Opportunities - Selection Processes

Closed

Director, Canada Development Investment Corporation,

Appointment opportunities

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada's diversity. Moving forward, the Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Finance is to use the fiscal and budgeting tools at the government’s disposal to implement its New Plan for a Strong Middle Class.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following positions:

Director (part-time positions)

Canada Development Investment Corporation

Canada Development Investment Corporation is a federal Crown corporation that provides a commercial vehicle for Government of Canada equity investment and to manage commercial holdings of the Government of Canada. Canada Development Investment Corporation’s primary objective is to carry out its activities in the best interests of Canada, operating in a commercial manner. The Corporation reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

In addition to certain activities of its own, Canada Development Investment Corporation has three wholly-owned subsidiaries: Canada Hibernia Holding Corporation, Canada Eldor Incorporated, and Canada GEN Investment Corporation. Canada Hibernia Holding Corporation owns and manages a working interest in the existing Hibernia offshore oil development project. Canada Eldor Incorporated has no operations, but has responsibility for servicing liabilities, chiefly arising from the 1988 agreement of purchase and sale with Cameco Inc. GEN was incorporated in 2009 and held interests in General Motors Company that it acquired pursuant to a government directive and which have now been sold.

Canada Development Investment Corporation’s Board of Directors is composed of 6 appointed members, in addition to the Chair and the President (if any). The Board is responsible for the stewardship of Canada Development Investment Corporation and oversees its business and affairs, as well as ensuring that Canada Development Investment Corporation’s assets and liabilities are managed in a cost effective manner until such time as they are divested or transferred to the government.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the Canada Development Investment Corporation's website.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on April 19, 2017, via the Governor in Council Appointments website. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet (Senior Personnel), Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the online application.

Per diem: $450 - $600

Annual Retainer: $6,600 - $8,000

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for these positions. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous Canadians, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities.

The Canada Development Investment Corporation also believes that representation on its board of directors from different geographical regions of Canada is important and preference may be given to candidates who bring geographic diversity to the Board.

To be considered for one of these positions, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • A degree from a recognized university, Community College or other post-secondary institution in a relevant field of study or an acceptable combination of education, job-related training and/or experience;
  • Experience in making important decisions or providing recommendations regarding important decisions which have financial and public policy implications;
  • Experience as a director in other medium or large corporations including(service on audit committees would be considered an asset);
  • Professional accounting or finance accreditation would be considered an asset;
  • Experience in risk assessment and management;
  • Experience dealing with businesses in a wide range of industries and activities (in particular, experience in the natural resources and/or infrastructure sectors would be considered an asset); and
  • Experience in any of the following would be considered an asset:
    • Experience dealing with central government ministries, preferably senior government officials;
    • Experience with human resources matters;
    • Experience in mergers and acquisitions, including privatization transactions; and
    • Experience in dealing with First Nations issues in commercial transactions.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Knowledge of the mandate and activities of Canada Development Investment Corporation;
  • Knowledge of corporate governance principles and best practices;
  • Financially literate: must be able to read, understand and analyze financial statements;
  • Informed judgment: the ability to provide wise counsel and consider strategic impact and relevant stakeholder perspectives;
  • Ability to quickly grasp complex business issues;
  • Sound policy and financial judgment;
  • A record of responsibility and accountability, dedication and loyalty;
  • Strong communication skills and ability to work in a collegial fashion, respecting the differing views of others and the ability to appropriately influence others in order to have a specific impact or effect; and
  • Commitment to the Canadian public interest and to self-improvement and growth as a director.

