Board Profile - Canadian Race Relations Foundation

Corporation Mandate

Vision

The CRRF will be a leading national voice and clearing-house for race relations in Canada, and an agent of change for the elimination of racism and all forms of racial discrimination with the aim to promote a more harmonious Canada.

Mission

The Foundation will advance understanding of the past and current causes and manifestations of racism, and recommend approaches to the elimination of racism and the strengthening of Canadian identity as it refers, to the principles of equality, fairness, justice and human dignity. The Foundation will rely on its clearing-house and initiatives to inform national policies and public conversations. The Foundation will facilitate the discussion and research on racism to advance Canadian identity as it refers to the principles of equality, fairness, justice and human dignity.

Values

The work of the Foundation is premised on the desire to create and nurture an inclusive society based on equity, social harmony, mutual respect and human dignity. Its underlying principle in addressing racism and racial discrimination emphasizes positive anti-racist change and the promotion of shared Canadian values of human rights and democratic institutions. It strives to coordinate and cooperate with all sectors of society, and develop partnerships with relevant agencies, and organizations at the local, provincial, national levels, and international levels.

Purpose of the CRRF

The purpose of the CRRF, as defined by the Canadian Race Relations Foundation Act 1991, is "to facilitate throughout Canada the development, sharing and application of knowledge and expertise in order to contribute to the elimination of racism and all forms of racial discrimination in Canadian society by:

  1. undertaking research and collecting data and developing a national information base in order to further understanding of the nature of racism and racial discrimination, and to assist business, labour, voluntary, community and other organizations as well as public institutions, governments, researchers and the general public in eliminating racism and racial discrimination;
  2. acting as a clearing-house, providing information about race relations resources and establishing links with public, private and educational institutions and libraries;
  3. facilitating consultation and the exchange of information relating to race relations policies, programs and research;
  4. promoting effective race relations training and assisting in the development of professional standards;
  5. increasing public awareness of the importance of eliminating racism and racial discrimination;
  6. collaborating with business, labour, voluntary, community and other organizations, as well as public institutions and all levels of government, in instituting and supporting programs and activities; and
  7. supporting and promoting the development of effective policies and programs for the elimination of racism and racial discrimination.*

*Excerpts from the Canadian Race Relations Foundation Act.

Roles and Responsibilities

The Board is the steward of the Foundation and has a statutory authority and obligation to oversee the management of the affairs and business of the Foundation. The fundamental objective of the Board is to act in the best interests of the Foundation.

The role of the Board is to provide strategic direction for the Foundation and effective oversight of Management.

The role of individual Board members can be identified in two areas:

  1. Role within the Board when the Board acts as a whole
  2. Role of the individual member, acting in his/her own right.

All Board members are expected to regularly attend, be well prepared for and actively participate in meetings of the Board and committees. In the event a Board member cannot attend a Board meeting, he/she must advise the Chairperson in advance of the meeting and give a reason for non-attendance.

In performing their duties, Board members shall act honestly and in good faith with a view to supporting the best interests of the Foundation. The conduct of Board members will be consistent with the mission, vision and values of the Foundation. They must exercise care, diligence and skill that a reasonably prudent person would exercise in comparable circumstances. Members must comply with the Act and By-laws of the Foundation.

Challenges, Issues and Initiatives

The primary challenges are the management of our investment funds and finding other sources of funding for the organization’s programs.

Core Attributes, Competencies and Experience

  • Understanding of the distinction between the strategic and policy setting role of the Board and the operational responsibilities of management
  • Capability of giving leadership to the development of the Foundation
  • Commitment to the vision, mission, values and strategic goals of the Foundation
  • Ability to work as a member of a team
  • Respect for and tolerance of the views of others
  • Recognition of the time commitment and the willingness to devote the time and energy necessary to perform the role of a Board member
  • Enthusiasm and capacity for resolving challenging issues

Specific Skills, Knowledge and Experience

  • Knowledge of and experience in business management/corporate contacts
  • Knowledge of and experience in financial management/planning
  • Knowledge of socially responsible investing
  • Knowledge of and experience in a legal environment
  • Knowledge of and experience in human resources management
  • Knowledge of and experience in mass communications and/or media
  • Knowledge of and experience in government and public relations
  • Knowledge of and experience in research, education and/or training
  • Community involvement
  • Aboriginal Representation
  • Youth Representation
  • Fluency in both of Canada’s official languages

Representation

The Board membership reflects the multicultural character, linguistic duality and regional diversity of Canadian society.

