Board Profile - Canada Lands Company Limited

The Corporate Context and Mandate

Canada Lands Company Limited (CLCL) is an arm’s length, self-financing federal Crown corporation, which reports to the Parliament of Canada through the Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities. It is a Canada Business Corporations Act (CBCA) corporation listed in Schedule III, Part 1 of the Financial Administration Act (FAA) and is an agent of Her Majesty. The corporation has one wholly-owned subsidiary:

  • Canada Lands Company CLC Limited (CLC), a non-agent Crown corporation, which carries out the core real estate business, owns and manages Canada’s National Tower (the CN Tower), and is active in 20 municipalities across Canada.

CLCL also holds shares in trust for Her Majesty, in right of Canada, of two other Crown corporations: Old Port of Montréal Corporation Inc., and Parc Downsview Park Inc., both agent Crown corporations, reporting to Parliament as if they were parent Crown corporations.

CLCL optimizes the financial and community value from strategic properties no longer required for program purposes by the Government of Canada. It works through its CLC subsidiary to purchase such surplus properties at fair market value, which properties it may resell either with or without improvements through development or, in certain cases, retain and manage, in order to optimize the benefit both for CLCL’s sole shareholder, the Government of Canada, and for local communities.

The corporation’s activities ensure that government properties are redeveloped or managed in accordance with their highest and best use, and that they are harmoniously reintegrated into local communities to meet the needs of Canadians.

Each of CLCL and CLC is expected to be self-financing and is authorized to use private sector sources of funding and such standard financial instruments and arrangements as appropriate. While striving to maximize commercial viability with the inventory of properties that CLC purchases, CLCL and CLC may also take into account any relevant strategic considerations of the Government of Canada. Strategic planning and time horizons for corporate activities are designed to achieve the most effective manner of balancing both the financial and community value objectives identified by the respective Boards of Directors (the “Boards”).

Values
Innovation • Value • Legacy

Innovation:

CLC seeks innovative solutions to create communities that are clean, safe and offer a high quality of life.

Value:

CLC undertakes projects that are financially sound and provides returns to the Government of Canada, its sole shareholder.

Legacy:

CLC’s projects provide lasting benefits for future generations in the communities where it operates.

Overall Role and Responsibilities of the Boards

Pursuant to Part X of the FAA and the CBCA, the Boards are responsible for the management of the businesses, activities and other affairs of their respective corporations. In fulfilling their responsibilities, the Boards direct the overall strategy of their corporations, evaluate their performances and seek to ensure that proper leadership and accountability systems are in place. On a day-to-day basis, meanwhile, the President and Chief Executive Officer (“CEO”) is responsible and accountable for the conduct of the business and other activities of both CLCL and CLC. The CEO is also a Director of CLC.

Specific Responsibilities of the Boards

The Boards explicitly assume responsibility for the stewardship of their respective corporations. Their stewardship responsibilities are carried out under the following broad categories:

  1. Integrity – Legal and Ethical Conduct – responsible for promoting a culture of integrity and of ethical business conduct throughout the corporations.
  2. Strategic Direction - facilitate the achievement of long-term goals by overseeing the corporations’ strategic planning processes.
  3. Identification and Management of Risk and Internal Controls - ensure adequate systems in place to evaluate, monitor and manage effectively the principal risks affecting operations and fulfillment of mandates.
  4. Leadership Development and Succession Planning - oversee the appointment and discharge of all executive officers, regularly review the Management succession plan and promote programs to develop leadership throughout the corporations.
  5. Importance of Information - ensure the integrity of CLC’s information systems and management practices, thereby ensuring that the information provided to the Government of Canada, through the responsible Minister, accurately reflects the corporations’ state of operations and plans for the future.
  6. Board Development and Independence - acknowledge the importance of development initiatives for Directors as a means for ensuring that the Boards remain effective.

Directors are appointed by the Minister, with the approval of the Governor-in-Council and with input from the corporation. The seven existing Directors who currently make up the Board represent regional, linguistic and gender balance and have expertise in the areas of governance, real estate, law, finance, human resources management and community affairs.

Core Attributes, Competencies and Experience of All Directors

Directors of the corporation are selected with the following criteria in mind:

Core Attributes

Political sensitivity – given that the corporation’s sole shareholder is the Government of Canada, it is important for Directors to ensure that the strategic direction of the corporation is in line with government policy objectives; experience in or knowledge of public policy would be an asset.

Informed judgment – Directors must be able to provide wise, thoughtful counsel, analyze situations, ask relevant questions at the strategic level, consider the different stakeholders’ perspectives and resolve situations and problems by knowing how to address underlying issues.

