Organization Profile - Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board

Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board

The information presented on the following pages is for reference purposes only and should not be considered or relied on as an authoritative or exhaustive source of all Governor in Council appointments or positions.

Minister Responsible

Minister of Natural Resources


The Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board manages the petroleum resources in the Newfoundland and Labrador offshore area on behalf of the governments of Canada, and Newfoundland and Labrador. The Board’s authority is derived from legislation implementing the 1985 Atlantic Accord between the two governments.

Appointment Provisions

Canada-Newfoundland Atlantic Accord Implementation Act

The Board consists of seven members. The Chairman of the Board is a joint appointment by the Federal and Provincial governments. Three members are appointed by the Federal government and three by the Provincial government. One or two members of the Board may be designated Vice-Chairmen by a joint designation by the Federal and Provincial governments. Each government may appoint one alternate member to act as a member of the Board in absence of any of the members of the Board appointed by that government. Any member or alternate member may be appointed by both the federal and provincial governments. No member of the Board shall be a federal public servant or a provincial civil servant during his or her term of office.

The Chairman and members of the Board shall be appointed for terms of six years during good behaviour but may be removed for cause by the nominating government. The Chairman or a member is eligible for reappointment.

Where both the Federal and the Provincial Governments appoint the Chairman of the Board, the Chairman is the chief executive officer. In all other cases, subject to the approval of both governments, the chief executive officer is appointed by the Board by means of an open competition.

During any absence or incapacity of the Chairman or vacancy in the office of Chairman, the Board shall designate a member to act as Chairman of the Board and that person, while acting as Chairman, has and may exercise all the powers and perform all of the duties and functions of the Chairman.

In the event that both governments fail to agree on the appointment of the Chairman, the Chairman shall be selected by a panel comprising three members, of which one member is appointed by each government and appointment shall take place within sixty days after the appointment of the Chairman of the panel.


No member of the Board shall, during the term of office of that member on the Board, be employed in the Public Service of Canada or be a civil servant in the Province. Members of the Board, including the Chairman, and the Chief Executive Officer shall be subject to conflict of interest guidelines established jointly by the Federal Minister and Provincial Minister and are not subject to any conflict of interest guidelines established by the Federal Government.


Four members constitute a quorum of the Board.



  • Fixed by Federal and Provincial governments
  • The applicable per diem range for the current members is $200 - $300. The applicable annual retainer for the current members is $3,600 - $5,000.


There are no current appointments to this organization.