Parliament

House of Commons

The information presented on the following pages is for reference purposes only and should not be considered or relied on as an authoritative or exhaustive source of all Governor in Council appointments or positions.


Minister Responsible

Prime Minister

Mandate

The House of Commons is the popularly elected component of Parliament, consisting of 338 members. Members of the government sit in, and are answerable to the House of Commons. Most major government legislation is introduced in the House. The House of Commons alone is constitutionally authorized to introduce legislation concerned with the raising or spending of funds. The House is also a place where MPs hold the government to account, discuss national issues, and represent constituents’ views.

Head Office

Ottawa, Ontario

Appointment Provisions

Governor in Council appointees are as follows:

  • Clerk of the House;
  • Sergeant-at-Arms; and
  • Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel.

They hold office during pleasure.

Appointments

Appt/Expiry
Date
Position
Level
Clerk
Robert, Charles
Ottawa, Ontario
Full-Time Appointment
During Pleasure (Interpretation Act)
2017-07-10
Sergeant-at-Arms
1 Vacant Position
Law Clerk & Parliamentary Counsel
Dufresne, Philippe
Ottawa, Ontario
Full-Time Appointment
During Pleasure (Interpretation Act)
2015-02-09
Total vacancies: 1

Library of Parliament

The information presented on the following pages is for reference purposes only and should not be considered or relied on as an authoritative or exhaustive source of all Governor in Council appointments or positions.


Minister Responsible

Prime Minister

Appointment Provisions

Parliament of Canada Act

The direction and control of the Library of Parliament, and of the officers and servants therewith, is vested in the Speaker of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Commons.

The Parliamentary Librarian is appointed by the GIC by commission under the Great Seal to hold office during pleasure. The Parliamentary Librarian has the rank of a deputy head of a department.

The GIC may, by commission under the Great Seal, appoint an Associate Parliamentary Librarian to hold office during pleasure. The Associate Parliamentary Librarian shall execute and perform the duties and functions of the Parliamentary Librarian during the person’s absence, illness or other incapacity or during a vacancy in the office of the Parliamentary Librarian.

The Parliamentary Budget Officer, who is an officer of the Library of Parliament, is appointed by the GIC, by commission under the Great Seal, to hold office during pleasure for a renewable term of not more than five years. The GIC may select the Parliamentary Budget Officer from a list of three names submitted in confidence, through the Leader of the Government in the House of Commons, by a committee formed and chaired by the Parliamentary Librarian.

Appointments

Appt/Expiry
Date
Position
Level
Interim Parliamentary Librarian
L'Heureux, Sonia
North Gower, Ontario
During Pleasure
2012-06-21
2018-06-20
Parliamentary Budget Officer
Fréchette, Jean-Denis
Gatineau, Quebec
Full-Time Appointment
During Pleasure
2013-09-03
2018-09-02

Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner

The information presented on the following pages is for reference purposes only and should not be considered or relied on as an authoritative or exhaustive source of all Governor in Council appointments or positions.


Minister Responsible

Minister of State and Leader of the Government in the House or Commons

Appointment Provisions

Parliament of Canada Act

81. (1) The Governor in Council shall, by commission under the Great Seal, appoint a Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner after consultation with the leader of every recognized party in the House of Commons and approval of the appointment by resolution of that House.

82. (1) The Commissioner holds office during good behaviour for a term of seven years but may be removed for cause by the Governor in Council on address of the House of Commons.

81. (3) The Commissioner is eligible to be reappointed for one or more terms of up to seven years each.

83. (2) The Commissioner shall engage exclusively in the duties and functions of the Commissioner and may not hold any office under Her Majesty or engage in any other employment for reward.

84. (1) The Commissioner has the rank of a deputy head of a department of the Government of Canada and has the control and management of the office of the Commissioner.

82. (2) In the event of the absence or incapacity of the Commissioner, or if that office is vacant, the Governor in Council may appoint any qualified person to hold that office in the interim for a term not exceeding six months, and that person shall, while holding office, be paid the salary or other remuneration and expenses that may be fixed by the Governor in Council.

Eligibility/Conflicts

81. (2) In order to be appointed under subsection (1), a person must be
  1. a former judge of a superior court in Canada or of any other court whose members are appointed under an Act of the legislature of a province;
  2. a former member of a federal or provincial board, commission or tribunal who, in the opinion of the Governor in Council, has demonstrated expertise in one or more of the following:
    1. conflicts of interest,
    2. financial arrangements,
    3. professional regulation and discipline, or
    4. ethics; or
  3. a former Senate Ethics Officer or former Ethics Commissioner.
Must be able to speak and understand clearly both official languages at the time of his or her appointment.

(Language Skills Act)

Consultation

81. (1) The Governor in Council shall, by commission under the Great Seal, appoint a Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner after consultation with the leader of every recognized party in the House of Commons and approval of the appointment by resolution of that House.

