Opportunities - Selection Processes

Current Opportunity

Commissioner, North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization,

Appointment Opportunities

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada’s diversity. The Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous peoples and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard is to protect our three oceans, coasts, waterways and fisheries and ensure that they remain healthy for future generations.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following position:

Commissioner (part-time position)

North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization

The North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization is an international organization, established by an inter-governmental Convention in 1984. The objective of the North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization is to conserve, restore, enhance and rationally manage Atlantic salmon through international cooperation, taking account of the best available scientific information.

There are six Parties which make up the North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization: Canada, Denmark (in respect of the Faroe Islands & Greenland), the European Union, Norway, the Russian Federation and the United States of America. France (in respect of Saint-Pierre & Miquelon) attends the Organization’s meetings as an observer. The Organization also has 35 accredited non-governmental organizations.

The North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization and its Parties have adopted and are applying the Precautionary Approach in order to protect the resource and preserve the environments in which it lives. This approach requires that caution be exercised when information is uncertain, unreliable or inadequate. The North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization has developed a range of Precautionary Approach agreements in relation to:

  • Management of fisheries;
  • Habitat protection and restoration;
  • Impacts of aquaculture, introductions and transfers and transgenics;
  • Stock rebuilding programmes; and
  • Use of socio-economic factors in management decisions.

The North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization has also developed a range of guidelines on topics such as catch and release and establishment of gene banks.

Further details about the organization and its activities can be found on the North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization’s website.

Candidates must apply online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on November 30, 2017, via the Governor in Council Appointments website. Your cover letter should be addressed to the Deputy Director of Selection Processes, Senior Personnel Secretariat, Privy Council Office, and should be sent only through the online application.

Per Diem: $200-250, plus travel and living expenses in accordance with Treasury Board guidelines

Position Location: Various locations

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for this position. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous peoples, disabled persons, and members of visible minorities.

To be considered for this position, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

  • A degree from a recognized university or an acceptable combination of equivalent education, training and job-related experience; and
  • Experience serving as a representative of a relevant stakeholder organization.

If you are selected for an interview, the following criteria will be assessed:

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

  • Thorough knowledge of issues related to Atlantic salmon;
  • Demonstrated skills in diplomacy (e.g., respect for the interests and views of others);
  • Ability to represent, broadly, the interests of the government, commercial, recreational and Indigenous sectors;
  • Ability to work within a team and to support the Head of the Canadian Delegation;
  • Ability to effectively take part in delegation meetings, to develop policy recommendations, and assume an active role in the deliberations of the Canadian delegation;
  • Ability to communicate effectively, both orally and in writing;
  • Ability to regularly attend meetings and contribute to the work of the Delegation; and
  • Ability to use a computer for communication, research and word processing.

Language Requirements

Proficiency in both official languages would be preferred

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to verify how you have demonstrated the Experience requirements and the following Personal Attributes in your current and recently held positions:

  • High ethical standards and integrity
  • Sound judgment
  • Impartiality
  • Tact
  • Discretion

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

  • Commissioners must be willing and able to travel across Canada and internationally.

If you are appointed to this position:

You must comply with the Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders throughout your appointment as a term and condition of employment. The guidelines are available on the Governor in Council Appointments website, under Forms and reference material.

You will be subject to the Conflict of Interest Act. For more information, please visit the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner’s website.

This notice will be placed in the Canada Gazette to assist the Governor in Council in identifying qualified candidates for this position. It is not, however, intended to be the sole means of recruitment.

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Apply Online

Possibilités d'emploi - Processus de sélection

Possibilité actuelle

Commissaire, Organisation pour la conservation du saumon de l'Atlantique nord,

Possibilité de nomination

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui cherche à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l'inclusion, l'honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d'esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

Le principal objectif du ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne est de protéger nos trois océans, nos côtes, nos voies maritimes ainsi que nos pêches afin d'en assurer la vitalité pour les générations futures.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour le poste suivant :

Commissaire (poste à temps partiel)

Organisation pour la conservation du saumon de l'Atlantique nord

L'Organisation pour la conservation du saumon de l’Atlantique nord est une organisation internationale établie par une Convention intergouvernementale en 1984. L'Organisation pour la conservation du saumon de l’Atlantique nord vise l'objectif suivant : veiller à la conservation, au rétablissement, à l'amélioration et à la gestion rationnelle du saumon sauvage de l'Atlantique dans le cadre d'une coopération internationale fondée sur les meilleures données scientifiques disponibles.

