Board Profile - National Gallery of Canada

Introduction

The National Gallery of Canada’s Board Competency Profile is based on and is consistent with the Museums Act; the Gallery’s Governance Policy; and on guidelines and directions from the Privy Council Office and the Treasury Board1.

Mandate of the National Gallery of Canada, as stated in the Museums Act (s.5)

"to develop, maintain and make known, throughout Canada and internationally, a collection of works of art, both historic and contemporary, with special but not exclusive reference to Canada, and to further knowledge, understanding and enjoyment of art in general among all Canadians."

To achieve its mandate, the NGC has established four strategic objectives that are reviewed yearly during the planning process:

  • To acquire, preserve, research and record historic and contemporary works of art, both national and international, to represent Canada’s visual arts heritage;
  • To further knowledge, understanding and enjoyment of the visual arts among all Canadians and to make the collections known both in Canada and abroad;
  • To provide direction, control, and the effective development and administration of resources; and
  • To provide secure and suitable facilities, which are readily accessible to the public, for the preservation and exhibition of the national collections.

Mandate of the Board of Trustees:

The 1990 Museums Act states that:

“The Board is responsible for the fulfilment of the purposes and the management of the business, activities and affairs of the museum.”
[Subsection 18(3)]

The eleven-member Board of Trustees is accountable through the Chairperson to the Minister responsible for the administration of the Museums Act, as underlined by the Treasury Board guidelines. It is the Minister of Canadian Heritage who represents the institution in Cabinet and Parliament.

The Board acts as the trustee on behalf of the government by holding management accountable for the Gallery's performance, its long-term viability and the achievement of its objectives. The Board is responsible to ensure the Gallery is managing its collections and other assets, its installations and exhibitions, and its human and financial resources in accordance with professional museum standards.

In the interest of ensuring the ongoing renewal and rejuvenation of the Board, the Museums Act stipulates the length of term and number of terms permitted for trustees, the Chairperson and the Vice-Chairperson.

Roles and Responsibilities of Trustees:

While trustees are normally removed from the day-to-day decision making of the corporation, their role is vitally important. The Gallery's management presents information, seeks advice, and requests the approval of proposals from the Board of Trustees. Each trustee is called upon to exercise his or her judgement and the independence of his or her position in formulating the Board's decisions to approve, reject, or request deferral of the proposals brought by management. A strong Board of Trustees is essential if the NGC is to fulfil its objectives.

As members of the NGC Board, Trustees are responsible for the following functions:

Establishing the Gallery's Strategic Direction

  • Providing input to management on emerging trends and issues
  • Providing leadership to the development of strategies, objectives and plans; reviewing and approving the Corporate Plan

Safeguarding the Gallery's Resources

  • Reviewing and approving the Gallery’s annual operating and capital budgets, and major new project proposals; all significant decisions involving the Gallery’s assets and their financing are reviewed and approved by the Board;
  • Ensuring that the principal risks of the Gallery's business have been identified and that appropriate systems to manage these risks have been implemented;
  • Ensuring the integrity of the Gallery’s internal control and management information systems, and the quality of its management practices;
  • Assessing financial results and ensuring integrity of financial reporting; approving the year-end audited financial statements;
  • Ensuring appropriate ethics and values are maintained; and
  • Ensuring compliance with laws and regulations, audit and accounting principles, and the Gallery’s by-laws and policies.

Monitoring the Gallery's Performance and Reporting to the Crown

  • Monitoring the Gallery’s performance against the objectives defined in the Corporate Plan, including assessing operating results to evaluate whether the Gallery’s business is being properly managed;
  • Ensuring the information provided to the Crown is sufficient to allow an evaluation of how well the Gallery has fulfilled its objectives;
  • Assessing the Board’s own effectiveness in fulfilling Board responsibilities, including monitoring the effectiveness of the Chairperson and individual Trustees; and
  • Setting objectives and performance measures for the Gallery’s Director and assessing the Director’s performance.

Stakeholder Strategies/Communications

  • Ensuring key stakeholders are identified and appropriate communications plans and strategies developed; and
  • Contributing to strategies aimed at strengthening the image of the Gallery with the public and key stakeholders.

Succession Planning

  • Planning for Board succession by establishing a Trustees’ Skills Profile to identify the specific competencies required to complete the skills mix for the Board as a whole (based on this Competency Profile), and providing, through the Chairperson, a short list of recommended nominations to the Minister of Heritage;
  • Ensuring appropriate orientation of Trustees;
  • Planning for succession of the Board’s Chairperson by establishing selection criteria and making recommendations for the consideration of the Minister of Canadian Heritage;
  • Appointing the Gallery’s Director as provided for under Section 23 of the Museums Act; the Board shall establish criteria, conduct a rigorous selection process and seek the approval of the Governor-in-Council; and
  • Ensuring the Gallery has in place appropriate succession plans for its key management positions.

