Organization Profile - Cree-Naskapi Commission

Cree-Naskapi Commission

The information presented on the following pages is for reference purposes only and should not be considered or relied on as an authoritative or exhaustive source of all Governor in Council appointments or positions.


Minister Responsible

Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs

Mandate

The Cree-Naskapi Commission is an independent body established in June 1984 under section 158 of the Cree-Naskapi (of Quebec) Act. The role of the Cree-Naskapi Commission is to receive and consider the complaint of any interested person respecting the implementation of the Act and to report its conclusions and recommendations to the interested parties and the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

Head Office

Ottawa, Ontario

Appointment Provisions

Cree-Naskapi (of Quebec) Act

The Commission consists of a maximum of three individuals appointed by the GIC on the recommendation of the Cree Regional Authority and the Naskapi Band for a renewable term of two years. A member may be removed for cause. The GIC shall designate one member of the Commission as Chairman.

A Council member, officer, employee or agent of a band is not eligible to be appointed.

If a member dies, resigns or is removed for cause, a new member shall be appointed for the duration of the unexpired term.

If a member is absent or incapacitated, the GIC may, on the recommendation of the Cree Regional Authority and the Naskapi Band, appoint a temporary substitute member on such terms as are fixed by the GIC.

Within six months after the fifth anniversary of the coming into force of this Part, the Governor in Council shall appoint a person or persons to inquire into the powers, duties and operation of the Commission.

Eligibility/Conflicts

A council member, officer, employee or agent of a band is not eligible to be appointed or to continue to serve as a member of the Commission.

Quorum

All members.

Remuneration

Chairman and Member

  • Fixed by GiC: Incumbent;
    per diem ($365 - $430)

Member

  • Fixed by GiC: Incumbent;
    per diem ($365 - $430)

Appointments

Appt/Expiry
Date
Position
Level
Chairman and Member
Saunders, Richard
Renfrew, Ontario
Removable for cause
2017-04-12
2019-04-11
Part-time Members
Awashish, Philip
Mistissini, Quebec
Removable for cause
2017-04-12
2019-04-11
Kanatewat, Robert
Chisasibi, Quebec
Removable for cause
2017-04-12
2019-04-11

Profil d'organisme - Commission Crie-Naskapie

Commission Crie-Naskapie

Les informations présentées sur les pages qui suivent le sont uniquement à des fins de consultation. Il ne faut pas y voir une source exhaustive d'information faisant autorité en matière de nominations par le gouverneur en conseil.

Ministre responsable

Ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord

Mandat

La Commission Crie-Naskapie est un organisme indépendant qu'on a mis sur pied en juin 1984 en vertu de l'article 158 de la Loi sur les Cris et les Naskapis du Québec. Le rôle de cette Commission consiste à recevoir et à examiner les plaintes de tout individu intéressé concernant la mise en oeuvre de la loi et à présenter ses conclusions et ses recommandations aux parties intéressées, ainsi qu'au ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien.

Bureau principal

Ottawa (Ontario)

Dispositions des nominations

Loi sur les Cris et les Naskapis du Québec

La Commission est composée d'au plus trois commissaires nommés par le GC sur recommandation de l'Administration régionale Crie et de la bande Naskapie, pour un mandat renouvelable de deux ans. Les commissaires peuvent être destitués pour une raison valable. Le GC choisit le président parmi les commissaires.

Ni les membres du conseil ou les mandataires de la bande, ni les membres de son personnel ne peuvent faire partie de la Commission.

En cas de décès, de démission, ou de destitution pour une raison valable, un nouveau commissaire est nommé pour le reste du mandat.

En cas d'absence ou d'empêchement d'un commissaire, le GC peut, sur recommandation de l'Administration régionale Crie et de la bande Naskapie nommer, à titre temporaire, un commissaire suppléant et fixer les conditions de la suppléance.

Dans les six mois suivant les cinq premières années d'application de la partie XII de la Loi, le GC nomme une ou plusieurs personnes chargées de réexaminer les pouvoirs et fonctions de la Commission ainsi que son fonctionnement.

Admissibilité/Conflits

Ni les membres du conseil ou les mandataires de la bande, ni les membres de son personnel ne peuvent faire partie de la Commission.

Quorum

Tous les commissaires.

Traitement

Président et Membre

  • Fixé par le GC: Incumbent
    Taux journalier 365 $ - 430 $)

Membre

  • Fixé par le GC: Incumbent
    Taux journalier 365 $ - 430 $)

Nominations

Date
début/fin
Niveau
du poste
Président et membre
Saunders, Richard
Renfrew, Ontario
Révocable pour raison valable
2017-04-12
2019-04-11
Membres à temps partiel
Awashish, Philip
Mistissini, Québec
Révocable pour raison valable
2017-04-12
2019-04-11
Kanatewat, Robert
Chisasibi, Québec
Révocable pour raison valable
2017-04-12
2019-04-11