Integrity and accountability – high ethical standards and integrity are required by the corporation, including being willing to act on and remain accountable for Board decisions, meeting the accountabilities outlined in the articles and by-laws of the corporation, seeing themselves as serving the interests of Canadians, and supporting the corporation’s commitment to corporate social responsibility, including the interests of its key stakeholders.

Specific Skills, Knowledge and Experience

Business experience – in line with the mandate and vision of the corporation it is important that Directors possess relevant business experience at least in the areas of real estate, finance, law, economics, human resources or corporate social responsibility.

Municipal/local background – given that CLC works in communities across the country, significant local government profile is required as well as an appreciation of, and/or experience in, the hospitality/tourism industry with a food and beverage component.

Representation

Regional representationCLC has properties located across Canada; therefore, it is important to have Directors from across Canada. Board meetings are held in the communities where the corporation holds properties, and the ability to travel is a requirement. At the moment the corporation does not have properties in Nunavut, the Yukon and Northwest Territories, but there is always the possibility that the corporation may acquire properties in these areas in the future.

Gender, linguistic mix – The corporation is subject to the social policy objectives of the federal government; therefore, it attempts to maintain a balance on its board in the areas of linguistic, gender and cultural mix.

Profil d'organisme - Société immobilière du Canada Limitée

Contexte et mandat

La Société immobilière du Canada limitée («SICL») est une société d'État fédérale autofinancée sans lien de dépendance qui relève du Parlement du Canada par l'entremise du ministre des Transports, de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités. C'est une entreprise soumise à la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions («LCSA») et inscrite à la partie 1 de l'annexe III de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques («LGFP»), qui agit au nom de Sa Majesté. La Société possède une filiale en propriété exclusive :

  • la Société immobilière du Canada CLC limitée («SIC»), une société d'État non mandataire qui exerce les principales activités immobilières, possède et gère la Tour nationale du Canada (la «Tour CN»), et oeuvre dans 20 municipalités à travers le Canada.

La SICL possède également des intérêts dans deux autres sociétés d'État en fiducie pour Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada : la Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal inc., et le Parc Downsview Park Inc., qui relèvent toutes deux du Parlement à titre de société d'État mère.

La SICL optimise la valeur financière et communautaire de propriétés stratégiques dont le gouvernement du Canada n'a plus besoin à des fins de programmes. Par l'entremise de sa filiale, la SIC, elle achète, à leur juste valeur marchande, des biens immobiliers excédentaires pour ensuite les vendre sans nécessairement les rénover ou, dans certains cas, les conserver et les gérer dans le but d'optimiser les avantages, tant pour l'unique actionnaire de la SICL, le gouvernement du Canada, que pour les collectivités locales.

La Société exerce ses activités dans le but de s'assurer que les propriétés du gouvernement sont réaménagées ou gérées en vue d'une utilisation optimale et qu'elles sont réintégrées dans les collectivités locales de façon harmonieuse pour répondre aux besoins des Canadiens et des Canadiennes.

La SICL et la SIC doivent toutes deux s'autofinancer et peuvent faire appel à des sources de financement du secteur privé, ainsi qu'à des arrangements et des instruments financiers, si elles le jugent approprié. Bien qu'elles doivent s'efforcer de maximiser la viabilité commerciale des propriétés dont la SIC fait l'acquisition, la SICL et la SIC doivent également tenir compte de facteurs stratégiques pertinents du gouvernement du Canada. La planification stratégique et les horizons prévisionnels des activités de la Société doivent permettre d'équilibrer de la façon la plus efficace possible les objectifs financiers et la valeur communautaire définis par le Conseil d'administration de chacune des deux entreprises (les «Conseils»).

Valeurs
Innovation • Valeur • Héritage

Innovation:

La SIC cherche des solutions innovatrices dans le but de créer des collectivités saines et sécuritaires, offrant une qualité de vie supérieure.

Valeur :

La SIC entreprend des projets financièrement solides procurant au gouvernement du Canada, son unique actionnaire, un rendement intéressant.

Héritage :

Les projets de la SIC procurent aux générations futures des avantages durables dans les collectivités dans lesquelles la Société exerce ses activités.

Rôles et responsabilités des Conseils

En vertu de la partie X de la LGFP et de la LCSA, il incombe aux Conseils d'assumer la gestion des secteurs, des activités et autres affaires de leur Société respective. En s'acquittant de leurs responsabilités, les Conseils orientent la stratégie globale de leur Société, évaluent son rendement et s'assurent qu'une équipe de direction et des systèmes de responsabilisation appropriés sont en place. Entre-temps, le Président-directeur général («PDG») est responsable et doit rendre compte de la conduite des affaires et autres activités de la SICL et de la SIC. Le PDG est également un administrateur de la SIC.

