Opportunities - Selection Processes

Current Opportunity

Commissioner, North Pacific Anadromous Fish Commission,

Appointment Opportunities

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada’s diversity. The Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous peoples and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard is to protect our three oceans, coasts, waterways and fisheries and ensure that they remain healthy for future generations.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following positions:

Commissioner (part-time positions)

North Pacific Anadromous Fish Commission

The North Pacific Anadromous Fish Commission is an international inter-governmental organization established by the Convention for the Conservation of Anadromous Stocks in the North Pacific Ocean. The Convention was signed on February 11, 1992, and took effect on February 16, 1993. The member countries are Canada, Japan, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, and United States of America.

With the primary objective of promoting the conservation of anadromous stocks in the Convention Area, the North Pacific Anadromous Fish Commission provides a framework for international cooperation on the scientific research of anadromous species and enforcement of fisheries regulations, The Convention prohibits directed fishing for anadromous fish in the Convention Area (except for the purposes of North Pacific Anadromous Fish Commission approved scientific research programs), includes measures to reduce incidental catch of anadromous fish in other high seas fisheries, and prohibits the retention of these species on board fishing vessels in the Convention Area.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the North Pacific Anadromous Fish Commission's website.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on November 30, 2017, via the Governor in Council Appointments website.Your cover letter should be addressed to the Deputy Director of Selection Processes, Senior Personnel Secretariat, Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the online application.

Per diem: $200 - $250, plus travel and living expenses in accordance with Treasury Board guidelines

Position Location: Vancouver, British Columbia

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for these positions. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous peoples, disabled persons, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for one of these positions, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • A degree from a recognized university, or an acceptable combination of equivalent education, training and job-related experience.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Knowledge of the Canadian Pacific salmon fishery, including demonstrated familiarity of:
    • The management structure of the Canadian salmon fishery;
    • The intersect / crossover between science and fisheries management as well as key issues that may arise as part of negotiations; and
    • The interests of Canadian harvesters and how those interests play out both domestically and internationally.
  • Demonstrated skills in diplomacy (e.g., respect for the interests and views of others);
  • Ability to represent, broadly, the interests of Canada with respect to the salmon fishery;
  • Ability to communicate effectively, both orally and in writing;
  • Ability to develop and maintain effective working relationships; and
  • Demonstrated ability to compromise to seek common solutions to complex issues.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • High ethical standards and integrity
  • Sound judgment
  • Impartiality
  • Tact
  • Discretion

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • Comissioners must be willing and able to travel across Canada/internationally.

If you are appointed to one of these positions:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment, as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and Reference Material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner's website.

This notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for these positions. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Apply Online

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Possibilité actuelle

Commissaire, Commission des poissons anadromes du Pacifique-Nord,

Possibilités de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui cherche à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l'inclusion, l'honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d'esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

Le principal objectif du ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne est de protéger nos trois océans, nos côtes, nos voies maritimes ainsi que nos pêches afin d'en assurer la vitalité pour les générations futures.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour les postes suivants :

Commissaire (postes à temps partiel)

Commission des poissons anadromes du Pacifique-Nord

La Commission des poissons anadromes du Pacifique-Nord est une organisation internationale intergouvernementale créée par la Convention pour la conservation des stocks du saumon du pacifique et de la truite arc-en-ciel dans l'océan Pacifique-Nord. La Convention a été signée le 11 février 1992 et est entrée en vigueur le 16 février 1993. Les pays qui en font partie sont le Canada, le Japon, la République de la Corée, la Russie et les États-Unis d'Amérique.

Ayant comme objectif principal la promotion de la conservation des stocks des poissons anadromes dans la zone de la Convention, la Commission des poissons anadromes du Pacifique-Nord établit un cadre pour la coopération internationale autour de la recherche scientifique sur les espèces anadromes et pour la mise en application de la réglementation sur les pêches. La Convention interdit la pêche sélective de poissons anadromes dans la zone de la Convention (sauf pour les fins de recherche scientifique tel qu’approuvé par la Commission des poissons anadromes du Pacifique-Nord), prévoit des mesures visant à réduire la capture accidentelle de poissons anadromes en haute mer, et interdit de garder ces espèces sur les bateaux de pêches dans la zone de la Convention.

Vous pourrez trouver d'autres renseignements sur l'organisation et ses activités sur le site Web de la Commission des poissons anadromes du Pacifique-Nord.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d'ici 23 h 59 heure de l'Est le 30 novembre 2017 sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d’accompagnement devrait être adressée à la Directrice adjointe des processus de sélection, Secrétariat du personnel supérieur, Bureau du Conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l'entremise de l'application en ligne seulement.

Indemnité quotidienne : entre 200 $ et 250 $, en plus des frais de déplacement et de subsistance, conformément aux lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor

Lieu du poste : Vancouver; Colombie-Britannique

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au moment de les évaluer pour ces postes. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l'un des groupes suivants : femmes, Autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour un de ces postes, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Diplôme d'une université reconnue ou une combinaison acceptable d'études équivalentes, de formation ou d'expérience liée au poste.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d'une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, habiletés et capacités

  • Connaissance de la pêche du saumon du Pacifique canadien, et une démonstration d'une bonne connaissance des éléments suivants :
    • la structure de gestion de la pêche canadienne du saumon ;
    • la convergence de la science et de la gestion des pêches ainsi que les questions clés qui peuvent surgir dans le cadre des négociations ; et
    • les intérêts des pêcheurs canadiens et la façon dont ces intérêts se jouent au pays et à l'étranger.
  • Compétences démontrées en matière de diplomatie (p. ex., respect des intérêts et opinions des autres).
  • Capacité de représenter, de manière générale, les intérêts du Canada concernant l'industrie de la pêche au saumon.
  • Capacité de communiquer efficacement, à l’oral et à l’écrit.
  • Capacité d'établir et d'entretenir des relations de travail efficaces ; et
  • Aptitude manifeste à faire des compromis pour trouver des solutions communes à des questions complexes.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l'étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l'expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Normes d'éthique rigoureuses et intégrité
  • Jugement sûr
  • Impartialité
  • Tact
  • Discrétion

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Dans votre demande, il est important de confirmer que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • Les commissaires doivent être disposés et aptes à voyager dans l'ensemble du Canada et à l'étranger.

Si vous êtes nommé à un de ces postes :

Vous devez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d'éthique et d'activités politiques à l'intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d'emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique.

Cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ces postes. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.

Faire une demande d'emploi en ligne