Opportunities - Selection Processes

Closed

Chairperson, Canadian International Trade Tribunal,

Appointment Opportunity

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada's diversity. Moving forward, the Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Finance is to use the fiscal and budgeting tools at the government’s disposal to implement its New Plan for a Strong Middle Class.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following position:

Chairperson (full-time position)

Canadian International Trade Tribunal

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal (Tribunal) is an independent quasi-judicial adjudicative body reporting to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

Canada is a trading nation, and international trade makes a significant contribution to Canada’s economic well-being. The Tribunal plays a central role in administering some of the important international and Canadian rules that govern trade. The Tribunal conducts injury inquiries into dumping and subsidy complaints; hears appeals of decisions of the Canada Border Services Agency and the Canada Revenue Agency; inquiries into complaints by potential suppliers concerning procurement by the federal government covered under various trade agreements; conducts safeguard inquiries; and provides advice to the Government and/or to the Minister of Finance on economic, trade and tariff issues. In doing so, the Tribunal supports the Government's trade and economic agenda while ensuring that Canada's rights and obligations under various trade agreements are honoured.

The Chairperson has supervision over and direction of the work of the Tribunal, including the assignment of members to hear, and to preside over, hearings of the Tribunal, and the management of its internal affairs. The Chairperson is also responsible for liaising with the Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada to ensure that the Tribunal is provided with the support necessary for the fulfillment of its legislative mandate.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the Canadian International Trade Tribunal's website.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on July 14, 2017, via the Governor in Council Appointments website. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Deputy Director of Selection Processes, Senior Personnel Secretariat, Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the online application. If you applied between March 28 and April 19, 2017, you do not need to re-apply to be considered for this position.

Salary Range: $230,800 - $271,500 (GCQ-8)

Position Location: National Capital Region

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for this position. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous Canadians, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for this position, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • A degree from a recognized university in law, business, economics, or public administration, or an acceptable combination of relevant education, job-related training and/or experience;
  • Management experience at the senior executive level in a private or public sector organization;
  • Experience in dealing with complex and sensitive issues and decision-making in a private or public sector organization;
  • Experience in developing, maintaining and managing successful stakeholder relationships and partnerships within and outside an organization;
  • Experience in the interpretation and application of legislation; and
  • Experience in trade policy, international economics, international commerce, or international commercial law.

If you are selected for a written test and an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Understanding of the responsibilities of leading and managing a quasi-judicial tribunal;
  • Knowledge of the mandate and operations of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, including the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, the Special Import Measures Act, and other relevant domestic legislation and international rules and practices;
  • Knowledge of administrative law, principles of natural justice, and rules, procedures and practices followed by administrative tribunals in Canada;
  • Knowledge of the international trading system, the World Trade Organization and the North American Free Trade Agreement;
  • Understanding of the general functioning of a business including accounting and financial management processes;
  • Ability to provide leadership and strategic direction needed for the Canadian International Trade Tribunal to attain its mandate and objectives;
  • Ability to analyze complex situations and cases for the purpose of rendering fair and equitable decisions, while anticipating their short and long-term impact;
  • Ability to conduct a proactive, fair and efficient quasi-judicial hearing;
  • Ability to facilitate consensus and foster a collegial approach to decision-making among members, and develop effective relationships with the Minister and officials, while maintaining the degree of independence required of a quasi-judicial tribunal; and
  • Superior communication skills, both oral and written, and the ability to manage communications with a variety of stakeholders.

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages would be preferred.

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • Leadership
  • High ethical standards and integrity
  • Sound judgment
  • Initiative
  • Superior interpersonal skills

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • You must devote the whole of your time to the performance of your duties (statutory).
  • You must not, during your term of office, accept or hold any office or employment inconsistent with the Chairperson’s duties (statutory).
  • You reside in or are willing to relocate to the National Capital Region, or to a location within a reasonable commuting distance.

If you are appointed to this position:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment, as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and reference material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. Public office holders appointed on a full–time basis must submit to the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, within 60 days of appointment, a confidential report in which they disclose all of their assets, liabilities and outside activities. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner's website.

A link to this notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for this position. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Fermée

Président(e), Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur,

Possibilité de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. À l'avenir, le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s'inscrit dans le droit fil de l'engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Canadiens autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l'inclusion, l'honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d'esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

L’objectif primordial du ministre des Finances consiste à utiliser les outils fiscaux et de budgétisation qui sont à la disposition du gouvernement afin de mettre en œuvre son Bon plan pour renforcer la classe moyenne.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour le poste suivant :

Président(e) (poste à temps plein)

Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur

Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) est un organisme décisionnel quasi-judiciaire et indépendant qui relève du Parlement par l’entremise du ministre des Finances.

