Organization Profile - Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse

Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse

The information presented on the following pages is for reference purposes only and should not be considered or relied on as an authoritative or exhaustive source of all Governor in Council appointments or positions.


Minister Responsible

Minister of Health

Mandate

The purpose of the Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse is to promote increased awareness on the part of Canadians of matters relating to alcohol and drug abuse and their increased participation in the reduction of harm associated with such abuse, and to promote the use and effectiveness of programs of excellence that are relevant to alcohol and drug abuse.

Head Office

Ottawa, Ontario

Appointment Provisions

Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse Act
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/C-13.4/index.html

The Board of the Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse shall consist of:
  • the Chairperson and up to four other directors appointed by the Governor in Council on the recommendation of the Minister of Health, after the Minister has consulted with the Board, to hold office during pleasure, for terms not exceeding three years. The Chairperson and the directors are eligible for re-appointment, but no person may be appointed more than three times; and
  • up to eight directors appointed by the Board to hold office during pleasure, after consultations with the governments of the provinces and with any individuals and organizations representative of the business community and labour, professional and voluntary organizations having a particular interest in alcohol and drug abuse that the Board considers appropriate.
The term of office of the directors shall be such as to ensure, in so far as possible, the expiration in any one year of not more than half of the terms of office of the directors.

The Board may elect from among its members a Vice-Chairperson who, in the event of the absence or incapacity of the Chairperson, or if the office of the Chairperson is vacant, has and may exercise and perform all the duties and functions of the Chairperson.

The Board shall, subject to the approval of the Governor in Council, appoint a Chief Executive Officer of the Centre, to hold office during pleasure, who shall have supervision over and direction of the activities and staff of the Centre.

The Board may authorize any member of the Board or any officer or employee of the Centre to act as CEO of the Centre in the event that the CEO is absent or incapacitated or if the office of the CEO is vacant, but no such authorization is valid for more than one hundred and eighty days unless approved by the Governor in Council.

The Deputy Minister of Health and the Deputy Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness or a delegate of each of those Deputy Ministers, are entitled to receive notice of all meetings of the Board, and may attend and take part in, but not vote, at such meetings.

Consultation

The Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse Act specifies that the Chairperson and up to four other directors may be appointed by the Governor in Council, to hold office during pleasure, after consultation by the Minister of Health with the Board.

Up to eight directors may be appointed by the Board, to hold office during pleasure, after consultations with the governments of the provinces and with any individuals and organizations representative of the business community and labour, professional and voluntary organizations having a particular interest in alcohol and drug abuse the the Board considers appropriate.

Remuneration

Directors

  • Remuneration Nil - Statutory Prohibition
  • Reasonable travel and living expenses in connection with the activities of the Centre as are fixed by by-law of the Board.

Appointments

Appt/Expiry
Date
Position
Level
Chief Executive Officer
Notarandrea, Rita
Ottawa, Ontario
Full-Time Appointment
During Pleasure
2015-02-26
2020-07-27
Chairperson
1 Vacant Position
Directors
4 Vacant Positions
Total vacancies: 5

Profil d'organisme - Centre canadien de lutte contre les toxicomanies

Centre canadien de lutte contre les toxicomanies

Les informations présentées sur les pages qui suivent le sont uniquement à des fins de consultation. Il ne faut pas y voir une source exhaustive d'information faisant autorité en matière de nominations par le gouverneur en conseil.


Ministre responsable

Ministre de la Santé

Mandat

Le Centre a pour mission de mieux sensibiliser les Canadiens aux questions touchant l'alcoolisme et la toxicomanie, d'encourager une contribution plus active de leur part à l'effort de réduction des méfaits qui en découlent et de promouvoir l'application et l'efficacité des programmes qu'il juge excellents.

Bureau principal

Ottawa (Ontario)

Dispositions des nominations

Loi sur le Centre canadien de lutte contre les toxicomanies
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/C-13.4/index.html

Le conseil du Centre canadien de lutte contre les toxicomanies est composé :
  • du président et jusqu'à quatre autres administrateurs nommés par le gouverneur en conseil, à titre amovible, après consultation du conseil par le ministre de la Santé, pour un mandat maximal de trois ans. Le président et les autres administrateurs peuvent exercer au plus trois mandats.
  • le conseil nomme à titre amovible, jusqu'à huit autres administrateurs après consultation des gouvernements provinciaux ainsi que, à son appréciation, de particuliers et des représentants des organismes bénévoles, des entreprises et des organisations patronales, syndicales et professionnelles qui s'intéressent particulièrement à l'alcoolisme et à la toxicomanie.
Dans la mesure du possible, les mandats des administrateurs sont échelonnés de telle façon qu'au plus la moitié d'entre eux expirent au cours de la même année.

Le conseil peut choisir parmi les administrateurs un vice-président qui, en cas d'absence ou d'empêchement du président ou de vacance de son poste, assume la présidence.

Sous réserve de l’agrément du gouverneur en conseil, le conseil nomme à titre amovible le premier dirigeant du Centre, qui en assure la direction et contrôle la gestion des autres membres du personnel.

En cas d'absence ou d'empêchement du premier dirigeant ou de vacance de son poste, le conseil peut autoriser tout administrateur ou membre du personnel du Centre à assurer l'intérim pendant cent quatre-vingt jours au plus ou, avec l'approbation du GC, pendant une plus longue période.

Le sous-ministre de la Santé et le sous-ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, ou leur délégué, sont avisés de la tenue des réunions du conseil et de ses comités, auxquelles ils n'ont toutefois que voix consultative.

Consultations

La Loi sur le Centre canadien de lutte contre les toxicomanies précise que le gouverneur en conseil peut nommer le président et jusqu'à quatre autres administrateurs, après consultation du conseil par le ministre de la Santé.

Le conseil peut nommer jusqu'à huit autres administrateurs après consultation des gouvernements provinciaux ainsi que, à son appréciation, de particuliers et des représentants des organismes bénévoles, des entreprises et des organisations patronales, syndicales et professionnelles qui s'intéressent particulièrement à l'alcoolisme et la toxicomanie.

Traitement

Administrateurs

  • Aucune rémunération - interdiction prévue par la Loi
  • Indemnisés, selon un barème fixé par règlement administratif du conseil, des frais de déplacement et de séjour entraînés par l'accomplissement des fonctions qui leur sont confiées.

Nominations

Date
début/fin
Niveau
du poste
Premier dirigeant
Notarandrea, Rita
Ottawa, Ontario
Nomination à temps plein
À titre amovible
2015-02-26
2020-07-27
Président
1 poste vacant
Administrateurs
4 postes vacants
Nombre total de postes vacants : 5