President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada

Canadian Intergovernmental Conference Secretariat

The information presented on the following pages is for reference purposes only and should not be considered or relied on as an authoritative or exhaustive source of all Governor in Council appointments or positions.

Minister Responsible

Minister of Democratic Institutions

Appointment Provisions

The Secretary of the Canadian Intergovernmental Conference Secretariat (CICS) is appointed by GiC to hold office during pleasure.

Appointments

Appt/Expiry
Date
Position
Level
Secretary
McArdle, André
Gatineau, Quebec
Full-Time Appointment
During Pleasure (Interpretation Act)
2004-11-22

Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board

The information presented on the following pages is for reference purposes only and should not be considered or relied on as an authoritative or exhaustive source of all Governor in Council appointments or positions.


Minister Responsible

President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada

Mandate

The object of the Board is to advance transportation safety by conducting independent investigations, including, when necessary, public inquiries, into selected transportation occurrences in order to make findings as to their causes and contributing factors; identifying safety deficiencies as evidenced by transportation occurrences; making recommendations designed to eliminate or reduce any such safety deficiencies; and reporting publicly on its investigations and on the findings in relation thereto.

Head Office

Ottawa, Ontario

Appointment Provisions

Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board Act

The Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board consists of not more than five members appointed by the Governor in Council, at least three of whom shall be full-time members. The Governor in Council shall designate one member to be Chairperson of the Board.

The Governor in Council shall appoint as members persons who, in the opinion of the Governor in Council, are collectively knowledgeable about air, marine, rail and pipeline transportation.

A member shall be appointed to hold office during good behaviour for a term not exceeding seven years, but may be removed by the Governor in Council at any time for cause. A member is eligible for reappointment.

In fixing a term of appointment or re-appointment, the Governor in Council shall endeavour to ensure, to the extent that it is practical to do so, that, notwithstanding periodic changes in the membership of the Board, it remains constituted at all times, at least partly of persons who have had previous experience as members.

In the event of the absence or incapacity of the Chairperson or if the office of Chairperson is vacant, a member designated, either before or after that absence, incapacity or vacancy, by the Governor in Council shall act as Chairperson during the continuance of that absence or incapacity or until a new Chairperson is designated.

A member shall not, directly or indirectly, as owner, shareholder, director, officer, partner or otherwise be engaged in a transportation undertaking or business, or have an interest in a transportation undertaking or business or an interest in the manufacture or distribution of transportation plant or equipment, except where the distribution is merely incidental to the general merchandising of goods, and in this subsection, "transportation" means air, marine, rail or pipeline transportation.

During the term of office of a member, the member shalll not accept or hold any office or employment, or carry on any activity inconsistent with the performance of the member's duties.

Eligibility/Conflicts

A member shall not, directly or indirectly, as owner, shareholder, director, officer, partner or otherwise, be engaged in a transportation undertaking or business, or have an interest in a transportation undertaking or business or an interest in the manufacture or distribution of transportation plant or equipment, except where the distribution is merely incidental to the general merchandising of goods. Where any such interest vests in a member for the benefit of the member by gift, will, succession or otherwise, the interest shall, within three months after the vesting, be absolutely disposed of by that member. During the term of office of a member, in addition to these prohibitions, the member shall not accept or hold any office or employment, or carry on any activity inconsistent with the performance of the member’s duties.

Remuneration

Member

  • Fixed by GiC: Position;
    per diem ($625 - $730)

Appointments

Appt/Expiry
Date
Position
Level
Chairperson and Member
Fox, Kathleen Carol
Gatineau, Quebec
Full-Time Appointment
During Good Behaviour
2014-08-21
2018-08-20
Members
Ackermans, Faye
Calgary, Alberta
Part-Time Appointment
During Good Behaviour
2014-07-02
2018-07-01
Dittmann, Paul George
Ottawa, Ontario
Full-Time Appointment
During Good Behaviour
2017-05-01
2021-04-30
Gosselin, Hélène
Ottawa, Ontario
Part-Time Appointment
During Good Behaviour
2015-06-18
2019-06-17
Hincke, Joseph
Ottawa, Ontario
Full-Time Appointment
During Good Behaviour
2012-04-09
2020-04-08

Office of the Chief Electoral Officer

The information presented on the following pages is for reference purposes only and should not be considered or relied on as an authoritative or exhaustive source of all Governor in Council appointments or positions.


Minister Responsible

Minister of Democratic Institutions

Mandate

Elections Canada is an independent, non-partisan agency that reports directly to Parliament. Elections Canada must be prepared at all times to conduct a federal general election, by-election or referendum, administer the political financing provisions of the Canada Elections Act, monitor compliance and enforce electoral legislation. Elections Canada is also mandated to conduct voter education and information programs, and provide support to the independent boundaries commissions in charge of adjusting the boundaries of federal electoral districts following each decennial census. Finally, Elections Canada may carry out studies on alternative voting methods and, with the approval of Parliament, test electronic voting processes for future use during electoral events.