Core Attributes, Competencies, Skills and Experience Required of Trustees:

  1. Knowledge, Interest and Experience
    • All Trustees must have knowledge/interest in and commitment to the visual arts field.
    • In addition, the Board requires a balanced set of skills, knowledge and experience to provide oversight and direction, including the following:
      • Previous experiences as a director of a commercial and/or non-profit board;
      • Knowledge/experience of business and best business practices;
      • Financial Literacy: while it is beneficial for all trustees to have some ability to read financial statements, at least 2 trustees should have financial expertise/experience to provide the skill required for the Audit and Finance Committee;
      • Knowledge/experience in human resources;
      • Knowledge/experience in public affairs/marketing;
      • Knowledge/experience in fundraising; and
      • Community involvement.
  2. Core Attributes and Competencies required by all Trustees:
    • Informed Judgement: Ability to provide wise, thoughtful counsel from a broad, national perspective, to analyse, ask relevant questions at the strategic level, consider the perspectives of different stakeholders, understand situations and problems by addressing underlying issues;
    • Integrity and Accountability: High ethical standards and integrity; willingness to act on and remain accountable for Board decisions, to meet the accountabilities outlined in the law, by-laws and rules of the Board and to see oneself as serving the interests of Canada;
    • Impact and Influence: Awareness of the impact of organizational issues, policies and decisions on public interest and concern. The capacity to be sensitive to the differing needs and agendas of multiple stakeholders and to act to persuade others in order to have a specific impact or effect; and
    • Highly Motivated and Committed to Excellence: Driven to make a contribution to the excellence of the National Gallery of Canada and having a keen interest in playing a strong leadership role.
  3. Regional and Demographic Representation:
    • Given the national mandate of the NGC, the Board of Trustees will maintain gender balance and representation from all regions of Canada, and will ideally reflect the diversity of the country’s population. The Board will have capacity in both Official Languages. All Trustees must be Canadian citizens as stipulated in the Museums Act.

Working Conditions:

  • Number of Meetings: The Board usually meets four times a year, three times in the National Capital Region and once outside Ottawa. Trustees are expected to prepare for these meetings and actively participate in them. Occasional participation in teleconferences is also required.
  • Committee work/additional duties: The Board of Trustees has delegated certain responsibilities to seven committees (Audit and Finance, Acquisitions, Public Affairs, Governance and Nominating, Human Resources, Public Programs, the Advisory Committee of the Canadian Museum of Contemporary Photography and the Executive Committee). Trustees are appointed to one or more of these committees that meet 2 to 4 times per year (or more often as deemed necessary) generally at the same time as the general Board meetings.
  • Average time commitment: Board members should expect to commit approximately 20 days annually for meetings, travel and preparation for meetings.
  • Requirement to comply with the Code of Conduct: The Financial Administration Act requires Trustees of Crown Corporations to disclose the nature and extent of interest in any material contract with the Corporation. The NGC has a Code of Ethics to guide the behaviour of its individual Trustees.

  1. Including: Privy Council Office, Building a Crown Corporation Director Profile, and the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, Directors of Crown Corporations: an Introductory Guide to their Roles and Responsibilities

Profil d'organisme - Musée des beaux-arts du Canada

Introduction

Le profil des administrateurs du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada est basé sur la Loi sur les musées, la politique de gouvernance du Musée et les orientations et lignes directrices du Bureau du Conseil privé et du Conseil du Trésor1 et s'y conforme.

La mission du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada tel qu'énoncé dans la Loi sur les musées (art. 5)

« Constituer, entretenir et faire connaître, dans l'ensemble du Canada et à l'étranger, une collection d'oeuvres d'art anciennes, modernes et contemporaines principalement axées sur le Canada, et d'amener tous les Canadiens à mieux connaître, comprendre et apprécier l'art en général. »

Pour réaliser sa mission, le Musée s'est fixé quatre objectifs stratégiques qu'il revoit annuellement durant le processus de planification :

  • acquérir, préserver, documenter et étudier des œuvres anciennes et contemporaines, nationales et étrangères, afin de bien illustrer le patrimoine canadien en arts visuels;
  • favoriser la connaissance, la compréhension et l’appréciation des arts visuels chez les Canadiens et Canadiennes, et faire connaître les collections tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger;
  • assurer la direction et la surveillance; administrer les ressources et bien les mettre en valeur; et
  • fournir, pour la préservation et l’exposition des collections nationales, un lieu sûr et adéquat qui soit facilement accessible au public.