Le Canada est un pays commerçant dont la santé économique dépend beaucoup du commerce international. Le Tribunal joue un rôle primordial en ce qui concerne l’application de certaines règles internationales qui régissent les échanges commerciaux. Le Tribunal a le pouvoir de mener des enquêtes sur les plaintes de dommages causés par le dumping ou le subventionnement, d’entendre les appels des décisions de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et de l’Agence du revenu du Canada, d’enquêter sur des plaintes déposées par des fournisseurs potentiels concernant les marchés publics fédéraux couvert en vertu de différents accords commerciaux, de mener des enquêtes sur les mesures de sauvegarde et de formuler des avis à l’intention du gouvernement et/ou du ministre des Finances sur des questions économiques, commerciales et tarifaires. Et ce faisant, le Tribunal appuie le programme d’action commercial et économique du gouvernement tout en veillant au respect des droits et des obligations du Canada dans le cadre de différents accords commerciaux.

Le/la président(e) assure la direction du Tribunal et en contrôle les activités, notamment en ce qui a trait à la répartition des tâches et des audiences entre les membres, à la désignation des président(e)s des audiences, à la conduite des travaux du Tribunal et la gestion de ses affaires internes. Le/la président(e) est également responsable de la liaison avec le Service canadien d’appui aux tribunaux administratifs pour veiller à ce que le Tribunal reçoive le soutien nécessaire à l’accomplissement de son mandat législatif.

Vous pourrez trouver d'autres renseignements sur l'organisme et ses activités sur le site Web du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d'ici 11 h 59 le 14 juillet 2017 sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d'accompagnement devrait être adressée à la Directrice adjointe des processus de sélection, Secrétariat du personnel supérieur, Bureau du Conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l'entremise de l'application en ligne seulement. Si vous avez postulé entre le 28 mars et le 19 avril 2017, vous n'avez pas besoin de présenter une nouvelle demande de candidature pour être considéré pour ce poste.

Échelle salariale : 230 800 $ - 271 500 $ (GCQ-8)

Lieu de travail : Région de la capitale nationale

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité au moment d’évaluer les candidats pour ce poste. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l'un des groupes suivants : femmes, Canadiens autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour ce poste veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Diplôme d’une université reconnue dans le domaine du droit, des affaires, de l’économie ou de l’administration publique, ou une combinaison acceptable d’études, de formation et/ou d’expérience pertinentes ;
  • Expérience de la gestion au niveau de la haute direction dans une organisation du secteur privé ou public ;
  • Expérience de la gestion de questions complexes et délicates et de la prise de décisions au sein d’une organisation du secteur privé ou public ;
  • Expérience de l’établissement, du maintien et de la gestion de partenariats et de relations fructueuses avec les intervenants au sein et à l’extérieur d’un organisme ;
  • Expérience de l’interprétation et de l’application de dispositions législatives ; et
  • Expérience dans les domaines des politiques commerciales, de l’économie internationale, du commerce international, ou du droit international commercial.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d'un examen écrit et d’une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

  • Compréhension des responsabilités de la direction et de la gestion d’un tribunal quasi judiciaire ;
  • Connaissance du mandat et des activités du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, y compris la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur et la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation ainsi que les autres lois canadiennes et règles et pratiques internationales pertinentes ;
  • Connaissance du droit administratif, des principes de la justice naturelle ainsi que des règles, procédures et pratiques observées par les tribunaux administratifs au Canada ;
  • Connaissance du système commercial international, de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce et de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain ;
  • Compréhension du fonctionnement général d'une entreprise, y compris les processus de gestion comptable et financière ;
  • Capacité d’établir le leadership organisationnel et de donner l’orientation stratégique permettant au Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur de réaliser son mandat et ses objectifs ;
  • Capacité d’analyser des situations et des cas complexes pour être en mesure de rendre des décisions justes et équitables, tout en anticipant leur effet à court et à long terme ;
  • Capacité de diriger des audiences quasi judiciaires de façon proactive, juste et efficiente ;
  • Capacité de faciliter l’atteinte de consensus et de favoriser une approche de collaboration au processus de prise de décision parmi les membres, et d’établir des relations de travail efficaces avec le ministre et les fonctionnaires tout en maintenant le degré d’indépendance attendu d’un tribunal quasi judiciaire ; et
  • Capacité supérieure en matière de communication, à l’oral et à l’écrit, et la capacité de gérer les communications avec divers intervenants.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l'étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l'expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Leadership
  • Normes éthiques élevées et intégrité
  • Jugement sûr
  • Esprit d’initiative
  • Excellentes compétences en relations interpersonnelles

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Il est important que vous confirmiez dans votre demande que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • La charge de membre à temps plein est incompatible avec l’exercice d’autres fonctions (prévu par la loi).
  • Vous ne pourrez pas occuper au cours de votre mandat une charge ou un emploi incompatible avec les attributions du/de la président(e) (prévu par la loi).
  • Vous devez résider ou être disposé(e) à déménager dans la région de la capitale nationale ou dans un endroit situé à une distance raisonnable du lieu de travail.

Si vous êtes nommé(e) au poste :

Vous devrez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d’éthique et d’activités politiques à l’intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d’emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Les titulaires de charge publique nommés à temps plein doivent soumettre au Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique, dans les 60 jours qui suivent la date de leur nomination, un rapport confidentiel dans lequel ils déclarent leurs biens et exigibilités ainsi que leurs activités extérieures. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique.

Un lien à cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ce poste. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.