Remuneration

83. (1) The Commissioner shall be paid the remuneration and expenses set by the Governor in Council.

Appointments

Appt/Expiry
Date
Position
Level
Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner
Dion, Mario
Ottawa, Ontario
Full-Time Appointment
During Good Behaviour

Salary equal to a judge of the Federal Court of Canada.

2018-01-09
2025-01-08

Office of the Senate Ethics Officer

The information presented on the following pages is for reference purposes only and should not be considered or relied on as an authoritative or exhaustive source of all Governor in Council appointments or positions.


Minister Responsible

Prime Minister

Mandate

The mandate of the Senate Ethics Officer is to administer and interpret the Conflict of Interest Code for Senators adopted by the Senate on May 18, 2005. The Code sets out acceptable standards of conduct for all Members of the Senate.

Head Office

Ottawa, Ontario

Appointment Provisions

Parliament of Canada Act
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/P-1/page-7.html#h-15

The Governor in Council shall, by commission under the Great Seal, appoint a Senate Ethics Officer after consultation with the leader of every recognized party in the Senate and after approval of the appointment by resolution of the Senate. The Senate Ethics Officer has the rank of a deputy head of a department of the Government of Canada and has the control and management of the office of the Senate Ethics Officer.

The Senate Ethics Officer holds office during good behaviour for a term of seven years and may be removed for cause by the Governor in Council on address of the Senate. The Senate Ethics Officer may be reappointed for one or more terms of up to seven years each.

In the event of the absence or incapacity of the Senate Ethics Officer, or if that office is vacant, the Governor in Council may appoint a qualified person to hold that office in the interim for a term of up to six months.

In the case of a part-time appointment, the Senate Ethics Officer may not accept or hold any office or employment - or carry on any activity - inconsistent with his or her duties and functions under this Act. In the case of a full-time appointment, the Senate Ethics Officer shall engage exclusively in the duties and functions of the Senate Ethics Officer and may not hold any other office under Her Majesty or engage in any other employment for reward.

Eligibility/Conflicts

Must be able to speak and understand clearly both official languages at the time of his or her appointment.

(Language Skills Act - http://laws.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/L-6.2/index.html)

Consultation

The Governor in Council shall, by commission under the Great Seal, appoint a Senate Ethics Officer after consultation with the leader of every recognized party in the Senate and after approval of the appointment by resolution of the Senate.

Remuneration

Senate Ethics Officer

Appointments

Appt/Expiry
Date
Position
Level
Senate Ethics Officer
Legault, Pierre
Ottawa, Ontario
Part-Time Appointment
During Good Behaviour
2017-07-10
2025-01-09

Senate

The information presented on the following pages is for reference purposes only and should not be considered or relied on as an authoritative or exhaustive source of all Governor in Council appointments or positions.


Minister Responsible

Prime minister

Mandate

The Senate is the Upper Chamber of Parliament, and is composed of 105 members. Senators are appointed by the Governor General for each province and territory on the recommendation of the Prime Minister and hold office until age 75. They examine and revise legislation, investigate national issues, and represent regional, provincial and minority interests. Senators can also introduce their own bills, subject to certain constitutional limitations. No bill can become law until it has been passed by the Senate. Senators also study major social, legal and economic issues through their committee work.

Head Office

Ottawa, Ontario

Appointment Provisions

The Clerk of the Senate is appointed by the Governor in Council, as is the Usher of the Black Rod. They hold office during pleasure.

Appointments

Appt/Expiry
Date
Position
Level
Interim Clerk of the Senate & Clerk of the Parliaments
Proulx, Nicole
Gatineau, Quebec
During Pleasure (Interpretation Act)
2017-07-17
Usher of the Black Rod
Peters, John Gregory
Manotick, Ontario
Full-Time Appointment
During Pleasure
2013-10-01
2018-09-30

Parlement

Bibliothèque du Parlement

Les informations présentées sur les pages qui suivent le sont uniquement à des fins de consultation. Il ne faut pas y voir une source exhaustive d'information faisant autorité en matière de nominations par le gouverneur en conseil.


Ministre responsable

Premier ministre

Dispositions des nominations

Loi sur le Parlement du Canada

L'administration et la surveillance de la bibliothèque du Parlement, ainsi que des fonctionnaires et des préposés qui y sont attachés, sont confiées au président du Sénat et au président de la Chambre des communes.

Le bibliothécaire parlementaire est nommé à titre amovible par le gouverneur en conseil, par une commission sous le grand sceau. Il a le rang d'un sous-chef d'un ministère.

Le gouverneur en conseil peut par une commission sous le grand sceau, nommer à titre amovible un bibliothécaire parlementaire associé. Le bibliothécaire parlementaire associé remplira les devoirs et accomplira les fonctions du bibliothécaire parlementaire durant son absence, maladie ou autre empêchement, ou durant une vacance au poste de bibliothécaire parlementaire.