Working Conditions

Number of Meetings and Attendance Requirements:

  • Meetings of the Board: According to the Act, the Board shall meet at such times and places as the Chair may determine, but it shall meet at least twice in each year (the Canadian Race Relations Foundation Act, s. 15). However, over the past two years, the Board met on average three to four times a year. The Board meets face-to-face across the country or by teleconference.
  • Attendance Requirements: Board members are expected to attend all meetings where possible.

The Average Annual Time Commitment:

All Board members are expected to regularly participate in Board and committee meetings. Our Board and committee meetings usually commence on a Friday and conclude in the early afternoon on the following Sunday. In addition to face-to-face meetings, participation in both regular and incidental teleconferences, meetings, events and training are expected. On average, Board members are expected to devote about 14-15 days a year to Board business.

Committee Work or Other Duties the Individual Would Have to Take on:

Board members are required to join Board committees. These committees include:

  • Executive Committee
  • Governance Committee
  • Nominations Committee
  • Finance and Audit Committee
  • Human Resources Committee
  • Investment Committee

The Level of Effort Required Overall:

All Board members are expected to regularly attend, be well prepared for and actively participate in meetings of the Board and committees. We expect the Directors to display a high level of effort, knowledge and commitment in order to fulfill the Foundation's mandate.

Code of Conduct and Categories of Individuals Disqualified from the Position:

Board members are governed by the Code of Conduct which applies to part-time public office holders. The CRRF Conflict of Interest Guidelines, By-law 2, is based on the Conflict of Interest Act.

Remuneration and Expenses*

  • Fees of Directors: The Chair and other Directors shall be paid such fees for their attendance at meetings of the Foundation and for the performance of other duties under the Act as the Governor in Council may fix.
  • Expenses of Directors: The Chair and other Directors are entitled to be paid such travel and living expenses incurred by them in the performance of duties under the Act, as the Governor in Council may fix.
  • Salary of Executive Director: The salary and any other remuneration to be paid to the Executive Director are fixed by the Governor in Council.

*Excerpts from the Canadian Race Relations Foundation Act 10-11.

Profil d'organisme - Fondation canadienne des relations raciales

Mandat de la Société

Vision

La Fondation canadienne des relations raciales sera une voix majeure à l’échelle nationale et un centre d’information au sujet des relations raciales au Canada. La Fondation sera également un agent de changement pour l’élimination du racisme et de toutes les formes de discrimination raciale dans le but de favoriser l’harmonie au Canada.

Mission

La Fondation s'est engagée à favoriser la compréhension des causes et des manifestations passées et actuelles du racisme et à recommander des approches pour éliminer le racisme et renforcer l'identité canadienne en ce qui a trait aux principes d'égalité des chances, d'équité, de justice et de dignité humaine. Par l'entremise de son centre d'information et des initiatives qu'elle entreprend, la Fondation contribuera à l'orientation des politiques nationales et des débats publics. Elle stimulera le dialogue et la recherche sur le racisme afin de faire progresser l'identité canadienne en ce qui a trait aux principes d'égalité des chances, d'équité, de justice et de dignité humaine.

Valeurs

Le travail de la Fondation repose sur le désir de créer et de cultiver une société inclusive fondée sur l’équité, l’harmonie sociale, le respect mutuel et la dignité humaine. Le principe sous-jacent qui oriente sa lutte contre le racisme et la discrimination raciale met l’accent sur l’apport de changements antiracistes concrets et la promotion des valeurs canadiennes communes que sont les droits de la personne et les institutions démocratiques. La Fondation s’efforce d’assurer la coordination et la collaboration entre toutes les sphères de la société et d’établir des partenariats avec les organismes concernés et les organisations locales, provinciales, nationales et internationales.

