Governor in Council appointments are made by the Governor General, on the advice of the Queen's Privy Council of Canada (Cabinet). The responsibilities of Governor in Council appointees range from making quasi-judicial decisions, to providing advice and recommendations on socio-economic development issues, to managing Crown corporations.

In this section, you will find information on the organizations to which the GIC makes appointments, as well as a complete list of appointees to those organizations. More specifically, for each organization, the following information is provided:

  • mandate
  • head office
  • board profiles, in the case of Crown Corporations
  • appointment provisions
  • eligibility requirements/conflict of interest, and
  • remuneration

This section of the website can be navigated in a variety of different ways:


The authority for most Governor in Council appointments is provided by statute. Statutory provisions with respect to the appointments vary greatly. In most cases, the statute specifies the appointment authority, the tenure and length of term of the appointment and, on occasion, the qualifications required.

Appointments are made by the Governor in Council through an Order in Council, which normally specifies the tenure of the appointment, the term of office and, in the case of most full-time appointments, the salary. Remuneration for part-time appointments is generally established in a separate Order in Council for the positions in the organization.

Governor in Council appointees hold office either on a part-time or a full-time basis; however, most appointments are part-time (e.g. a director on a board of directors of a Crown corporation). The tenure of an appointee is either during pleasure or during good behaviour. The term of an appointment is either for a specific or an indeterminate period. When a specific period is indicated in the Order in Council, the appointment lapses at its expiration unless there is a legislative provision to the contrary. The appointee may be reappointed to the same position but, since appointments are made at the discretion of the Governor in Council, renewal is not automatic. In some cases, statutory provisions prohibit reappointment to the same position.


For each organization, there is a description of the appointment provisions, as stipulated in the enabling legislation or other authority. Please refer to the Statutes of Canada to obtain more detailed information.

Further information about appointments in the organizations appears under the following headings:


If applicable, conditions of eligibility are outlined in this section.


If applicable, the consultations required with respect to an appointment are described in this section.


If applicable, the quorum required for decisions by the governing body is included in this section.


If an auditor is appointed to an organization by the Governor in Council, the conditions and specifications under which the appointment is made are described in this section.


Remuneration for part-time appointees appears under this heading, as well as explanatory information on the remuneration of full-time appointees when required. The majority of full-time appointees are paid within the DM/GC/GCQ/CEO salary ranges listed at the end of this section.

In addition, a few salary ranges are established outside the DM/GC/GCQ/CEO ranges.

It should be noted that some appointees serve without remuneration.

List of Appointees

For each organization, information is provided on appointees and their positions.

Title of the Position

The title of the position is the official title, as established by legislation or Order in Council.

Information on Appointees

Listed under the position titles are the names of the current incumbents and their city and province of residence at the time of appointment, whether the position or appointment is full-time or part-time and whether the individuals serve during good behaviour or during pleasure.

Appointment and Expiry Dates

The first date that appears beside the incumbent's name is the effective date of his or her first appointment to that particular position.

The date that the current appointment expires is the one appearing below the original appointment date. Directors, with the exception of officer-directors, in most Crown corporations continue in office after the expiry date, until they are replaced.


If an appointee holds office on a full-time basis, the classified level of the position will normally be specified. Generally, part-time positions are not classified.

Vacant Positions

In the case of full-time positions and some part-time positions where there is no incumbent, the word VACANT will appear under the position title. The total number of vacancies is also indicated. It cannot be assumed that a vacant, or soon to be vacant, position will necessarily be filled.

In organizations where positions are established only when workload warrants, vacancies are not shown.

Introduction

Les nominations par le gouverneur en conseil sont faites par le gouverneur général sur l’avis du Conseil privé de la Reine pour le Canada (le Cabinet). Les personnes nommées ont des responsabilités allant de la prise de décisions de nature quasi judiciaire à la présentation d'avis et de recommandations relativement aux questions de développement socioéconomique, jusqu'à la gestion des sociétés d'État.

Dans cette section, vous trouverez des renseignements sur les organisations au sein desquelles le gouverneur en conseil fait des nominations, en plus de la liste complète des personnes nommées au sein de ces organisations. En particulier, pour chaque organisation, les renseignements suivants sont fournis :

  • mandat
  • siège social
  • les profils des conseils d'administration, dans le cas des sociétés d'État
  • les modalités de la nomination
  • les conditions d'admissibilité/les conflits d'intérêts
  • la rémunération

On peut consulter cette section du site Web de plusieurs façons :

DISPOSITIONS CONCERNANT LES NOMINATIONS

La plupart des nominations sont effectuées en vertu de la loi pertinente. Les dispositions législatives ayant trait aux nominations varient énormément. Dans la plupart des cas, la loi précise qui détient le pouvoir de nommer, les modalités de nomination, ainsi que la durée du mandat, et elle indique parfois les compétences requises.

