Organization Profile - Office of the Auditor General of Canada

Office of the Auditor General of Canada

The information presented on the following pages is for reference purposes only and should not be considered or relied on as an authoritative or exhaustive source of all Governor in Council appointments or positions.

Minister Responsible

Minister of Finance

Appointment Provisions

Auditor General Act
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/A-17/page-2.html#h-3

The Governor in Council shall, by commission under the Great Seal, appoint an Auditor General of Canada after consultation with the leader of every recognized party in the Senate and House of Commons and approval of the appointment by resolution of the Senate and House of Commons. The Auditor General holds office during good behaviour for a term of ten years, but the Auditor General may be removed for cause by the Governor in Council on address of the Senate and House of Commons. Once having served as Auditor General, a person is not eligible for re-appointment to that office.

In the event of the absence or incapacity of the Auditor General or if that office is vacant, the Governor in Council may appoint any qualified auditor to hold that office in the interim for a term not exceeding six months, and that person shall, while holding office, be paid the salary or other remuneration and expenses that may be fixed by the Governor in Council.

The Auditor General is an agent of Parliament. The Minister of Finance has been designated as the appropriate Minister for the purposes of the Financial Administration Act.

Eligibility/Conflicts

Must be able to speak and understand clearly both official languages at the time of his or her appointment.

(Language Skills Act - http://laws.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/L-6.2/index.html)

Consultation

The Governor in Council shall, by commission under the Great Seal, appoint an Auditor General of Canada after consultation with the leader of every recognized party in the Senate and House of Commons and approval of the appointment by resolution of the Senate and House of Commons.

Appointments

Appt/Expiry
Date
Position
Level
Auditor General
Ferguson, Michael
Hanwell, New Brunswick
Full-Time Appointment
During Good Behaviour
Salary equal to a puisne judge of the Supreme Court of Canada.
2011-11-28
2021-11-27

Profil d'organisme - Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada

Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada

Les informations présentées sur les pages qui suivent le sont uniquement à des fins de consultation. Il ne faut pas y voir une source exhaustive d'information faisant autorité en matière de nominations par le gouverneur en conseil.

Ministre responsable

Ministre des Finance

Dispositions des nominations

Loi sur le vérificateur général
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/A-17/page-2.html

Le gouverneur en conseil nomme un vérificateur général du Canada par commission sous le grand sceau, après consultation du chef de chacun des partis reconnus au Sénat et à la Chambre des communes et approbation par résolution du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes. Le vérificateur général occupe sa charge à titre inamovible pour un mandat de dix ans, sauf révocation motivée par le gouverneur en conseil, sur adresse du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes. Une personne qui a servi à titre de vérificateur général ne peut être nommée de nouveau à ce poste.

En cas d’absence ou d’empêchement du vérificateur général ou de vacance de son poste, le gouverneur en conseil peut confier l’intérim à tout vérificateur compétent pour un mandat maximal de six mois et fixer la rémunération et les indemnités auxquelles celui-ci aura droit.

Le vérificateur général est un agent du Parlement. Le ministre des Finances a été désigné comme "ministre compétent" aux fins de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.

Admissibilité/Conflits

Doit avoir la capacité de parler et de comprendre clairement les deux langues officielles au moment de sa nomination.

(Loi sur les compétences linguistiques - http://laws.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/L-6.2/index.html)

Consultations

Le gouverneur en conseil nomme un vérificateur général par commission sous le grand sceau, après consultation du chef de chacun des partis reconnus au Sénat et à la Chambre des communes et approbation par résolution du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes.

Nominations

Date
début/fin
Niveau
du poste
Vérificateur général
Ferguson, Michael
Hanwell, Nouveau-Brunswick
Nomination à temps plein
À titre inamovible
Traitement égal à celui d'un juge puiné de la Cour suprême du Canada.
2011-11-28
2021-11-27