Head Office

Ottawa, Ontario

Appointment Provisions

Canada Elections Act
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/E-2.01/page-4.html#h-4

The Chief Electoral Officer is appointed by resolution of the House of Commons to hold office during good behaviour for a term of 10 years. He or she may be removed for cause by the Governor General on address of the Senate and the House of Commons. A person who has served as Chief Electoral Officer is not eligible for re-appointment to that office.

The Chief Electoral Officer shall rank as and have all the powers of a deputy head of a department, shall perform the duties of the office on a full-time basis and shall not hold any other office under Her Majesty or engage in any other employment.

The Assistant Chief Electoral Officer is appointed by the Governor in Council.

In case of the death, incapacity or negligence of the Chief Electoral Officer while Parliament is not sitting, a substitute Chief Electoral Officer shall, on the application of the Minister, be appointed by order of the Chief Justice of Canada or, in the absence of the Chief Justice of Canada, by the senior judge of the Supreme Court of Canada then present in Ottawa.

A substitute Chief Electoral Officer shall act as Chief Electoral Officer until 15 days after the beginning of the next session of Parliament unless the Chief Justice of Canada or the judge who made the order to appoint the substitute Chief Electoral Officer sooner directs that the order be revoked.

In the absence of both the Chief Justice of Canada and of the judge who made the order to appoint the substitute Chief Electoral Officer, the order may be revoked by any other judge of the Supreme Court of Canada.

Eligibility/Conflicts

Must be able to speak and understand clearly both official languages at the time of his or her appointment.

(Language Skills Act - http://laws.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/L-6.2/index.html)

Appointments

Appt/Expiry
Date
Position
Level
Chief Electoral Officer
1 Vacant Position
Total vacancies: 1

Président du Conseil privé de la Reine pour le Canada

Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports

Les informations présentées sur les pages qui suivent le sont uniquement à des fins de consultation. Il ne faut pas y voir une source exhaustive d'information faisant autorité en matière de nominations par le gouverneur en conseil.


Ministre responsable

Président du Conseil privé de la Reine pour le Canada

Mandat

Le Bureau a pour mission de promouvoir la sécurité des transports en procédant à des enquêtes indépendantes, y compris des enquêtes publiques au besoin, sur les accidents de transport choisis, afin d’en dégager les causes et les facteurs; en constatant les manquements à la sécurité mis en évidence par de tels accidents; et en faisant des recommandations sur les moyens d’éliminer ou de réduire ces manquements; publiant des rapports rendant compte de ses enquêtes et présentant les conclusions qu’il en tire.

Bureau principal

Ottawa (Ontario)

Dispositions des nominations

Loi sur le Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports

Le Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports est composé d'au plus cinq membres, dont au moins trois membres à plein temps, nommés par le gouverneur en conseil. Le gouverneur en conseil choisit, parmi les membres, le président.

Le gouverneur en conseil nomme comme membres les personnes qui, à son avis, possèdent collectivement les compétences voulues en matière de transport aérien, maritime, ferroviaire ou par pipeline.

Les membres sont nommés, à titre inamovible, pour un mandat maximal de sept ans, sous réserve de révocation motivée par le gouverneur en conseil. Leur mandat est renouvelable.

Dans la fixation des mandats, le gouverneur en conseil doit être guidé par le souci d'assurer la stabilité du Bureau par la présence de membres ayant déjà une certaine expérience en cette fonction.

En cas d'absence ou d'empêchement du président ou de vacance de son poste, la présidence est assumée par le membre désigné à cet effet par le gouverneur en conseil jusqu'au retour du président, jusqu'à la fin de cet empêchement ou jusqu'à la désignation d'un nouveau président.

Les membres ne peuvent, directement ou indirectement, à quelque titre que ce soit s'occuper d'une entreprise ou d'une exploitation de transport aérien, maritime, ferroviaire ou par pipeline; avoir des intérêts dans une telle entreprise ou exploitation ou dans la fabrication ou la distribution de matériel de l'un ou l'autre de ces types de transport, sauf si la distribution n'a qu'un caractère secondaire par rapport à l'ensemble des activités de commercialisation des marchandises.

Les membres ne peuvent non plus accepter ni occuper de charges ou fonctions ni se livrer à une activité incompatibles avec l'exercice des atttributions que leur confère la présente loi.

