Opportunities - Selection Processes

Closed

Assistant Deputy Chairperson and Member, Immigration and Refugee Board,

Appointment Opportunities

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada's diversity. Moving forward, the Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship is to continue welcoming those who want to contribute to our country's success.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following positions:

Assistant Deputy Chairperson (full-time positions)

Immigration and Refugee Board

The Immigration and Refugee Board is an independent administrative tribunal. The Board hears refugee protection claims, and immigration and refugee appeals ; holds admissibility hearings; and conducts detention reviews.

As independent single decision-makers, Immigration Appeal Division and Refugee Appeal Division Members review extensive documents ; conduct proceedings, including hearings; and render decisions on immigration and refugee appeals.

The Assistant Deputy Chairperson is both a Member and the senior decision-maker within the regional office of a Division. The Assistant Deputy Chairperson manages the work of the Division, including the work and performance of Members, while respecting their independence in decision-making. The Assistant Deputy Chairperson is responsible for administering an adjudicative system that has as its hallmarks quality, efficiency, consistency, transparency, and accessibility to citizens, permanent residents, and refugee claimants. As the senior decision-maker, the Assistant Deputy Chairperson leads by example in the adjudication of appeals. The Assistant Deputy Chairperson is responsible for efficient case management in the Division, and works collaboratively with the Registrar to ensure that the Division manages its caseload simply, quickly, and fairly by assigning resources and effort in proportion to the complexity of the case.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the Immigration and Refugee Board's website.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on April 12, 2017, via the Governor in Council Appointments website. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet (Senior Personnel), Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the online application.

Salary Range: $124,300 - $146,200 (GCQ-4)

Position Locations: Ottawa, Ontario; Montreal, Quebec; and Toronto, Ontario

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for these positions. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous Canadians, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for one of these positions, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • A degree from a recognized university, or an acceptable combination of relevant education, job-related training, and/or experience;
  • Recent experience in the interpretation or application of legislation and regulations, and in gathering and assessing complex information in order to prepare written decisions;
  • Computer skills, specifically in the use of word processing software;
  • Experience in managing at the executive level in a private or public sector organization, including managing human resources, would be considered an asset;
  • Experience as a decision-maker in an adjudicative tribunal would be considered an asset; and
  • Experience in applying the provisions of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act in matters determined by either the Immigration Appeal Division or the Refugee Appeal Division, or in the application of the United Nations Convention relating to the Status of Refugees would be considered an asset.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Knowledge of the role and mandate of the Board;
  • Knowledge of the legal and administrative principles that guide the management of an independent adjudicative tribunal and its Members;
  • Knowledge of the principles of case management in an adjudicative tribunal;
  • Superior interpersonal and communication abilities;
  • Ability to sustain a high level of functioning; and
  • Time management skills.

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages would be preferred. Some positions require fluency in English or French, and some positions require proficiency in both English and French.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • High ethical standards
  • Impartiality
  • Sound judgment
  • Tact and discretion
  • Sensitivity to multicultural and gender issues

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • You may not accept or hold any office or employment or carry on any activity inconsistent with your duties and functions under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (statutory).
  • You must devote the whole of your time to the performance of your duties under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (statutory).
  • You reside in or are willing to relocate to Ottawa, Montreal or Toronto, or to a location within reasonable commuting distance.
  • You are willing to travel across Canada.

If you are appointed to one of these positions:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and reference material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. Public office holders appointed on a full-time basis must submit to the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, within 60 days of appointment, a confidential report in which they disclose all of their assets, liabilities and outside activities. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner's website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for these positions. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities. Qualified candidates will be eligible for appointment for a period of two years from the date they are notified in writing.

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Fermée

Vice-président adjoint et commissaire, Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié,

Possibilités de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. À l'avenir, le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s'inscrit dans le droit fil de l'engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Canadiens autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l'inclusion, l'honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d'esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

L'objectif global du ministre de l'Immigration, des Réfugiés et de la Citoyenneté consiste à continuer d'accueillir ceux et celles qui veulent contribuer au succès de notre pays.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour les postes suivants :

Vice-président(e) adjoint(e) (postes à temps plein)

Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié

La Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada est un tribunal administratif indépendant. La Commission procède à l'instruction des demandes d'asile et des appels en matière de réfugié et d'immigration, et elle effectue des enquêtes et des contrôles des motifs de détention.

