Opportunities - Selection Processes

Current Opportunity

President, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation,

Appointment Opportunity

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada's diversity. Moving forward, the Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Canadian Heritage is to implement the government’s plan to strengthen our cultural and creative industries.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in this position:

President (full-time position)

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation

The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC/Radio-Canada) is Canada’s national public broadcaster and one of its largest cultural institutions. The mandate of CBC/Radio-Canada is to inform, enlighten and entertain; to contribute to the development of a shared national consciousness and identity; to reflect the regional and cultural diversity of Canada; to offer local, national and international information and analysis from a Canadian point of view; and to contribute to the development of Canadian talent and culture. To achieve its mandate, the CBC/Radio-Canada produces, procures, and distributes Canadian programming in English, French and eight Indigenous languages and broadcasts a selection of programs around the world.

CBC/Radio-Canada is transforming the way it engages with Canadians in a rapidly changing environment by making the public broadcaster more local, more digital, and more ambitious in its Canadian programming. CBC/Radio-Canada will double its digital reach by 2020 so that 18 million Canadians, one out of two, will be using its digital services each month. This goal will be achieved, in part, through a digital-first approach to the delivery of local news and information.

As Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the CBC/Radio-Canada, the President will lead the CBC/Radio-Canada in a rapidly changing environment, focus on its public mandate and ensure that it remains relevant to the next generation of Canadians and creators. The President is responsible for the overall direction and management of the corporation and is accountable to the Board of Directors for the efficient operation of the corporation in accordance with the priorities established by the Board and the governance principles of CBC/Radio-Canada. The President is accountable to Canadians for providing a high level of public service from coast to coast to coast. The President is responsible for ensuring that the corporation is nimble, innovative, and plays a vital role in Canadian democracy as a trusted provider of news and information.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the CBC/Radio-Canada's website.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on August 15, 2017, via the Governor in Council Appointments website. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet (Senior Personnel), Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the on-line application.

Salary Range: $371,200 - $436,700 (CEO 7)

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for this position. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous Canadians, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for this position, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • A degree from a recognized university in a relevant field of study or an acceptable combination of equivalent education, job-related training and/or experience;
  • Management experience at the senior executive level, involving the development and implementation of strategic initiatives, ideally acquired within a major private or public sector organization;
  • Experience in strategic management, organizational change and management techniques which promote good governance and improve organization performance;
  • Experience in serving on a board of a major private or public sector organization;
  • Management experience in a unionized environment;
  • Experience in the cultural sector, or the field of broadcasting, journalism, media, or production, information technology or multimedia; or experience in the fields of government affairs or public affairs;
  • Experience in the broadcasting industry or other cultural or digital media industries would be considered an asset; and
  • Experience in dealing with the federal government, preferably with senior government officials, would be considered an asset.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Knowledge of the mandate and activities of CBC/Radio-Canada as well as the legislative framework within which it operates;
  • Financial literacy and knowledge of sound governance and management principles and practices, monitoring and evaluation of performance;
  • Knowledge and understanding of Canada’s economic, cultural and social fabric, the role of CBC/Radio-Canada as the national public broadcaster, and its financial and other accountabilities as a crown corporation;
  • Knowledge and understanding of the Francophone, Anglophone and Indigenous cultures in Canada, and of regional realities in different parts of the country;
  • Excellent understanding of international, social and economic trends; the evolution in the consumption of information and entertainment by diverse audiences; technological evolution related to digital; the supporting environment of national creative content; and how all of these relate to and impact the CBC/Radio-Canada and its digital future;
  • Knowledge of the media environment and the emerging trends in broadcasting, as well as the challenges linked to increasing competition and technological changes within the industry;
  • Superior communication skills, both oral and written, and the ability to manage communications with a variety of stakeholders;
  • Superior ability to lead and manage the Corporation in carrying out its mandate in accordance with the Broadcasting Act and the parameters established by the Board;
  • Ability to provide the corporate vision, realize its strategic direction and define its long-range priorities and strategies;
  • Ability to lead and motivate the CBC/Radio-Canada employees and mobilize their energies and talents towards shared goals;
  • Ability to position the organization to ensure that it meets the rapidly evolving broadcasting environment in a digital world and the changing needs of audiences; and
  • Ability to develop, maintain and manage relationships with the Board of Directors, CBC/Radio-Canada partners including creators, government organizations, and stakeholders to establish effective relationships and networks to support creative and innovative partnerships and programming.