Objectif de la Fondation

L’objet de la Fondation, comme la Loi sur la Fondation canadienne des relations raciales, 1991 le définit, consiste à : « faciliter, dans l’ensemble du pays, le développement, le partage et la mise en oeuvre de toute connaissance ou compétence utile en vue de contribuer à l’élimination du racisme et de toute forme de discrimination raciale au Canada » :

  1. en effectuant des recherches, en recueillant des données et en établissant une base d’information nationale permettant de mieux comprendre la nature du racisme et de la discrimination raciale, et ce pour aider les entreprises, les organisations patronales et syndicales, les organismes bénévoles, communautaires et autres organismes ainsi que les institutions publiques, les gouvernements, les chercheurs et le grand public à éliminer l’un comme l’autre;
  2. en servant de centre d’information sur les ressources existant dans le domaine des relations raciales et en établissant des liens avec des institutions publiques, privées ou à caractère éducatif, notamment les bibliothèques;
  3. en facilitant la consultation et l’échange d’information concernant les politiques, les programmes et la recherche en matière de relations raciales;
  4. par la promotion d’une formation efficace dans le domaine et par l’aide à l’élaboration de normes professionnelles;
  5. en sensibilisant mieux le public quant à l’importance de l’élimination du racisme et de la discrimination raciale;
  6. en collaborant avec les entreprises, les organisations patronales et syndicales, les organismes bénévoles, communautaires et autres organismes, ainsi que les institutions publiques et tous les ordres de gouvernement, pour la mise sur pied et le soutien de divers programmes et activités;
  7. par l’encouragement et la promotion de l’élaboration d’une politique et de programmes efficaces pour l’élimination du racisme et de la discrimination raciale.*

*Extraits de la Loi sur la Fondation canadienne des relations raciales.

Rôles et Responsabilités

Le conseil d’administration de la Fondation a l’autorité et l’obligation en vertu de la loi de superviser la gestion des affaires et des activités de la Fondation. L’objectif fondamental du conseil d’administration est d’agir dans le meilleur intérêt de la Fondation.

Le rôle du conseil d’administration est d’assurer l’orientation stratégique de la Fondation et la supervision efficace de la direction.

Les rôles des membres du conseil sont de deux ordres :

  1. Leur rôle au sein du conseil lorsque le conseil agit en tant qu’entité;
  2. Leur rôle lorsqu’ils agissent en leur propre nom.

Tous les membres du conseil d’administration doivent assister régulièrement aux réunions du conseil et des comités, y être bien préparés et y participer activement. Si un membre n’est pas en mesure d’assister à une réunion du conseil, il doit en informer le président à l’avance et expliquer pourquoi il ne pourra pas être présent.

Dans le cadre de l’exercice de leurs fonctions, les membres du conseil doivent agir avec honnêteté et de bonne foi dans le meilleur intérêt de la Fondation. La conduite des membres du conseil doit respecter la mission, la vision et les valeurs de la Fondation. Ils doivent faire preuve de la prudence, de la diligence et de la compétence qu’une personne raisonnable exercerait dans des circonstances comparables. Les membres doivent également respecter la Loi et les règlements administratifs de la Fondation.

Défis, Enjeux et Initiatives

Les principaux défis consistent à gérer notre fonds d’investissement et à trouver d’autres sources de financement pour les programmes de l’organisation.