Les nominations par le gouverneur en conseil sont faites par voie de décret, où sont habituellement précisées les modalités de nomination, la durée du mandat et, dans le cas de la majorité des personnes nommées à temps plein, le traitement. La rémunération des personnes nommées à temps partiel fait généralement l’objet d’un décret distinct portant sur les postes offerts dans l’organisation.

Les personnes nommées par le gouverneur en conseil occupent leur poste à temps plein ou, comme c'est le cas la plupart du temps, à temps partiel (par ex. un administrateur du conseil d’administration d’une société d’État). Les nominations sont effectuées à titre inamovible ou à titre amovible, et sont d'une durée spécifique ou indéterminée. Lorsque le décret précise la durée du mandat, la nomination prend habituellement fin à la date d'expiration de ce dernier, sauf indication contraire dans la loi pertinente. Le titulaire peut être nommé à nouveau au même poste, mais cela ne se fait pas automatiquement : c'est au gouverneur en conseil d'effectuer les nominations. Dans certains cas, la loi interdit de nommer à nouveau quelqu'un au même poste.

AUTRE INFORMATION PERTINENTE

Pour chaque organisme, les modalités de nomination sont indiquées, comme stipulées dans la loi habilitante ou autre texte pertinent. Vous pouvez obtenir plus de détails en consultant les Lois codifiées du Canada.

Les rubriques suivantes donnent des renseignements supplémentaires sur les nominations dans les organismes.

Admissibilité / conflits

Le cas échéant, les conditions d'admissibilité sont énoncées dans cette section.

Consultations

Les consultations, si nécessaires, sont décrites sous cette rubrique.

Quorum

Le cas échéant, le quorum requis pour la prise de décisions par l’organisme dirigeant est indiqué sous cette rubrique.

Vérificateur

Lorsqu'un vérificateur est nommé à un organisme par le gouverneur en conseil, les modalités ayant trait à sa nomination sont décrites sous cette rubrique.

Rémunération

La rémunération des personnes nommées à des postes à temps partiel figure sous cette rubrique, ainsi que certains renseignements sur la rémunération des personnes nommées à des postes à temps plein, au besoin. La majorité des personnes nommées à des postes à temps plein reçoivent un traitement qui se situe dans les échelles salariales DM/GC/GCQ/CEO apparaissant à la fin de la présente partie.

En outre, certaines échelles salariales sont établies à l’extérieur des échelles DM/GC/GCQ/CEO.

Il est à noter que certaines personnes s’acquittent de leurs fonctions à titre gracieux.

Liste des personnes nommées

On trouvera dans le Guide des renseignements sur les personnes nommées dans chaque organisme ainsi que sur les postes qu'elles occupent.

Titre du poste

Le titre du poste est le titre officiel établi par la loi habilitante ou par décret.

Renseignements sur les titulaires

On trouvera sous les titres des postes le nom des titulaires actuels ainsi que la ville et la province de résidence au moment de la nomination. Il est également indiqué s'il s'agit d'un poste, ou d’une nomination, à temps plein ou à temps partiel et, finalement, si les titulaires exercent leurs fonctions à titre inamovible ou amovible.

Dates de nomination et de fin de mandat

La date indiquée immédiatement à côté du nom du titulaire est la date de sa première nomination à ce poste spécifique.

La date d'expiration du mandat en cours est indiquée sous la date de nomination initiale. Dans la plupart des sociétés d'État, une fois que leur mandat a pris fin, les administrateurs, autres que les administrateurs-dirigeants, continuent d'exercer leurs fonctions jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient remplacés.

Niveau

Si le titulaire exerce ses fonctions à temps plein, le niveau classifié du poste sera habituellement précisé. Les postes à temps partiel ne sont généralement pas classifiés.

Postes vacants

Dans le cas des postes à temps plein et de certains postes à temps partiel où il n'y a pas de titulaire, la mention VACANT figurera sous le titre du poste. Le nombre total de postes vacants est également indiqué. Il ne faut pas présumer qu'un poste vacant, ou sur le point de l'être, sera nécessairement comblé.

Dans les organismes où les postes sont établis seulement lorsque la charge de travail le justifie, les postes vacants n'apparaissent pas.