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages is essential.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • Strategic and innovative leader
  • High ethical standards and integrity
  • Tact and diplomacy
  • Sound judgment
  • Superior interpersonal skills
  • Collegiality

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • A person is not eligible to be appointed as Director if the person is not a Canadian citizen who is ordinarily resident in Canada or if, directly or indirectly, as owner, shareholder, director, officer, partner or otherwise, the person:
    1. is engaged in the operation of a broadcasting undertaking;
    2. has any pecuniary or proprietary interest in a broadcasting undertaking; or
    3. is principally engaged in the production or distribution of program material that is primarily intended for use by a broadcasting undertaking (statutory).
  • The Board of Directors meets at least six times per year in person and at least twice per year by telephone or videoconference. Meetings are held alternatively in Ottawa, Montreal and Toronto, as well once annually elsewhere in Canada in conjunction with the Annual Public Meeting.
  • Additional meetings by telephone or video conference may also be held during the year.
  • CBC/Radio-Canada headquarters are located in Ottawa. The President and CEO will be called to travel to several locations across Canada and more particularly to Montreal and Toronto on a regular basis, where the Corporation also has offices. The President and CEO has the option of residing in Ottawa, Montreal or Toronto.

If you are appointed to this position:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment, as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and reference material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner’s website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for this position. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Apply Online

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Possibilité actuelle

Président-directeur général, Société Radio-Canada,

Possibilité de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. À l’avenir, le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s’inscrit dans le droit fil de l'engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Canadiens autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l’inclusion, l’honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d’esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

L’objectif primordial de la ministre du Patrimoine canadien est d’exécuter le plan du gouvernement de renforcer nos industries de la culture et de la création.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour le poste suivant :

Président-directeur général (poste à temps plein)

Société Radio-Canada

La Société Radio-Canada (CBC/Radio-Canada) est le diffuseur public national du Canada et l’une des plus grandes institutions culturelles du pays. CBC/Radio-Canada a pour mandat de renseigner, d’éclairer et de diverter; de contribuer au partage d’une conscience et d’une identité nationales; de traduire la diversité régionale et culturelle du Canada; d’offrir, d’un point de vue canadien, de l’information et une analyse locales, nationales et internationales; et de contribuer au développement du talent et de la culture au Canada. Pour réaliser ce mandat, CBC/Radio-Canada produit, acquiert et distribue une programmation canadienne en français, en anglais et en huit langues autochtones, et distribue une sélection d’émissions dans le monde.

CBC/Radio-Canada transforme sa façon d’engager la conversation avec les Canadiens dans un monde qui ne cesse d’évoluer, en rendant le diffuseur public plus local, plus numérique et plus ambitieux dans sa programmation canadienne. CBC/Radio-Canada doublera sa portée numérique d’ici 2020 de sorte que 18 millions de Canadiens – soit un sur deux – utiliseront ses services numériques chaque mois. Cet objectif sera atteint, en partie, avec une approche numérique de base pour la diffusion de nouvelles et d’informations locales.

Le président-directeur général (PDG) de CBC/Radio-Canada mènera la Société dans un environnement qui évolue rapidement, se concentrant sur son mandat public et veillant à ce qu’il demeure pertinent pour la prochaine génération de Canadiens et de créateurs. Le président-directeur général est responsable de l’orientation et de la gestion globale de la Société. Il doit rendre des comptes au Conseil d’administration sur l’efficacité opérationnelle de la Société conformément aux priorités établies par le Conseil et les principes de gouvernance de CBC/Radio-Canada. Le président-directeur générale doit rendre compte aux Canadiens de s’assurer de fournir un haut niveau de service public d’un océan à l’autre. Le président-directeur général est responsable de s’assurer que la Société est agile, innovatrice, et joue un rôle important dans la démocratie canadienne en tant que fournisseur digne de confiance de nouvelles et d’informations.

Vous pourrez trouver d’autres renseignements sur l’organisation et ses activités sur le site Web de CBC/Radio-Canada.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d’ici 23 h 59 heure de l’Est le 15 août 2017 sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d’accompagnement doit être adressée au Secrétaire adjoint du Cabinet (personnel supérieur), Bureau du Conseil privé, et doit être envoyée en ligne seulement.

Échelle salariale : 371 200 $ - 436 700 $ (CEO 7)