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages would be preferred.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • Strategic thinking
  • Sound judgment
  • High ethical standards, integrity and accountability
  • Superior interpersonal skills
  • Tact and diplomacy

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • As a Governor in Council appointee, Canada Development Investment Corporation directors are subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. Canada Development Investment Corporation directors are also subject to the conflict of interest provisions in the Financial Administration Act and the Canada Business Corporations Act as well as those in Canada Development Investment Corporation’s by laws. Canada Development Investment Corporation’s board is also subject to a Canada Development Investment Corporation -specific Director Code of Conduct, including conflict of interest guidelines. These statutes and the Canada Development Investment Corporation Director Code of Conduct will not necessarily prevent a person with a conflicting interest from becoming a board member, but will limit the ability of that individual to participate in a decision of the Board on certain matters in which that director has a conflicting interest.
  • Typically, directors can expect to spend 10 to 12 days per year at in person Board meetings plus occasional conference call board meetings. Full board meetings typically require two full days and additional travel and preparation time. Most board members serve on one or more committees of Canada Development Investment Corporation and on the boards and committees of one or more of its subsidiaries. The successful candidate must be willing to travel across Canada to participate in these meetings in person.
  • No officer or employee of the Canada Development Investment Corporation or any of its affiliates, other than the chief executive officer, shall be a director of the Canada Development Investment Corporation (statutory).

If you are appointed to one of these positions:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment, as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments Web site, under Forms and Reference Material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner's website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for these positions. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Fermée

Administrateur, Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada,

Possibilités de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. À l'avenir, le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s'inscrit dans le droit fil de l'engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Canadiens autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l'inclusion, l'honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d'esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

L’objectif primordial du ministre des Finances consiste à utiliser les outils fiscaux et budgétaires dont le gouvernement dispose pour mettre en œuvre le nouveau plan pour une classe moyenne forte.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour les postes suivants :

Administrateur (postes à temps partiel)

Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada

La Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada est une société de la Couronne fédérale qui fournit un organe commercial aux placements en titres de participation du gouvernement du Canada et qui gère le portefeuille commercial de ce dernier. La Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada a pour principal objectif d’exercer ses activités dans l’intérêt du Canada, dans une perspective commerciale. La corporation fait rapport au Parlement par l’intermédiaire du ministre des Finances.

Outre certaines activités qui lui sont propres, la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada possède trois filiales entièrement détenues, soit la Société de gestion Canada Hibernia, Canada Eldor Incorporé et la Corporation d’investissement GEN du Canada. La Société de gestion Canada Hibernia détient et gère une participation directe dans le projet extracôtier existant de mise en valeur du pétrole Hibernia. Canada Eldor Incorporé n’exerce aucune activité, mais elle est responsable de la prise en charge des obligations découlant principalement de l'accord d’achat et de vente de 1988 conclu avec Cameco Incorporé. GEN a été constituée en 2009 et détient une participation dans General Motors Company qu’elle a acquise par suite d’une directive gouvernementale et qui a été vendue depuis.

Le conseil d’administration de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada se compose de six membres nommés, en plus du président du conseil et du président (le cas échéant). Le conseil d’administration est responsable de la gestion de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada et il supervise les activités et les affaires de celle-ci et il s’assure que les actifs et les passifs de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada sont gérés de manière rentable jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient dessaisis ou transférés au gouvernement.

Vous pourrez trouver d'autres renseignements sur l'organisme et ses activités sur le site Web de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d'ici 23 h 59 heure de l'Est le 19 avril 2017 sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d'accompagnement devrait être adressée au Secrétaire adjoint du Cabinet (Personnel supérieur), Bureau du conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l'entremise de l'application en ligne seulement.

Taux journalier : 450 $ - 600 $

Honoraire annuel : 6 600 $ - 8 000 $

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité au moment d’évaluer les candidats pour ces postes. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l'un des groupes suivants : femmes, Canadiens autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

La Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada croit par ailleurs qu’une représentation à son conseil d’administration provenant de diverses régions du Canada revêt de l’importance et une préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats renforçant la diversité géographique du conseil d’administration.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour un de ces postes, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Diplôme d’un établissement reconnu (université, collège communautaire ou autre établissement postsecondaire) dans un domaine pertinent ou bien combinaison acceptable d’études, de formations ou d’expériences reliées au poste ;
  • Expérience de la prise de décisions importantes ou de la formulation de recommandations concernant des décisions importantes comportant des conséquences de nature financière ou sur les politiques publiques ;
  • Expérience en tant qu’administrateur d’autres moyennes ou grandes entreprises (expérience comme membre de comités d’audit serait considéré comme un atout) ;
  • Une accréditation professionnelle en comptabilité ou en finance serait considérée comme un atout ;
  • Expérience dans l’évaluation et la gestion de risque ;
  • Expérience des relations avec des entreprises de divers secteurs d’activités ou domaines (plus particulièrement, une expérience des secteurs des ressources naturelles et/ou des infrastructures serait considérée comme un atout) ; et
  • Expérience dans un des domaines suivants serait considérée comme un atout :
    • Une expérience des relations avec des ministères de gouvernements centraux, préférablement avec des hauts fonctionnaires de l’État ;
    • Une expérience des enjeux liés aux ressources humaines ;
    • Une expérience des fusions et acquisitions, notamment des transactions de privatisation ; et
    • Une expérience des questions visant les Premières Nations dans le cadre de transactions commerciales.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d'une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Connaissance du mandat et des activités de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada ;
  • Connaissance des principes et bonnes pratiques de gouvernance d’entreprise ;
  • Connaissances dans le domaine financier : être capable de lire, de comprendre et d’analyser des états financiers ;
  • Jugement éclairé : être en mesure de fournir des conseils judicieux et de prendre en compte les conséquences stratégiques et les points de vue des partenaires ;
  • Capacité à cerner rapidement des enjeux économiques complexes ;
  • Bon jugement en ce qui a trait aux questions liées aux politiques et à la finance ;
  • Sens avéré de la responsabilité et de la reddition de comptes; dévouement et loyauté ;
  • Excellentes compétences en communication et capacité à travailler de façon collégiale en étant ouvert aux visées divergentes des différentes parties intéressées et capacité d’influencer les autres dans le but de produire un impact ou un effet donné ; et
  • Engagement envers l’intérêt des Canadiens et volonté d'amélioration personnelle et d'épanouissement en tant qu’administrateur.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l'étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l'expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Esprit stratégique
  • Jugement éprouvé
  • Sens de l’éthique développé et intégrité
  • Excellentes compétences interpersonnelles
  • Tact et diplomatie

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • À titre de personnes nommées par le gouverneur en conseil, les administrateurs de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada sont assujettis à la Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts. Les administrateurs de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada sont également assujettis aux dispositions visant les conflits d’intérêts de la Loi sur l’administration financière et de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions, ainsi que de celles figurant dans les règlements de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada. Les membres du conseil d’administration de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada sont également assujettis au Code de conduite des administrateurs propre à la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada, y compris les lignes directrices en matière de conflits d’intérêts. Ces statuts et le code de conduite des administrateurs de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada n’empêcheront pas nécessairement une personne se trouvant en situation de conflit d’intérêts de devenir un membre du conseil d’administration, mais limiteront la capacité de cette personne de participer aux décisions du conseil d’administration qui touchent les questions plaçant l’administrateur en situation de conflit d’intérêts.
  • De façon générale, les administrateurs doivent consacrer de 10 à 12 jours par année à des réunions auxquelles ils doivent assister en personne et être disponibles à l’occasion pour assister à des réunions du conseil par téléconférence. Les réunions régulières du conseil se déroulent pendant deux journées complètes auxquelles s’ajoute le temps de déplacement et de préparation. La plupart des membres du conseil siègent à au moins un comité de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada ainsi qu’aux conseils d’administration et aux comités d’au moins une de ses filiales. Les candidats choisis doivent accepter de voyager partout au Canada pour assister en personne à ces réunions.
  • Les dirigeants et les salariés de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada ou d’une personne morale de son groupe ne peuvent être des administrateurs de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada, exception faite du premier dirigeant de celle-ci.

Si vous êtes nommé(e) à l'un de ces postes :

Vous devrez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d'éthique et d'activités politiques à l'intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d'emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique.

Un lien à cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ces postes. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.