Le directeur parlementaire du budget est nommé par le gouverneur en conseil, par commission sous le grand sceau, à titre amovible pour un mandat renouvelable d'au plus cinq ans. Le directeur est membre du personnel de la Bibliothèque du Parlement. Le gouverneur en conseil peut choisir le directeur parlementaire du budget à partir d'une liste confidentielle de trois noms qui lui est soumise par le leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes. La liste est établie par un comité constitué et présidé par le bibliothécaire parlementaire.

Nominations

Date
début/fin
Niveau
du poste
Bibliothécaire parlementaire intérimaire
L'Heureux, Sonia
North Gower, Ontario
À titre amovible
2012-06-21
2018-06-20
Directeur parlementaire du budget
Fréchette, Jean-Denis
Gatineau, Québec
Nomination à temps plein
À titre amovible
2013-09-03
2018-09-02

Bureau du commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique

Les informations présentées sur les pages qui suivent le sont uniquement à des fins de consultation. Il ne faut pas y voir une source exhaustive d'information faisant autorité en matière de nominations par le gouverneur en conseil.


Ministre responsable

Ministre d'État et Leader du governement à la Chambre des communes

Dispositions des nominations

Loi sur le Parlement du Canada

81. (1) Le gouverneur en conseil nomme un commissaire aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique par commission sous le grand sceau, après consultation du chef de chacun des partis reconnus à la Chambre des communes et approbation par résolution de cette chambre.

82. (1) Sauf révocation motivée par le gouverneur en conseil sur adresse de la Chambre des communes, le commissaire exerce ses fonctions à titre inamovible pour un mandat de sept ans.

81. (3) Le mandat du commissaire est renouvelable pour une ou plusieurs périodes maximales de sept ans.

83. (2) Il se consacre à l’exercice de ses fonctions à l’exclusion de toute charge au service de Sa Majesté ou de tout autre emploi rétribué.

84. (1) Le commissaire a rang d’administrateur général de ministère; il est, à ce titre, responsable de la gestion de son bureau.

82. (2) En cas d’absence ou d’empêchement du commissaire ou de vacance de son poste, le gouverneur en conseil peut confier l’intérim à toute personne compétente pour un mandat maximal de six mois et fixer la rémunération et les indemnités auxquelles cette personne aura droit.

Admissibilité/Conflits

81. (2) Pour être nommée en vertu du paragraphe (1), une personne doit :
  1. soit être un ancien juge d’une cour supérieure du Canada ou d’une cour dont les juges sont nommés en application d’une loi provinciale;
  2. soit être un ancien membre d’un conseil, d’une commission ou d’un tribunal fédéral ou provincial qui, de l'avis du gouverneur en conseil, a démontré une expertise dans au moins l’un des domaines suivants :
    1. les conflits d’intérêts,
    2. les arrangements financiers,
    3. la réglementation professionnelle ou la discipline professionnelle,
    4. l’éthique;
  3. soit être un ancien conseiller sénatorial en éthique ou un ancien commissaire à l'éthique.
Doit avoir la capacité de parler et de comprendre clairement les deux langues officielles au moment de sa nomination.

(Loi sur les compétences linguistiques)

Consultations

81. (1) Le gouverneur en conseil nomme un commissaire aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique par commission sous le grand sceau, après consultation du chef de chacun des partis reconnus à la Chambre des communes et approbation par résolution de cette chambre.

Traitement

83. (1) Le commissaire reçoit la rémunération et les indemnités fixées par le gouverneur en conseil.

Nominations

Date
début/fin
Niveau
du poste
Commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique
Dion, Mario
Ottawa, Ontario
Nomination à temps plein
À titre inamovible

Traitement égal à celui d'un juge de la Cour fédérale du Canada.

2018-01-09
2025-01-08

Bureau du conseiller sénatorial en éthique

Les informations présentées sur les pages qui suivent le sont uniquement à des fins de consultation. Il ne faut pas y voir une source exhaustive d'information faisant autorité en matière de nominations par le gouverneur en conseil.


Ministre responsable

Premier ministre

Mandat

Le mandat du conseiller sénatorial en éthique consiste à administrer et interpréter le Code régissant les conflits d’intérêts des sénateurs adopté par le Sénat le 18 mai 2005. Le Code définit les normes de conduite acceptables pour tous les sénateurs.

Bureau principal

Ottawa (Ontario)

Dispositions des nominations

Loi sur le Parlement du Canada
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/P-1/page-7.html

Le gouverneur en conseil nomme le conseiller sénatorial en éthique par commission sous le grand sceau, après consultation du chef de chacun des partis reconnus au Sénat et après approbation par résolution du Sénat. Le conseiller a rang d'administrateur général de ministère; il est, à ce titre, responsable de la gestion de son bureau.