L'Organisation pour la conservation du saumon de l'Atlantique nord regroupe six membres : le Canada, le Danemark (pour les îles Féroé et le Groenland), l'Union européenne, la Norvège, la Russie et les États-Unis d'Amérique. La France (en ce qui concerne Saint-Pierre et Miquelon) assiste aux réunions de l'Organisation en tant qu'observateur. L’Organisation compte également 35 organisations non gouvernementales accréditées.

L'Organisation pour la conservation du saumon de l’Atlantique nord et ses membres ont adopté et appliquent l'approche de précaution afin de protéger les ressources et de préserver l'environnement dans lequel elles vivent. Cette approche exige que la prudence soit exercée lorsque l'information est incertaine, peu fiable ou inadéquate. L'Organisation pour la conservation du saumon de l’Atlantique nord a élaboré une série d'ententes de précaution en ce qui concerne :

  • la gestion des pêches ;
  • la protection et la restauration de l'habitat ;
  • les impacts de l'aquaculture, des introductions, des transferts et des transgènes ;
  • les programmes de reconstitution des stocks ; et
  • l'utilisation de facteurs socioéconomiques pour les décisions de gestion.

L'Organisation pour la conservation du saumon de l’Atlantique nord a également élaboré une série de lignes directrices sur des sujets tels que la capture et la libération et l'établissement de banques de gènes.

Vous pourrez trouver d'autres renseignements sur l'organisation et ses activités sur le site Web de l’Organisation pour la conservation du saumon de l’Atlantique nord.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne d’ici 23 h 59 heure de l'Est le 30 novembre 2017 sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Votre lettre d’accompagnement devrait être adressée à la Directrice adjointe des processus de sélection, Secrétariat du personnel supérieur, Bureau du Conseil privé, et devrait être envoyée par l'entremise de l'application en ligne seulement.

Indemnité quotidienne : entre 200 $ et 250 $, en plus des frais de déplacement et de subsistance, conformément aux lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor

Lieu du poste : Divers endroits

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au moment de les évaluer pour ces postes. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l'un des groupes suivants : femmes, Autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour ce poste, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

  • Diplôme d'une université reconnue ou une combinaison acceptable d'études équivalentes, de formation ou d'expérience liée au poste ; et
  • Expérience en tant que représentant d'un organisme pertinent d'intervenants.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins d’une entrevue, les critères suivants seront évalués :

Connaissances, habiletés et capacités

  • Connaissance approfondie des questions concernant le saumon de l'Atlantique ;
  • Compétences démontrées en matière de diplomatie (p. ex., respect des intérêts et opinions des autres) ;
  • Capacité de représenter, de façon générale, les intérêts des secteurs public, commercial, des loisirs et autochtones ;
  • Capacité de travailler au sein d'une équipe et de soutenir le chef de la délégation canadienne ;
  • Capacité de participer efficacement aux réunions de la délégation, d'élaborer des recommandations stratégiques et d'assumer un rôle actif dans les délibérations de la délégation canadienne ;
  • Capacité de communiquer efficacement, à l'oral et à l'écrit ;
  • Capacité d'assister régulièrement aux réunions et de contribuer aux travaux de la délégation ; et
  • Capacité d’utiliser un ordinateur aux fins de communication, de recherches et de traitement de texte.

Exigences linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles serait préférable.

Si votre candidature est retenue aux fins de l’étape suivante du processus, nous communiquerons avec les personnes pouvant fournir des références pour vérifier en quoi vous avez satisfait aux exigences relatives à l’expérience et en quoi vous avez manifesté, dans votre poste actuel et les postes que vous avez récemment occupés, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

  • Normes d'éthique rigoureuses et intégrité
  • Jugement sûr
  • Impartialité
  • Tact
  • Discrétion

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Dans votre demande, il est important de confirmer que vous satisfaites aux exigences suivantes :

  • Les Commissaires doivent être disposés et aptes à voyager dans l'ensemble du Canada.

Si vous êtes nommé à ce poste :

Vous devez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices en matière d’éthique et d’activités politiques à l’intention des titulaires de charge publique tout au long de votre mandat comme terme et condition d’emploi. Vous pouvez consulter ces lignes directrices sur le site Web des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil, sous « Formulaires et documents de référence ».

Vous serez assujetti(e) à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique.

Cette annonce paraîtra dans la Gazette du Canada afin de permettre au gouverneur en conseil de trouver des personnes qualifiées pour ce poste. Cependant, le recrutement ne se limite pas à cette seule façon de procéder.

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.

Faire une demande d'emploi en ligne