Attributs, Compétences et Expérience de Base

  • Connaissance de la distinction entre le rôle stratégique et le rôle d’élaboration des politiques du conseil et des responsabilités opérationnelles de la direction
  • Capacité de diriger le développement de la Fondation
  • Engagement à l’égard de la vision, de la mission, des valeurs et des buts stratégiques de la Fondation
  • Capacité de travailler en équipe
  • Tolérance et respect du point de vue des autres
  • Reconnaissance du temps à consacrer et volonté de consacrer le temps et l’énergie nécessaires pour assumer le rôle de membre du conseil d’administration
  • Enthousiasme et capacité à régler les questions problématiques

Compétences, Connaissances et Expérience Particulières

  • Connaissance et expérience de la gestion des activités et des réseaux de contacts
  • Connaissance et expérience de la gestion et de la planification financières
  • Connaissance de l’investissement socialement responsable
  • Connaissance et expérience d’un contexte juridique
  • Connaissance et expérience de la gestion des ressources humaines
  • Connaissance et expérience des communications et/ou des médias de masse
  • Connaissance et expérience des relations gouvernementales et publiques
  • Connaissance et expérience en recherche, en sensibilisation et/ou en formation
  • Engagement communautaire
  • Représentation des Autochtones
  • Représentation des jeunes
  • Maîtrise des deux langues officielles du Canada

Représentation

Les membres du conseil d’administration reflètent le caractère multiculturel, la dualité linguistique et la diversité régionale de la société canadienne.

Conditions de Travail

Nombre de réunions et présence exigée :

  • Réunions du conseil : Conformément à la Loi, le conseil tient, aux date, heure et lieu fixés par le président, un minimum de deux réunions par an (article 15 de la Loi sur la Fondation canadienne des relations raciales). Cependant, au cours des deux dernières années, le conseil s’est réuni en moyenne de trois à quatre fois par année. Les membres du conseil se réunissent en personne au pays ou par téléconférence.
  • Présence exigée : Les membres du conseil doivent assister à toutes les réunions lorsque c’est possible.

Temps à consacrer en moyenne chaque année :

Tous les membres du conseil doivent participer régulièrement aux réunions du conseil et des comités. Les réunions du conseil et des comités commencent habituellement un vendredi et se terminent en début d’après-midi le dimanche suivant. En plus des réunions en personne, les membres doivent participer aux téléconférences, réunions, activités et formations tenues régulièrement et à celles tenues ponctuellement. En moyenne, les membres doivent consacrer de 14 à 15 jours par année aux activités du conseil.

Travail des comités et autres tâches à accomplir individuellement par les membres du conseil

Les membres du conseil doivent se joindre aux comités du conseil, que voici :

  • Comité exécutif
  • Comité de gouvernance
  • Comité des nominations
  • Comité des finances et de la vérification
  • Comité des ressources humaines
  • Comité sur les investissements

Niveau d'effort requis dans l'ensemble :

Tous les membres du conseil d’administration doivent assister régulièrement aux réunions du conseil et des comités, y être bien préparés et y participer activement. Nous nous attendons à ce que les administrateurs déploient un niveau d’efforts élevé et à ce qu’ils fassent preuve de connaissances approfondies et d’un engagement marqué afin de remplir le mandat de la Fondation.

Code de conduite et personnes inadmissibles au poste :

Les membres du conseil d’administration sont assujettis au code de conduite qui s’applique aux titulaires d’une charge publique à temps partiel. Les lignes directrices sur les conflits d’intérêt de la Fondation, règlement administratif no 2, se fondent sur la Loi sur les conflits d’intérêt.

Rémunération et indemnités*

  • Rémunération des administrateurs : Les administrateurs ont droit, pour leur participation aux réunions de la Fondation et pour l’exécution des fonctions que leur confère la Loi, à la rémunération que fixe le gouverneur en conseil.
  • Indemnités des administrateurs : Les administrateurs sont indemnisés, selon le barème fixé par le gouverneur en conseil, des frais de déplacement et de séjour engagés dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions que leur confère la Loi.
  • Traitement du directeur général : Le traitement du directeur général ainsi que toute autre rémunération à lui verser sont fixés par le gouverneur en conseil.

*Extraits des articles 10 et 11 de la Loi sur la Fondation canadienne des relations raciales.