Le mandat du conseil d'administration :

Selon la Loi sur les musées de 1990 :

« Il incombe au conseil de veiller à l'exécution de la mission du Musée ainsi qu'à la gestion de son activité. »
[Paragraphe 18(3)]

Composé de 11 membres, le conseil doit rendre compte par l’entremise du président au ministre responsable de l’administration de la Loi sur les musées, tel que précisé dans les lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor. C’est le ministre de Patrimoine canadien qui représente le Musée au cabinet et au Parlement.

Au nom du gouvernement, le conseil agit à titre d’administrateur en tenant la direction responsable du rendement du Musée, de sa viabilité à long terme et de la réalisation de ses objectifs. Le conseil doit veiller à ce que le Musée gère ses collections et ses autres biens, ses installations et expositions ainsi que ses ressources humaines et financières conformément à aux normes muséologiques.

Afin d’assurer le renouvellement et le rajeunissement du conseil, la Loi sur les musées stipule la durée du mandat et le nombre de mandats qui sont accordés aux administrateurs, au président et au vice-président.

Les rôles et responsabilités des administrateurs :

Le rôle des administrateurs est essentiel, même s’ils ne s’occupent habituellement pas de la prise de décisions quotidienne du Musée. La direction du Musée fournit de l’information au conseil, recherche son avis et lui demande d’approuver des propositions. Chaque administrateur est appelé à exercer son jugement et son indépendance dans la formulation des décisions du conseil d’approuver, de rejeter ou de demander le report de propositions soumises par la direction. Un conseil fort est vital à la réalisation des objectifs du Musée.

En tant que membres du conseil du Musée, les administrateurs sont responsables des fonctions suivantes :

Établir l'orientation stratégique du Musée

  • faire des suggestions à la direction au sujet des tendances et des enjeux émergents;
  • jouer un rôle de chef de file dans l’élaboration des stratégies, objectifs et plans; examiner et approuver le plan d’entreprise.

Protéger les ressources du Musée

  • examiner et approuver les budgets annuels de fonctionnement et d’immobilisations du Musée, ainsi que les nouvelles propositions de projet d’importance; le conseil examine et approuve toutes les décisions importantes concernant l’actif du Musée et son financement;
  • cerner les principaux risques rattachés aux activités du Musée et veiller à ce que des systèmes adéquats soient en place pour gérer ces risques;
  • veiller à l’intégrité des systèmes d’information de gestion et de contrôle interne du Musée et à la qualité de ses pratiques de gestion;
  • évaluer les résultats financiers et assurer l’intégrité de l’information financière; approuver les états financiers vérifiés de fin d’exercice;
  • assurer le respect de l’éthique et des valeurs pertinentes; et
  • assurer la conformité aux lois et règlements, aux principes de vérification et de comptabilité ainsi qu’aux politiques et règlements du Musée.

Contrôler le rendement du Musée et faire rapport à l'État

  • contrôler le rendement du Musée en fonction des objectifs définis dans le plan d’entreprise, y compris l’évaluation des résultats d’exploitation afin d’établir si le Musée est bien géré;
  • veiller à ce que les informations transmises à l’État soient suffisantes pour permettre à celui-ci d’évaluer dans quelle mesure le Musée a atteint ses objectifs;
  • évaluer l’efficacité du conseil lorsqu’il s’agit de s’acquitter de ses responsabilités, notamment en surveillant le rendement de chacun des administrateurs; et
  • établir des objectifs et des indicateurs pour mesurer et évaluer le rendement du directeur.

Stratégies et communications relatives aux parties intéressées

  • veiller à déterminer les parties intéressées et à élaborer les plans de communications et les stratégies pertinentes; et
  • contribuer aux stratégies visant à renforcer l’image du Musée auprès du public et des parties intéressées.

Planifier la relève

  • planifier la relève du conseil en élaborant un profil des compétences des administrateurs afin de cerner les compétences particulières requises pour compléter l’éventail des attributs du conseil en tant que tout (basé sur ce profil des compétences) et en suggérant, par l’entremise du président, une liste restreinte de candidats recommandés au ministre de Patrimoine canadien;
  • veiller à l’orientation adéquate des administrateurs;
  • planifier la relève du président du conseil en élaborant des critères de sélection et en présentant des recommandations à ce titre au ministre de Patrimoine canadien;
  • nommer le directeur du Musée tel que stipulé à l’article 23 de la Loi sur les musées; le conseil élaborera des critères, entreprendra un processus de sélection rigoureux et obtiendra l’approbation du gouverneur en conseil; et
  • assurer que le Musée adopte les plans de relève pertinents pour ses principaux gestionnaires.