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au moment de les évaluer pour ce poste. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l’un des groupes suivants : femmes, Canadiens autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour ce poste, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Diplôme d’une université reconnue dans un domaine d’études pertinent, ou combinaison acceptable d’études, de formation et/ou d’expérience équivalentes ;
  • Expérience de la haute direction, notamment en ce qui a trait à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre d’initiatives stratégiques, idéalement dans une grande entreprise du secteur public ou privé ;
  • Expérience de la gestion stratégique, du changement organisationnel et des techniques de gestion fondées sur la bonne gouvernance et l’amélioration du rendement de l’entreprise ;
  • Expérience acquise en occupant une charge au sein du conseil d’administration d’une importante société publique ou privée ;
  • Expérience de la gestion dans un milieu de travail syndiqué ;
  • Expérience du milieu culturel ou de la radiodiffusion, du journalisme, des médias ou de la production, des technologies de l’information ou du multimédia, ou expérience des affaires gouvernementales ou des affaires publiques ;
  • Expérience de l’industrie de la radiodiffusion, de la culture ou des médias numériques serait considérée comme un atout ; et
  • Expérience des relations avec le gouvernement fédéral, de préférence avec des hauts fonctionnaires serait considérée comme un atout.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d’une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Connaissance du mandat et des activités de la Société Radio-Canada (CBC/Radio-Canada) ainsi que du cadre législatif dans lequel la Société évolue ;
  • Connaissance du domaine financier et des saines pratiques de gouvernance et de gestion, du contrôle et de l’évaluation du rendement ;
  • Connaissance et compréhension de la structure économique, culturelle et sociale du Canada, du rôle de CBC/Radio-Canada comme diffuseur public national, et de ses responsabilités financières et autres en tant que société d’État ;
  • Connaissance et compréhension des cultures francophone, anglophone et autochtones du Canada, et de réalités régionales de différentes parties du pays ;
  • Excellente compréhension des tendances internationales, sociales et économiques ; de l’évolution de la consommation de contenus d’information et de divertissement par divers auditoires ; de l’évolution technologique liée au numérique ; du milieu de la création au Canada ; et de l’incidence de tous ces éléments sur CBC/Radio-Canada et son avenir dans le numérique ;
  • Connaissance du monde des médias et des nouvelles tendances en matière de radiodiffusion, ainsi que des défis qu’engendrent la concurrence de plus en plus forte et les changements technologiques dans l’industrie ;
  • Excellente compétences en matière de communication, à l’oral et à l’écrit, et la capacité de gérer les communications avec divers intervenants ;
  • Capacité supérieure de diriger et de gérer la Société pour qu’elle s’acquitte de son mandat conformément à la Loi sur la radiodiffusion et aux paramètres établis par le Conseil ;
  • Capacité d’apporter une vision à la Société, de réaliser son orientation stratégique et de définir ses priorités et stratégies à long terme ;
  • Capacité de diriger et motiver les employés de CBC/Radio-Canada et de mobiliser leur énergie et leur talent en vue d’atteindre des buts communs ;
  • Capacité de positionner l’organisation pour qu’elle soit en mesure de suivre l’évolution rapide de l’industrie de la radiodiffusion dans un monde numérique et les besoins changeants des auditoires ; et
  • Capacité de développer, d’entretenir et de gérer les relations avec le Conseil d’administration et les partenaires de CBC/Radio-Canada, notamment les créateurs, les organismes gouvernementaux et les parties intéressées, afin d’établir des relations et des réseaux efficaces en vue de favoriser la créativité et l’innovation dans les partenariats et la programmation.

Exigences linguistiques

Maîtrise des deux langues officielles est essentielle.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l’étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l’expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Leadership stratégique et innovateur
  • Sens de l’éthique et intégrité personnelle supérieurs
  • Tact et diplomatie
  • Jugement sûr
  • Compétences supérieures en relations interpersonnelles
  • Collégialité

Facteurs d’admissibilité et conditions d’emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • Nul ne peut être nommé administrateur ni continuer à occuper cette charge s’il n’est pas un citoyen canadien résidant habituellement au Canada ou si, directement ou indirectement — notamment en qualité de propriétaire, d’actionnaire, d’administrateur, de dirigeant ou d’associé — il participe à une entreprise de radiodiffusion, il possède un intérêt pécuniaire ou un droit de propriété dans celle-ci ou il a pour principale activité la production ou la distribution de matériaux ou sujets d’émissions essentiellement destinés à être utilisés par celle-ci (prévu par la loi).
  • Le Conseil d’administration siège au moins six fois par an en personne, et au moins deux fois par an par téléphone ou vidéoconférence. Les réunions se tiennent à Ottawa, à Montréal ou à Toronto, ainsi que dans une autre ville canadienne choisie chaque année en marge de l’assemblée publique annuelle.
  • D’autres réunions par téléphone ou par vidéoconférence peuvent également s’ajouter pendant l’année.
  • Le siège social de CBC/Radio-Canada est situé à Ottawa. Le président-directeur général est appelé à se déplacer partout au Canada, et plus régulièrement à Montréal et à Toronto où la Société a des bureaux. Le président-directeur général peut choisir de résider à Ottawa, à Montréal ou à Toronto.

Si vous êtes nommé(e) au poste :

Vous devrez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d’éthique et d’activités politiques à l’intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme condition d’emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices dans la section Formulaires et documents de référence.

Vous serez assujetti à la Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts. Les titulaires de charge publique nommés à temps plein doivent soumettre au Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique, dans les 60 jours qui suivent la date de leur nomination, un rapport confidentiel dans lequel ils déclarent leurs biens et exigibilités ainsi que leurs activités extérieures. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le site web du Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique.

Un lien à cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ce poste. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.

Faire une demande d'emploi en ligne