Admissibilité/Conflits

Les membres ne peuvent, directement ou indirectement, à quelque titre que ce soit s’occuper d’une entreprise ou d’une exploitation de transport aérien, maritime, ferroviaire ou par pipeline; avoir des intérêts dans une telle entreprise ou exploitation ou dans la fabrication ou la distribution de matériel de l’un ou l’autre de ces types de transport, sauf si la distribution n’a qu’un caractère secondaire par rapport à l’ensemble des activités de commercialisation des marchandises. Le membre qui reçoit de tels intérêts, notamment par donation ou par l’ouverture d’une succession, doit les céder entièrement dans les trois mois qui suivent. Les membres ne peuvent non plus accepter ni occuper de charges ou fonctions ni se livrer à une activité incompatibles avec l’exercice des attributions qui leur sont conférées.

Traitement

Membre

  • Fixé par le GC: Poste
    taux journalier (625 $ - 730 $)

Nominations

Date
début/fin
Niveau
du poste
Président du conseil et membre
Fox, Kathleen Carol
Gatineau, Québec
Nomination à temps plein
À titre inamovible
2014-08-21
2018-08-20
Membres
Ackermans, Faye
Calgary, Alberta
Nomination à temps partiel
À titre inamovible
2014-07-02
2018-07-01
Dittmann, Paul George
Ottawa, Ontario
Nomination à temps plein
À titre inamovible
2017-05-01
2021-04-30
Gosselin, Hélène
Ottawa, Ontario
Nomination à temps partiel
À titre inamovible
2015-06-18
2019-06-17
Hincke, Joseph
Ottawa, Ontario
Nomination à temps plein
À titre inamovible
2012-04-09
2020-04-08

Bureau du directeur général des élections

Les informations présentées sur les pages qui suivent le sont uniquement à des fins de consultation. Il ne faut pas y voir une source exhaustive d'information faisant autorité en matière de nominations par le gouverneur en conseil.


Ministre responsable

Ministre des Institutions démocratiques

Mandat

Élections Canada est un organisme indépendant et non partisan qui relève directement du Parlement. Il doit être prêt à conduire à tout moment une élection ou un référendum fédéral, à administrer le régime de financement politique prévu par la Loi électorale du Canada, à surveiller l'observation de la législation électorale et à la faire appliquer. En outre, il exécute des programmes d'information et d'éducation de l'électorat et appuie les commissions de délimitation indépendantes chargées de réviser les limites des circonscriptions fédérales après chaque recensement décennal. Enfin, Élections Canada peut mener des études sur d'autres méthodes de vote et, sous réserve de l'approbation du Parlement, mettre à l'essai des processus de vote électroniques en vue de scrutins futurs.

Bureau principal

Ottawa (Ontario)

Dispositions des nominations

Loi électorale du Canada
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/E-2.01/page-4.html

Le directeur général des élections est nommé à titre inamovible pour un mandat de dix ans par résolution de la Chambre des communes. Son mandat peut être révoqué pour motif valable par le gouverneur général sur adresse du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes. La personne qui a servi à titre de directeur général des élections ne peut être nommée de nouveau à ce poste.

Le directeur général des élections a rang et statut d’administrateur général de ministère. Il exerce ses fonctions à temps plein et ne peut occuper aucune autre charge au service de Sa Majesté ni aucun autre poste.

Le directeur adjoint des élections est nommé par le gouverneur en conseil.

Si le directeur général des élections décède ou est incapable ou néglige d’exercer ses fonctions pendant que le Parlement ne siège pas, un suppléant est nommé par décret, sur demande du ministre, par le juge en chef du Canada ou, en son absence, par le doyen des juges de la Cour suprême du Canada alors présents à Ottawa.

Le suppléant exerce les attributions du directeur général des élections jusqu’à l’expiration des quinze premiers jours de la session suivante du Parlement, sauf si le juge en chef du Canada ou le juge qui a pris le décret en ordonne la révocation avant l’expiration de ce délai.

En cas d’absence à la fois du juge en chef du Canada et du juge qui a nommé le suppléant, un autre juge de la Cour suprême du Canada peut révoquer le décret.

Admissibilité/Conflits

Doit avoir la capacité de parler et de comprendre clairement les deux langues officielles au moment de sa nomination.

(Loi sur les compétences linguistiques - http://laws.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/L-6.2/index.html)

Nominations

Date
début/fin
Niveau
du poste
Directeur général des élections
1 poste vacant
Nombre total de postes vacants : 1

Secrétariat des conférences intergouvernementales canadiennes

Les informations présentées sur les pages qui suivent le sont uniquement à des fins de consultation. Il ne faut pas y voir une source exhaustive d'information faisant autorité en matière de nominations par le gouverneur en conseil.

Ministre responsable

Ministre des Institutions démocratiques

Dispositions des nominations

Le secrétaire du Secrétariat des conférences intergouvernementales canadiennes (SCIC), est nommé par le gouverneur en conseil, à titre amovible.

Nominations

Date
début/fin
Niveau
du poste
Secrétaire
McArdle, André
Gatineau, Québec
Nomination à temps plein
À titre amovible (Loi d'interprétation)
2004-11-22