Opportunities - Selection Processes

Current Opportunity

Directors, Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation,

Appointment Opportunities

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada's diversity. Moving forward, the Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Families, Children and Social Development is to increase Canadians' economic and social security.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following positions:

Directors (part-time positions)

Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation

Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation is a Crown corporation which reports to the Parliament of Canada through the Minister of Families, Children and Social Development. As Canada's authority on housing, we contribute to the stability of the housing market and financial system, provide support for Canadians in housing need, and offer objective housing research and advice to Canadian governments, consumers and the housing industry. Prudent risk management, strong corporate governance and transparency are cornerstones of our operations.

The Board of Directors is responsible for managing the affairs of the Corporation and the conduct of its business in accordance with the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation Act, the Financial Administration Act, and the National Housing Act. Pursuant to the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation Act, the stewardship of the Corporation is the responsibility of the Board of Directors, which is comprised of the Chairperson, the President and Chief Executive Officer; the Deputy Minister of the Minister for CMHC; the Deputy Minister of Finance; and eight other directors.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation's website.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on April 11, 2017, via the Governor in Council Appointments website. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet (Senior Personnel), Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the online application.

Per Diem: $470 - $555

Annual Retainer: $6,100 - $7,200

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for these positions. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous Canadians, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for one of these positions, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • A degree from a recognized university in a relevant field of study (a degree in commerce, accounting, law or economics, or a professional accounting designation would be considered assets), or an acceptable combination of equivalent education, job-related training and experience; and
  • Business acumen and financial knowledge and experience.

In addition, the available positions require experience in at least one of the following areas (lettered), as well as one or more of the criteria (numbered) within the area(s). Please specify which area(s) and criteria you meet in describing your qualifications.

  1. Risk Management
    1. experience in identifying the principal risks of a large financial organization, and in establishing appropriate systems to manage these risks; and/or
    2. experience at a senior level in the governance of a complex organization, including risk management, management control frameworks and financial internal controls.
  2. Leadership
    1. leadership experience in the housing sector; and/or
    2. senior executive experience in a major financial institution; and/or
    3. public policy experience in a senior role.
  3. Social/Affordable Housing
    1. experience in developing, designing and/or administering social/affordable housing programs; and/or
    2. experience in the design, management and/or operation of social/affordable housing projects.
  4. Housing Research and Housing Policy
    1. experience in designing and/or developing policies, programs and strategies to address housing needs; and/or
    2. experience in designing and/or developing policies, programs and strategies related to housing finance.
  5. Social and Applied Sciences
    1. experience in the social sciences (i.e. sociology, social work, economics, and political science); and/or
    2. experience in the applied sciences (i.e. urban planning, architecture, engineering, and construction).
  6. Information and Technology
    1. experience as a leader of a large technology transformation program; and/or
    2. experience in determining information technology strategies in order to reach corporate objectives, application development and application management and software.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Knowledge of the legislative framework, mandate and activities of CMHC as well as knowledge of the roles and responsibilities of the Board of an organization of similar size and complexity to CMHC;
  • Knowledge of sound governance principles and current best practices in corporate governance including evaluation of executive performance;
  • Ability to contribute to debate and discussions among Board members as well as to effectively understand and monitor corporate performance;
  • Ability to think at a strategic level; and
  • Superior communication skills, both written and oral, and the ability to manage communications with a variety of stakeholders.

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages would be preferred.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • High ethical standards
  • Sound judgment
  • Strong interpersonal skills
  • Discretion

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • No person shall be appointed or continue as a director from outside the federal public service if that person (statutory):
    • is a director, officer or employee of a lending institution;
    • is not a Canadian citizen or otherwise a British subject ordinarily resident in Canada; or
    • is employed in any capacity in the federal public administration or the public service of a province or holds any office or position for which a salary is payable out of public moneys, but nothing in this paragraph prohibits such a person from holding office while performing temporary services for the Government of Canada or of a province.
  • A person appointed as a director from outside the federal public administration who is a shareholder of a lending institution shall divest themselves of ownership of their shares of the lending institution within three months after the date of their appointment and afterwards shall not during their term of office have an interest or right either directly or indirectly as a shareholder in a lending institution (statutory).
  • You must be prepared to travel in Canada to meetings of the Board of Directors which normally meets five to six times a year.

If you are appointed to one of these positions:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment, as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments Web site, under Forms and Reference Material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner's website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for these positions. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Apply Online

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Fermée

Administrateurs, Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement,

Possibilités de nominations

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. À l'avenir, le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s'inscrit dans le droit fil de l'engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Canadiens autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l'inclusion, l'honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d'esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

Le principal objectif du ministre de la Famille, des Enfants et du Développement social est d'accroître la sécurité économique et sociale des Canadiens.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour les postes suivants :

Administrateurs (postes à temps partiel)

Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement

La Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement est une société d'État qui relève du Parlement du Canada, par l'intermédiaire du ministre de la Famille, des Enfants et du Développement social. En tant qu'autorité en matière d'habitation au Canada, elle contribue à la stabilité du marché de l'habitation et du système financier, elle vient en aide aux Canadiens dans le besoin et elle fournit des résultats de recherches et des conseils objectifs aux gouvernements canadiens, aux consommateurs et au secteur de l'habitation. La Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement exerce ses activités en s'appuyant sur trois principes fondamentaux : gestion prudente des risques, solide gouvernance d'entreprise et transparence.