Attributs, compétences et expérience de base exigés des administrateurs :

  1. Connaissances, attributs et expérience
    • Tous les administrateurs doivent connaître et s'intéresser au domaine des arts visuels et s'y vouer.
    • En outre, le conseil exige un ensemble équilibré de compétences, de connaissances et d'expériences afin d'assurer surveillance et orientation, dont :
      • des expériences précédentes comme administrateur d’un conseil de société privée ou sans but lucratif;
      • une connaissance et une expérience du domaine des affaires et des meilleures pratiques d’affaires;
      • une connaissance du domaine des finances : s’il est avantageux que tous les administrateurs soient en mesure de lire des états financiers, au moins trois administrateurs doivent posséder une connaissance ou une expérience du domaine financier afin que cette compétence soit assurée au comité de vérification et des finances;
      • une connaissance et une expérience des ressources humaines;
      • une connaissance et une expérience des affaires publiques et du marketing;
      • une connaissance et une expérience de la philanthropie et des campagnes de financement; et
      • une expérience de l’action communautaire.
  2. Attributs et compétences de base requis de tous les administrateurs :
    • Un jugement éclairé : être en mesure de donner des conseils judicieux et réfléchis selon une vaste perspective nationale, d’analyser, de poser des questions pertinentes au niveau stratégique, de tenir compte du point de vue des diverses parties intéressées et de comprendre des situations ou des problèmes en examinant des questions sous-jacentes;
    • Intégrité et obligation de rendre compte : faire preuve de probité et d’intégrité, être prêt à donner suite aux décisions du conseil et demeurer responsable de celles-ci, s’acquitter des obligations de rendre compte fixées par les lois, les règlements administratifs et les règlements du conseil; se voir au service des intérêts des Canadiens;
    • Incidence et influence : connaître l’incidence des enjeux, des politiques et des décisions du Musée sur l’opinion publique, être sensible aux nécessités et aux visées divergentes des différentes parties intéressées et prendre des mesures pour convaincre ou influencer les autres dans le but d’influencer ou de produire un effet donné; et
    • Motivation élevée et désir d’excellence : désireux de faire une contribution à la réputation d’excellence du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada et d’assumer un fort leadership.
  3. Représentation régionale et démographique :
    • Compte tenu de la mission nationale du Musée, le conseil doit veiller à une juste représentation des hommes et des femmes et toutes les régions du Canada en son sein et cherchera à refléter toute la diversité de la population canadienne. Le conseil doit pouvoir s’exprimer dans les deux langues officielles. Tel que stipulé dans la Loi sur les musées, tous les administrateurs doivent être des citoyens canadiens.

Conditions de travail :

  • Le nombre de réunions : le conseil se rencontre habituellement quatre fois par année, trois fois dans la région de la capitale nationale et une fois à l’extérieur d’Ottawa. Les administrateurs doivent se préparer à ces réunions et y participer activement. La participation occasionnelle à des téléconférences est également requise.
  • Travail en comité/fonctions additionnelles : le conseil a délégué certaines responsabilités à sept comités (vérification et des finances, acquisition, affaires publiques – à être enlevé; n’est pas un comité, comité de gouvernance et des candidatures, ressources humaines, programmes publics, le comité consultatif du Musée canadien de la photographie contemporaine et le comité exécutif). Les administrateurs sont nommés à l’un ou plus de ces comités qui se rencontrent deux à quatre fois par année (ou plus souvent au besoin), habituellement en même temps que les réunions du conseil plénier.
  • Temps moyen consacré au conseil : les administrateurs doivent s’attendre à consacrer environ 20 jours annuellement aux réunions, aux déplacements et à la préparation des réunions.
  • Conformité au code d’éthique : la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques exige que les administrateurs des sociétés d’État dévoilent la nature et l’étendue de leurs intérêts dans tout contrat important avec la société. Le Musée possède un code d’éthique pour guider le comportement de ces administrateurs.

  1. Bureau du Conseil privé, Créer des profils pour les administrateurs des sociétés d'État et Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, Guide d'introduction aux rôles et responsabilités des administrateurs de sociétés d'État.