En qualité de décideurs indépendants, les commissaires de la Section d'appel de l'immigration et de la Section d'appel des réfugiés passent en revue un très grand nombre de documents, mènent des procédures y compris des audiences, et rendent des décisions sur les cas d'appels en matière d'immigration et d'asile.

Le vice-président adjoint est à la fois un commissaire et le décideur principal au sein du bureau régional d'une section. Il gère le travail de la section, notamment le travail et le rendement des commissaires, tout en respectant l'indépendance décisionnelle de ces derniers. Il administre un système décisionnel qui a ses propres exigences en matière de qualité, d'efficacité, d'uniformité, de transparence et d'accessibilité aux citoyens, aux résidents permanents et aux demandeurs d'asile. À titre de décideur principal, le vice-président adjoint dirige par l'exemple l'instruction des appels. Il assure la gestion efficace des cas de la section et travaille en collaboration avec le greffier pour veiller à ce que la section gère sa charge de travail de manière simple, rapide et équitable, en attribuant les ressources et les tâches en fonction de la complexité des cas.

Vous pourrez trouver d'autres renseignements sur l'organis me et ses activités sur le site Web de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d'ici 23 h 59 heure de l'Est le 12 avril 2017 sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d’accompagnement devrait être adressée au Secrétaire adjoint du Cabinet (Personnel supérieur), Bureau du conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l’entremise de l’application en ligne seulement.

Échelle salariale : de 124 300 $ à 146 200 $ (GCQ-4)

Lieux de travail : Ottawa (Ontario), Montréal (Québec), et Toronto (Ontario)

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au moment de les évaluer pour ces postes. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l'un des groupes suivants : femmes, Canadiens autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour un de ces postes, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Un diplôme d'une université reconnue, ou une combinaison acceptable d'études, de formation et/ou d'expérience liée aux fonctions du poste ;
  • Expérience récente dans l'interprétation ou dans l'application des lois et des règlements, ainsi que dans la collecte d'information complexe afin de préparer des décisions écrites ;
  • Compétences en informatique, plus particulièrement, dans utilisation des logiciels de traitement de texte ;
  • Expérience de la gestion au niveau de la direction d'une organisation du secteur public ou privé, notamment de la gestion de ressources humaines, serait considérée comme un atout ;
  • Expérience à titre de décideur au sein d'un tribunal administratif serait considérée comme un atout ; et
  • Expérience de l'application des dispositions de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés dans des affaires qui relèvent de la Section d'appel de l'immigration ou de la Section d'appel des réfugiés, ou de l'application de la Convention des Nations Unies relative au statut des réfugiés seraient considérées comme un atout.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d'une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Connaissance du rôle et du mandat de la Commission ;
  • Connaissance des principes juridiques et administratifs qui orientent la gestion d'un tribunal administratif indépendant et de ses commissaires ;
  • Connaissance des principes liés à la gestion des cas au sein d'un tribunal administratif ;
  • Excellentes habiletés en relations interpersonnelles et en communication ;
  • Capacité de maintenir un haut niveau de fonctionnement ; et
  • Compétences en gestion du temps.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable. Certains postes exigent une aisance à s'exprimer en français ou en anglais, et certains postes exigent des compétences en français et en anglais.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l'étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l'expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Normes éthiques élevées et intégrité
  • Impartialité
  • Jugement sûr
  • Tact et discrétion
  • Sensibilité aux questions multiculturelles et de genre

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • Vous ne détenez ni n'acceptez de charge ou d'emploi — ni n'exercez d'activité — incompatibles avec vos fonctions, telles que définies dans la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (prévu par la loi).
  • Si vous êtes nommé(e) à temps plein, vous devez vous consacrer exclusivement à l'exécution des fonctions qui vous sont conférées par la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (prévu par la loi).
  • Vous devez résider ou êtes disposé(e) à déménager à Ottawa, Montréal ou Toronto, ou dans un endroit situé à une distance raisonnable du lieu de travail.
  • Vous devez être disposé(e) à voyager partout au Canada.

Si vous êtes nommé(e) au poste :

Vous devrez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d’éthique et d’activités politiques à l’intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d’emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Les titulaires de charge publique nommés à temps plein doivent soumettre au Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique, dans les 60 jours qui suivent la date de leur nomination, un rapport confidentiel dans lequel ils déclarent leurs biens et exigibilités ainsi que leurs activités extérieures. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique.

Un lien à cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ce poste. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.