and best practices;
  • A broad understanding of the challenges facing Canada’s innovation system;
  • Ability to develop and maintain effective working relationships with other Council members;
  • Ability to think creatively and with a strategic vision;
  • Ability to analyze and assess strategies, plans and financial information;
  • Ability to regard sectoral or regional issues from a national perspective; and
  • Superior communication skills, both written and oral.

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages would be preferred.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • Strategic and innovative thinker
  • Leadership and sound judgment
  • Superior interpersonal skills
  • Open-mindedness and impartiality
  • High ethical standards and integrity
  • Tact and discretion

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • You must be available for approximately 15 days per year for Board meetings and related activities and travel.
  • You are willing to travel across Canada, as required.

If you are appointed to one of these positions:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment, as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and reference material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner's website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for these positions. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Apply Online

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Possibilité actuelle

Membres, Conseil national de recherches Canada,

Possibilités de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. À l'avenir, le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s'inscrit dans le droit fil de l'engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Canadiens autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l'inclusion, l'honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d'esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

Le ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique a comme objectif global d’aider les entreprises à prospérer, à innover et à exporter afin de créer des emplois et de la richesse pour les Canadiens.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour les postes suivants :

Membres (postes à temps partiel)

Conseil national de recherches Canada

Le Conseil national de recherches Canada (Conseil national de recherches du Canada) joue un rôle unique dans le système des sciences, de la technologie et de l’innovation au Canada, menant des programmes de recherche collaborative axés sur les résultats qui abordent les besoins et les possibilités du pays en matière de science et d’innovation. Le Conseil national de recherches Canada est un atout majeur pour le Canada, car il offre un réseau national d’employés spécialisés ainsi qu’un système national d’installations de recherche de pointe et de matériel connexe qui permettent d’avoir une capacité de classe mondiale en recherche appliquée et en commercialisation dans divers secteurs de la recherche et du développement technologique. Le Programme d’aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches Canada est reconnu mondialement et il appuie chaque année des milliers de petites et moyennes entreprises en leur fournissant des conseils sur l’innovation et une aide financière aux fins de commercialisation. La riche histoire du Conseil national de recherches Canada comprend les travaux de nombreux lauréats du prix Nobel et plus d’un siècle d’innombrables réussites technologiques.

Le Conseil du Conseil national de recherches Canada (qui comprend le président du conseil, le président du Conseil national de recherches Canada et jusqu’à 10 autres membres) assure une fonction consultative stratégique auprès du président et des cadres supérieurs du Conseil national de recherches Canada. Tout en tenant compte de l’intérêt national et en tirant parti de leurs connaissances spécialisées et de leurs points de vue diversifiés, les membres du conseil contribuent à façonner et à influencer les importants travaux du Conseil national de recherches Canada. Plus précisément, le conseil donne des avis sur les orientations stratégiques, les budgets annuels, les états financiers, la nomination de hauts fonctionnaires et la mobilisation des intervenants, s’il y a lieu.

Vous pourrez trouver d'autres renseignements sur l'organisme et ses activités sur le site Web du Conseil national de recherches Canada.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d'ici 23 h 59 heure de l'Est le 5 juin 2017 sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d'accompagnement devrait être adressée au Secrétaire adjoint du Cabinet (Personnel supérieur), Bureau du conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l'entremise de l'application en ligne seulement.

Rémunération : Aucune; néanmoins, vous avez droit aux frais de déplacement et autres entraînés par l’accomplissement, hors du lieu de votre résidence habituelle, des fonctions qui vous sont conférées (prévu par la loi).

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au moment de les évaluer pour ces postes. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l'un des groupes suivants : femmes, Canadiens autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour un de ces postes, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Diplôme d’une université reconnue dans un domaine d’études pertinent ou combinaison acceptable d’études et de formation ou d’expérience professionnelle ;
  • Diplôme d’études supérieures en science ou en ingénierie serait considéré comme un atout ;
  • Expérience de la contribution à des initiatives de planification stratégique pour une organisation en vue d’atteindre les priorités établies, et expérience appréciable d’au moins l’un des domaines suivants :
    • Mener et publier des recherches évaluées par des pairs ;
    • Mener des activités commerciales de recherche et développement ;
    • Diriger et gérer des activités au sein d’une organisation de recherche publique ou privée ;
    • Diriger et gérer des activités au sein d’organisations exploitées dans les principaux secteurs industriels de l’économie canadienne auxquels participe le Conseil national de recherches Canada (p. ex. l’agriculture, la biotechnologie, la santé, les technologies de l’information et des communications, la fabrication et les ressources naturelles) ;
    • Diriger une entreprise ou occuper une fonction de gestion financière au sein d’une entreprise innovatrice ; ou
    • Apporter et coordonner des conseils stratégiques en matière de science et d’innovation.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d'une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Connaissance du mandat et des activités du Conseil national de recherches Canada ;
  • Connaissances du gouvernement fédéral et des politiques publiques ;
  • Connaissance des secteurs industriels auxquels participe le Conseil national de recherches Canada (p. ex. l’agriculture, la biotechnologie, la santé, les technologies de l’information et des communications, la fabrication et les ressources naturelles) ;
  • Connaissance des principes de gouvernance et des pratiques exemplaires de l’organisation ;
  • Compréhension élargie des défis que doit relever le système d’innovation du Canada ;
  • Capacité d’établir et de maintenir des relations de travail efficaces avec les autres membres du conseil ;
  • Capacité de réfléchir de manière créative et d’avoir une vision stratégique ;
  • Capacité d’analyser et d’évaluer les stratégies, les plans et les renseignements financiers ;
  • Capacité d’envisager les problèmes sectoriels ou régionaux dans une optique nationale ; et
  • Compétences supérieures en communication, tant à l’oral qu’à l’écrit.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l'étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l'expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Pensée stratégique et innovatrice
  • Leadership et justesse de jugement
  • Aptitudes interpersonnelles supérieures
  • Ouverture d’esprit et impartialité
  • Sens de l’éthique et intégrité personnelle supérieurs
  • Tact et discretion

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • Vous devrez consacrer environ 15 jours par année à des réunions du Conseil ainsi qu’à des activités et à des voyages connexes.
  • Vous êtes disposé à vous déplacer partout au Canada, au besoin.

Si vous êtes nommé(e) à l'un de ces postes :

Vous devrez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d'éthique et d'activités politiques à l'intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d'emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique.

Un lien à cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ces postes. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.

Faire une demande d'emploi en ligne