Le Conseil d'administration est responsable de la gestion des affaires et de la conduite des activités de la Société conformément à la Loi sur la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, à la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et à la Loi nationale sur l'habitation. Aux termes de la Loi sur la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, c'est au Conseil d'administration que revient le rôle de gérance de la Société. Le Conseil se compose d'un président, du président et premier dirigeant, du sous-ministre du ministre responsable de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, du sous-ministre des Finances et de huit autres membres.

Vous pourrez trouver d'autres renseignements sur l'organisme et ses activités sur le site Web de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d'ici 23 h 59 heure de l'Est le 11 avril 2017 sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d'accompagnement devrait être adressée au Secrétaire adjoint du Cabinet (Personnel supérieur), Bureau du conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l'entremise de l'application en ligne seulement.

Taux journalier : 470 $ - 555 $

Honoraire annuel : 6 100 $ - 7 200 $

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au moment de les évaluer pour ces postes. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l'un des groupes suivants : femmes, Canadiens autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour un de ces postes, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Un diplôme d'une université reconnue dans un domaine pertinent (un diplôme en commerce, en comptabilité, en droit ou en économie ou un titre comptable professionnel serait considéré comme un atout) ou une combinaison équivalente et acceptable d'études, de formation liée à l'emploi et d'expérience ; et
  • Sens des affaires; connaissances et expérience en finances.

De plus, les postes disponibles exigent de l'expérience dans au moins un des domaines suivants (lettrés), ainsi que la satisfaction d'un ou de plusieurs des critères (numérotés) dans les domaines. Veuillez préciser, dans la description de vos qualifications, le ou les domaines dans lesquels vous avez de l'expérience ainsi que les critères auxquels vous satisfaites.

  1. Gestion des risques
    1. Expérience dans l'identification des principaux risques pour les grandes organisations financières et l'adoption de systèmes de gestion appropriés ; et/ou
    2. Expérience, à titre de dirigeant, dans la gouvernance d'organisations complexes, y compris la gestion des risques, du cadre de contrôle de gestion et des contrôles financiers internes.
  2. Direction
    1. Expérience dans un poste de direction dans le secteur de l'habitation ; et/ou
    2. Expérience comme cadre supérieur dans une grande institution financière ; et/ou
    3. Expérience de la politique publique dans un poste de haut niveau.
  3. Logement social/abordable
    1. Expérience de l'élaboration, de la conception et/ou de l'administration de programmes de logement social ou de logement abordable ; et/ou
    2. Expérience de la conception, de la gestion et/ou de l'exploitation d'ensembles de logements sociaux ou de logements abordables.
  4. Recherche sur le logement et politiques de logement
    1. Expérience de la conception et/ou de l'élaboration de politiques, de programmes et de stratégies visant à répondre aux besoins en matière de logement ; et/ou
    2. Expérience de la conception et/ou de l'élaboration de politiques, de programmes et de stratégies de financement de l'habitation.
  5. Sciences sociales et appliquées
    1. Expérience dans le domaine des sciences sociales (sociologie, travail social, économie et science politique) ; et/ou
    2. Expérience dans le domaine des sciences appliquées (urbanisme, architecture, ingénierie et construction).
  6. Information et technologie
    1. Expérience en tant que dirigeant d'un vaste programme de transformation technologique ; et/ou
    2. Expérience dans l'établissement de stratégies de technologies de l'information permettant d'atteindre les objectifs de l'entreprise, dans le développement et la gestion d'applications et de logiciels.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d'une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Connaissance du cadre législatif, du mandat et des activités de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement et connaissance des rôles et responsabilités du conseil d'administration d'une organisation dont la taille et la complexité sont semblables à celles de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement ;
  • Connaissance des principes rigoureux de gouvernance et des pratiques exemplaires actuelles en matière de gouvernance d'entreprise, y compris l'évaluation du rendement des cadres ;
  • Capacité, à titre de membre d'un conseil d'administration, de prendre part à des débats et à des discussions, ainsi que de comprendre et de surveiller efficacement le rendement global;
  • Capacité de réflexion stratégique.; et
  • Compétences supérieures en communication écrite et orale, et la capacité de gérer les communications avec divers intervenants.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles est préférable.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l'étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l'expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Normes d'éthique élevées
  • Jugement sûr
  • Solides aptitudes pour les relations interpersonnelles
  • Discrétion

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • Pour exercer la charge d'administrateur choisi à l'extérieur de l'administration publique fédérale, il faut remplir les conditions suivantes (prévu par la loi) :
    • ne pas relever d'un établissement de crédit, à titre d'administrateur, de dirigeant ou d'employé ;
    • être soit citoyen canadien, soit sujet britannique résidant habituellement au Canada ; ou
    • ne pas occuper un emploi au sein d'une administration publique, fédérale ou provinciale, ou un poste rémunéré avec des fonds publics, étant entendu que cela n'exclut pas la prestation de services temporaires au gouvernement du Canada ou d'une province.
  • L'administrateur choisi à l'extérieur de l'administration publique fédérale, qui est actionnaire d'un établissement de crédit au moment de sa nomination doit se dessaisir de ses actions dans les trois mois qui suivent; il ne peut avoir par la suite, tant que dure son mandat, de droit ou d'intérêt direct ou indirect dans un tel établissement, à titre d'actionnaire (prévu par la loi).
  • Vous devez être prêt(e) à voyager au Canada pour assister aux réunions du Conseil d'administration, qui se réunit habituellement cinq ou six fois par année.

Si vous êtes nommé(e) à l'un de ces postes :

Vous devrez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d'éthique et d'activités politiques à l'intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d'emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous Formulaires et documents de référence.

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique.

Un lien à cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ces postes. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.