Organization Profile - Office of the Chief Electoral Officer

Office of the Chief Electoral Officer



Minister Responsible

Minister of Democratic Institutions

Mandate

Elections Canada is an independent, non-partisan agency that reports directly to Parliament. Elections Canada must be prepared at all times to conduct a federal general election, by-election or referendum, administer the political financing provisions of the Canada Elections Act, monitor compliance and enforce electoral legislation. Elections Canada is also mandated to conduct voter education and information programs, and provide support to the independent boundaries commissions in charge of adjusting the boundaries of federal electoral districts following each decennial census. Finally, Elections Canada may carry out studies on alternative voting methods and, with the approval of Parliament, test electronic voting processes for future use during electoral events.

Head Office

Ottawa, Ontario

Appointment Provisions

Canada Elections Act
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/E-2.01/page-4.html#h-4

The Chief Electoral Officer is appointed by resolution of the House of Commons to hold office during good behaviour for a term of 10 years. He or she may be removed for cause by the Governor General on address of the Senate and the House of Commons. A person who has served as Chief Electoral Officer is not eligible for re-appointment to that office.

The Chief Electoral Officer shall rank as and have all the powers of a deputy head of a department, shall perform the duties of the office on a full-time basis and shall not hold any other office under Her Majesty or engage in any other employment.

The Assistant Chief Electoral Officer is appointed by the Governor in Council.

In case of the death, incapacity or negligence of the Chief Electoral Officer while Parliament is not sitting, a substitute Chief Electoral Officer shall, on the application of the Minister, be appointed by order of the Chief Justice of Canada or, in the absence of the Chief Justice of Canada, by the senior judge of the Supreme Court of Canada then present in Ottawa.

A substitute Chief Electoral Officer shall act as Chief Electoral Officer until 15 days after the beginning of the next session of Parliament unless the Chief Justice of Canada or the judge who made the order to appoint the substitute Chief Electoral Officer sooner directs that the order be revoked.

In the absence of both the Chief Justice of Canada and of the judge who made the order to appoint the substitute Chief Electoral Officer, the order may be revoked by any other judge of the Supreme Court of Canada.

Eligibility/Conflicts

Must be able to speak and understand clearly both official languages at the time of his or her appointment.

(Language Skills Act - http://laws.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/L-6.2/index.html)

Appointments

Appt/Expiry
Date
Position
Level
Chief Electoral Officer
1 Vacant Position
Total vacancies: 1

Profil d'organisme - Bureau du directeur général des élections

Bureau du directeur général des élections

Les informations présentées sur les pages qui suivent le sont uniquement à des fins de consultation. Il ne faut pas y voir une source exhaustive d'information faisant autorité en matière de nominations par le gouverneur en conseil.


Ministre responsable

Ministre des Institutions démocratiques

Mandat

Élections Canada est un organisme indépendant et non partisan qui relève directement du Parlement. Il doit être prêt à conduire à tout moment une élection ou un référendum fédéral, à administrer le régime de financement politique prévu par la Loi électorale du Canada, à surveiller l'observation de la législation électorale et à la faire appliquer. En outre, il exécute des programmes d'information et d'éducation de l'électorat et appuie les commissions de délimitation indépendantes chargées de réviser les limites des circonscriptions fédérales après chaque recensement décennal. Enfin, Élections Canada peut mener des études sur d'autres méthodes de vote et, sous réserve de l'approbation du Parlement, mettre à l'essai des processus de vote électroniques en vue de scrutins futurs.

Bureau principal

Ottawa (Ontario)

Dispositions des nominations

Loi électorale du Canada
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/E-2.01/page-4.html

Le directeur général des élections est nommé à titre inamovible pour un mandat de dix ans par résolution de la Chambre des communes. Son mandat peut être révoqué pour motif valable par le gouverneur général sur adresse du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes. La personne qui a servi à titre de directeur général des élections ne peut être nommée de nouveau à ce poste.

Le directeur général des élections a rang et statut d’administrateur général de ministère. Il exerce ses fonctions à temps plein et ne peut occuper aucune autre charge au service de Sa Majesté ni aucun autre poste.

Le directeur adjoint des élections est nommé par le gouverneur en conseil.

Si le directeur général des élections décède ou est incapable ou néglige d’exercer ses fonctions pendant que le Parlement ne siège pas, un suppléant est nommé par décret, sur demande du ministre, par le juge en chef du Canada ou, en son absence, par le doyen des juges de la Cour suprême du Canada alors présents à Ottawa.

Le suppléant exerce les attributions du directeur général des élections jusqu’à l’expiration des quinze premiers jours de la session suivante du Parlement, sauf si le juge en chef du Canada ou le juge qui a pris le décret en ordonne la révocation avant l’expiration de ce délai.

En cas d’absence à la fois du juge en chef du Canada et du juge qui a nommé le suppléant, un autre juge de la Cour suprême du Canada peut révoquer le décret.

Admissibilité/Conflits

Doit avoir la capacité de parler et de comprendre clairement les deux langues officielles au moment de sa nomination.

(Loi sur les compétences linguistiques - http://laws.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/L-6.2/index.html)

Nominations

Date
début/fin
Niveau
du poste
Directeur général des élections
1 poste vacant
Nombre total de postes vacants : 1