Responsabilités spécifiques des Conseils

Il incombe aux Conseils d'assumer explicitement la gestion de leur Société respective. Les responsabilités de gestion dont ils doivent s'acquitter se classent dans les catégories générales qui suivent :

  1. Intégrité – Contentieux et éthique – il incombe aux Conseils de promouvoir une culture d'intégrité et d'éthique dans les Sociétés.
  2. Orientation stratégique - les Conseils participent à la réalisation des objectifs à long terme des Sociétés en supervisant leurs processus de planification stratégique.
  3. Identification et gestion des risques et des contrôles internes - les Conseils doivent s'assurer les Sociétés disposent des systèmes appropriés pour évaluer, surveiller et gérer efficacement les principaux risques menaçant leurs activités et la réalisation de leur mandat.
  4. Perfectionnement de la direction et planification de la relève - les Conseils supervisent la nomination et le renvoi de tous les cadres supérieurs des Sociétés, examinent régulièrement le plan de relève de la direction et font la promotion de programmes pour perfectionner les membres de la direction.
  5. Importance de l'information - les Conseils doivent veiller à l'intégrité des pratiques de gestion et des systèmes d'information de la SIC afin de s'assurer que l'information transmise au gouvernement du Canada, par l'entremise du ministre responsable, reflète fidèlement l'état des opérations et les plans d'avenir des Sociétés.
  6. Perfectionnement et indépendance des Conseils - les Conseils reconnaissent l'importance des initiatives de perfectionnement des administrateurs afin de garantir l'efficacité des Conseils.

Les administrateurs sont nommés par le ministre, sur approbation du gouverneur en conseil et selon les suggestions de la Société. Le Conseil actuel est composé de sept administrateurs qui représentent de façon équilibrée les régions, les langues et les sexes; les administrateurs possèdent en outre des compétences dans les domaines de la gouvernance, de l’immobilier, du droit, de la finance, de la gestion des ressources humaines et des affaires communautaires.

L’annexe I ci-jointe présente un bref résumé des antécédents des membres actuels du Conseil de la Société.

Principales qualités, compétences et expérience des administrateurs

Les administrateurs de la Société sont choisis en fonction des critères suivants :

Attributs

Sensibilité à la dimension politique – comme le gouvernement du Canada est le seul actionnaire de la Société, il est important que les administrateurs veillent à ce que l’orientation stratégique de l’entreprise respecte les objectifs des politiques du gouvernement; la connaissance de la politique gouvernementale ou une expérience dans ce domaine est un atout.

Jugement éclairé – les administrateurs doivent agir en conseillers avertis et réfléchis, analyser les situations, poser des questions pertinentes au niveau stratégique, tenir compte des diverses perspectives des intervenants et résoudre des situations et des problèmes en sachant comment aborder les enjeux sous-jacents.

Intégrité et imputabilité – la Société exige de ses administrateurs des normes d’éthique élevées et une intégrité irréprochable, y compris la volonté d’agir et d’accepter à long terme la responsabilité des décisions du Conseil, de respecter les domaines d’imputabilité décrits dans les articles et les règlements administratifs de l’entreprise, de servir les intérêts de la population canadienne et de favoriser l’engagement de la Société en matière de responsabilité sociale de l’entreprise, y compris les intérêts de ses principaux intervenants.

Capacités, connaissances et expérience particulières

Expérience des affaires – conformément au mandat et à la vision de la Société, il est important que les membres du Conseil possèdent une expérience pertinente dans le domaine des affaires, au moins en immobilier, finance, droit, économie, ressources humaines ou responsabilité sociale de l’entreprise.ors possess relevant business experience at least in the areas of real estate, finance, law, economics, human resources or corporate social responsibility.

Expérience à l'échelle municipale/locale – étant donné que la SIC oeuvre dans les collectivités à travers le pays, il est important d'exercer une forte présence auprès des autorités municipales et d'avoir une certaine expérience ou des connaissances sommaires dans l'industrie de l'accueil ou du tourisme, plus particulièrement dans le domaine des boissons et aliments.

Représentativité

Représentation régionale – la SIC détient des propriétés dans toutes les régions du Canada; par conséquent, il est important que les membres du Conseil proviennent de toutes les régions du pays. Les réunions du Conseil ont lieu dans les collectivités où l’entreprise possède des biens immobiliers et les membres du Conseil doivent donc être en mesure de voyager. En ce moment, la Société ne détient pas de propriétés au Nunavut, au Yukon ou dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Il est cependant possible qu'elle obtienne des propriétés dans ces régions à l’avenir.

Équilibre entre les langues et les sexes – la Société est soumise aux objectifs des politiques sociales du gouvernement fédéral; par conséquent, elle tente de conserver un équilibre parmi les membres du Conseil en matière de langue, de sexe et de culture.