Sauf révocation motivée par le gouverneur en conseil sur adresse du Sénat, le conseiller exerce ses fonctions à titre inamovible pour un mandat de sept ans renouvelable pour une ou plusieurs périodes maximales de sept ans.

En cas d'absence ou d'empêchement du conseiller ou de vacance de son poste, le gouverneur en conseil peut confier l'intérim à une personne compétente pour un mandat maximal de six mois.

S'il est nommé à temps partiel, il ne détient ni n'accepte de charge ou d'emploi - ni n'exerce d'activité - incompatibles avec ses fonctions. S'il est nommé à temps plein, il se consacre à l'exercice de ses fonctions à l'exclusion de toute autre charge au service de Sa Majesté ou de tout autre emploi rétribué.

Admissibilité/Conflits

Doit avoir la capacité de parler et de comprendre clairement les deux langues officielles au moment de sa nomination.

(Loi sur les compétences linguistiques - http://laws.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/L-6.2/index.html)

Consultations

Le gouverneur en conseil nomme le conseiller sénatorial en éthique par commission sous le grand sceau, après consultation du chef de chacun des partis reconnus au Sénat et après approbation par résolution du Sénat.

Traitement

Conseiller Sénatorial En Éthique

Nominations

Date
début/fin
Niveau
du poste
Conseiller sénatorial en éthique
Legault, Pierre
Ottawa, Ontario
Nomination à temps partiel
À titre inamovible
2017-07-10
2025-01-09

Chambre des communes

Les informations présentées sur les pages qui suivent le sont uniquement à des fins de consultation. Il ne faut pas y voir une source exhaustive d'information faisant autorité en matière de nominations par le gouverneur en conseil.


Ministre responsable

Premier ministre

Mandat

La Chambre des communes est la composante élue du Parlement et comprend 338 députés. Les députés du gouvernement siègent à la Chambre et sont responsables devant celle-ci. La plupart des mesures législatives importantes du gouvernement sont présentées à la Chambre et seule celle-ci est autorisée par la Constitution à présenter des projets de loi pour la levée ou la dépense de fonds publics. La Chambre des communes est aussi le lieu où les députés demandent au gouvernement de rendre des comptes, discutent des questions d’intérêt national et représentent les points de vue des électeurs.

Bureau principal

Ottawa, Ontario

Dispositions des nominations

Les titulaires nommés par le gouverneur en conseil sont les suivants :

  • le greffier de la Chambre;
  • le sergent d'armes; et
  • le légiste et conseiller parlementaire.

Ils sont nommés à titre amovible.

Nominations

Date
début/fin
Niveau
du poste
Greffier
Robert, Charles
Ottawa, Ontario
Nomination à temps plein
À titre amovible (Loi d'interprétation)
2017-07-10
Sergent d'armes
1 poste vacant
Légiste et conseiller parlementaire
Dufresne, Philippe
Ottawa, Ontario
Nomination à temps plein
À titre amovible (Loi d'interprétation)
2015-02-09
Nombre total de postes vacants : 1

Sénat

Les informations présentées sur les pages qui suivent le sont uniquement à des fins de consultation. Il ne faut pas y voir une source exhaustive d'information faisant autorité en matière de nominations par le gouverneur en conseil.


Ministre responsable

Premier ministre

Mandat

Le Sénat constitue la Chambre haute du Parlement et se compose de 105 sénateurs. Les sénateurs sont nommés par le gouverneur général sur la recommandation du premier ministre, de façon à représenter chaque province et territoire; ils conservent leur siège jusqu’à l’âge de 75 ans. Les sénateurs examinent et révisent les lois, étudient des questions d'intérêt national et défendent les intérêts des régions, des provinces et des minorités. Les sénateurs peuvent aussi présenter leurs propres projets de loi, sous réserve de certaines restrictions constitutionnelles. Aucun projet de loi ne peut devenir une loi sans avoir été adopté par le Sénat. Les sénateurs se penchent également sur d’importantes questions sociales, juridiques ou économiques dans le cadre de leurs travaux en comité.

Bureau principal

Ottawa, Ontario

Dispositions des nominations

Le greffier du Sénat ainsi que le huissier du Bâton noir sont nommés par le gouverneur en conseil. Ils sont nommés à titre amovible.

Nominations

Date
début/fin
Niveau
du poste
Greffier du Sénat et greffier des Parlements intérimaire
Proulx, Nicole
Gatineau, Québec
À titre amovible (Loi d'interprétation)
2017-07-17
Huissier du Bâton noir
Peters, John Gregory
Manotick, Ontario
Nomination à temps plein
À titre amovible
2013-10-01
2018-09-30